Rebecca Mascull - The Wild Air - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473604421
    • Publication date:04 May 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473604452
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017

The Wild Air

By Rebecca Mascull
Read by Catherine Harvey

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A heart-warming, exhilarating novel about one young woman's determination to follow her dreams of becoming a pilot in the early 20th century.

In Edwardian England, aeroplanes are a new, magical invention, while female pilots are rare indeed.

When shy Della Dobbs meets her mother's aunt, her life changes forever. Great Auntie Betty has come home from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, across whose windswept dunes the Wright Brothers tested their historic flying machines. Della develops a burning ambition to fly and Betty is determined to help her.

But the Great War is coming and it threatens to destroy everything - and everyone - Della loves.

Uplifting and page-turning, THE WILD AIR is a story about love, loss and following your dreams against all odds.

(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Biographical Notes

Rebecca Mascull is the author of THE VISITORS and SONG OF THE SEA MAID. She has previously worked in education, has a Masters in Writing and lives by the sea in the east of England. Visit her website rebeccamascull.tumblr.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473658158
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder Paperbacks

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

It is deep winter. The darkness is unending.The private detective named Jaycob Eklund has vanished, and Charlie Parker is dispatched to track him down. Parker's employer, Edgar Ross, an agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, has his own reasons for wanting Eklund found. Eklund is no ordinary investigator. He is obsessively tracking a series of homicides and disappearances, each linked to reports of hauntings. Now Parker will be drawn into Eklund's world, a realm in which the monstrous Mother rules a crumbling criminal empire, in which men strike bargains with angels, and in which the innocent and guilty alike are pawns in a game of ghosts . . .

Sceptre

The Barrowfields

Phillip Lewis
Authors:
Phillip Lewis

'A beautiful, evocative novel with an amazing sense of place and an understated, dark sensibility. A brilliant debut. I loved it!' Jenni Fagan, author of The PanopticonMesmeric in its prose and mythic in its sweep, THE BARROWFIELDS is an extraordinary debut about the darker side of devotion, the limits of forgiveness, and the reparative power of shared pasts.Just before Henry Aster's birth, his father, a frustrated novelist and lawyer, reluctantly returns to the remote North Carolina mountains in which he was improbably raised and installs his young family in a gothic mansion - nicknamed 'the vulture house' - worthy of his hero Edgar Allan Poe. There, Henry grows up under the desk of this fierce and brilliant man. But when a death in the family tips his father toward a fearsome unravelling, what was once a young son's reverence is poisoned, and Henry flees, not to return until years later when he, too, must go home again.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs
Authors:
Elizabeth Cobbs
John Murray

Devil's Day

Andrew Michael Hurley
Authors:
Andrew Michael Hurley
Hodder Paperbacks

Over Bethnal Green

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

In the East End, war brings gas masks and the terrifying prospect of air raids . . .Jessie Warner has married Tom Smith and their baby is almost due. Settling down into their new home in Bethnal Green, Jessie looks forward to her new life - even though Tom is continually getting into mischief that borders on the downright criminal. But then the grim outside world intrudes. When war begins and Tom is called up almost at once, Jessie is left to cope with the baby alone. Jessie's twin, Hannah, has been recruited to help at Bletchley Park and, immersed in her work decoding German messages, has no idea of Jessie's desperation.But things are about to get worse. When Tom does a runner and goes AWOL, Jessie will be left in a dire situation . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Down Stepney Way

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

In the turbulent East End of London in the thirties, Jessie Warner is growing up . . . Blackshirts are marching through the streets of Stepney and the Jewish community is under threat of violence. In the midst of this, Jessie discovers a family secret and turns to her mother for answers, but Rose is reluctant to reveal the past - for there is something that Jessie must never know.In Bethnal Green, Hannah Blake is being forced by her cold-hearted mother to join the Blackshirts, despite her deep misgivings. Next-door neighbour Emmie knows of the darkness surrounding Hannah's wretched past, but is bound by a vow of silence not to reveal it. And meanwhile, Emmie's son Tom, chipper and handsome, has just fallen for a blonde girl he wants to bring home to meet Emmie and Hannah. Her name is Jessie Warner...A romantic saga full of life and set against a dramatic backdrop, from the author of At the Mile End Gate and Over Bethnal Green.

Hodder Paperbacks

The White Witch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

The White Witch is a story set at the time of the beginning of the English Civil War and the men and women drawn into it on both sides. Robert Haslewood, the local squire turns puritan and follows his boyhood hero to war leaving his children and wife behind him. His cousin Froniga, half gypsy and the White Witch of the title, a wise woman with the power of healing lives in danger. Her gypsy cousins sometimes camp near her but will always move on. They have befriended Yomen, who conceals a grand past but is now a tinker and royalist spy. He loves the puritan Froniga. A journey man painter, Francis, delights in painting the Haslewood children while spying too for the royalist cause. Their lives entwine until the bloodiness of war forces them to be loyal to their side whatever their personal ties, threatening to destroy friendships and humanity and kindness in the process.

Hodder Paperbacks

Towers in the Mist

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Set in Elizabethan times, Faithful, a poor Londoner, heads for Oxford. He's bright, cheeky and good-looking, has a tremendous love of learning and hopes to be an Oxford scholar. When he is taken in by Canon Leigh and his family, Faithful begins to fulfil his dreams. In this coming-of-age tale, the excitement, squalor and beauty of the English Renaissance unfolds through the lives of two girls growing up, Oxford students approaching the threshold of distinguished careers, and their elders navigating the complicated waters of sixteenth-century England.

Hodder & Stoughton

There Was a Time

Frank White
Authors:
Frank White
Hodder & Stoughton

When Dimple Met Rishi

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon

The arranged-marriage YA romcom you didn't know you wanted or needed...Meet Dimple.Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.Meet Rishi.He's rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she's got other plans...Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn't be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?

Hodder & Stoughton

Flame in the Mist

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh
Hodder & Stoughton

These Dividing Walls

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper
Hodder & Stoughton

One Quiet Woman

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bird in the Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Lucilla Eliot has spent a lifetime making the Hampshire estate of Damerosehay a tranquil haven for her family. When her favourite grandson, David, falls in love with an unsuitable woman, Lucilla sees her most cherished ambitions put at risk. But can she persuade David and Nadine to put duty and family honour before love?

Hodder & Stoughton

Green Dolphin Country

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dean's Watch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

A rich and beautiful story, set in a cathedral city in the 1780's. There the formidable Dean struck up a friendship with a genius of a clockmaker, Isaac Peabody; there Job, who promised to develop into an even finer craftsman than Isaac, courted Polly, and irrepressibly happy maid-of-all-work; and there, many other events, some as delightful as they were unexpected, befell those living in the shadow of the great cathedral.

Hodder & Stoughton

Inferno

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story - 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's famous sea action aboard Tyger has snatched his reputation from ignominy. He is the hero of the hour. But though Britain's Navy remains imperious, a succession of battles has seen Napoleon victorious on mainland Europe. In an attempt to prevent the French from taking control of Denmark's navy, Kydd's great friend Nicholas Renzi - now Lord Farndon - is sent on a desperate diplomatic mission to persuade the Danes to give up their fleet to Britain. But the Danes are caught between two implacable forces and will not yield, opting instead for the inferno of battle . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wind Off the Small Isles

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

In the Month of the Midnight Sun

Cecilia Ekbäck
Authors:
Cecilia Ekbäck

'Ekbäck once again proves that she is in the very front rank of Scandinavian crime writers.' IndependentAn orphaned boy brought up to serve the state as a man. A rich young woman incapable of living by the conventions of society. Neither is prepared for the journey into the heat, mystery, violence and disorienting perpetual daylight of the far North.Stockholm 1856.Magnus is a geologist. When the Minister sends him to survey the distant but strategically vital Lapland region around Blackasen Mountain, it is a perfect cover for another mission: Magnus must investigate why one of the nomadic Sami people, native to the region, has apparently slaughtered in cold blood a priest, a law officer and a settler in their rectory.Is there some bigger threat afoot? Blackasen seems to be a place of many secrets.But the Minister has more than a professional tie to Magnus, and at the last moment, he adds another responsibility. Disgusted by the wayward behaviour of his daughter Lovisa - Magnus's sister-in law - the Minister demands that Magnus take her with him on his arduous journey.Thus the two unlikely companions must venture out of the sophisticated city, up the coast and across country, to the rough-hewn religion and politics of the settler communities, the mystical, pre-Christian ways of the people who have always lived on this land, and the strange, compelling light of the midnight sun.For Lovisa and Magnus, nothing can ever be the same again.