Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre - The Last of Our Kind - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473658042
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018

The Last of Our Kind

By Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473658059
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

In the Mire

Susanne Jansson
Authors:
Susanne Jansson
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still linger with the stains on the city walls.The anniversary of the flood brings with it a new case for Inspector Bordelli. A local wealthy industrialist - fiercely loved and respected by everyone he knew - has been found murdered in his grand villa in the Fiesole hills, and the killer has left no trace.With no obvious leads to follow, Bordelli is patiently retracing the victim's last days when he encounters an old friend from the war. Inviting the frail man into his home, Bordelli doesn't realise that it is this very friend will lead him ever closer to the secrets at the heart of the mystery . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Luce

L R Fredericks
Authors:
L R Fredericks
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dark Net

Benjamin Percy
Authors:
Benjamin Percy

The dark net is an online shadowland for criminals to operate anonymously, but when a demonic force begins to hack the minds of its users there is nowhere left to hide.Twelve-year-old Hannah has been fitted with a high-tech prosthetic that restores her sight, but can't understand why she can now see shadows surrounding certain people.Lela, an emotionally shut-off, technophobic journalist stumbles onto a story nobody wants her to uncover. A story someone will kill to keep hidden.A former evangelist, Mike, suffers demons - figurative and literal - and keeps an arsenal of weapons stored in the basement of the homeless shelter he runs.And Derek, is a hacker who believes himself a soldier, part of a cyber army dedicated to changing the world for the better.With the virus spreading throughout the net and an ancient evil threatening to break lose on the real world, it falls to these strangers to stop the rising darkness. THE DARK NET is a cracked-mirror version of the digital nightmare we already live in, a timely and wildly imaginative techno-thriller about the evil that lurks in real and virtual spaces, and the power of a united few to fight back.

Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello

'Utterly gripped me from beginning to end' Victoria Hislop'Move over Ferrante, there's a new Elena in town' Independent'There is much beauty and sadness in this slim novel' The TimesIn the August of 1978, the summer I met Anna Trabuio, my father took a girl into the woods...I was sixteen.He had been gone a long time already, but that was it - not even a year after he lost his job and that boy disappeared - that was when everything broke.1978. Ponte, a small community in Northern Italy. An unbearably hot summer like many others.Elia Furenti is sixteen, living an unremarkable life of moderate unhappiness, until the day the beautiful, damaged Anna returns to Ponte and firmly propels Elia to the edge of adulthood. But then everything starts to unravel.Elia's father, Ettore, is let go from his job and loses himself in the darkest corners of his mind.A young boy is murdered.And a girl climbs into a van and vanishes in the deep, dark woods...Translated by Alex Valente | Winner of an English PEN Award

Hodder Paperbacks

End of Watch

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Over Bethnal Green

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

In the East End, war brings gas masks and the terrifying prospect of air raids . . .Jessie Warner has married Tom Smith and their baby is almost due. Settling down into their new home in Bethnal Green, Jessie looks forward to her new life - even though Tom is continually getting into mischief that borders on the downright criminal. But then the grim outside world intrudes. When war begins and Tom is called up almost at once, Jessie is left to cope with the baby alone. Jessie's twin, Hannah, has been recruited to help at Bletchley Park and, immersed in her work decoding German messages, has no idea of Jessie's desperation.But things are about to get worse. When Tom does a runner and goes AWOL, Jessie will be left in a dire situation . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Down Stepney Way

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull

In Edwardian England, aeroplanes are a new, magical invention, while female pilots are rare indeed. When shy Della Dobbs meets her mother's aunt, her life changes forever. Great Auntie Betty has come home from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, across whose windswept dunes the Wright Brothers tested their historic flying machines. Della develops a burning ambition to fly and Betty is determined to help her. But the Great War is coming and it threatens to destroy everything - and everyone - Della loves.Uplifting and page-turning, THE WILD AIR is a story about love, loss and following your dreams against all odds.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
John Murray

Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions

Mario Giordano
Authors:
Mario Giordano

'Alive with a tang of lemons to set the senses zinging' The SpectatorFiction at its most charming - A Man Called Ove meets Andrea Camilleri, Auntie Poldi is this summer's most unlikely hero.Auntie Poldi can think of no finer place to wait for death than Sicily. All she asks is a sea view, fine wine (and plenty of it), and her family close around.When death instead takes her handsome young friend Valentino - and under mysterious circumstances at that - Poldi will not take it lying down.Perhaps it's in her blood (her father was a detective chief inspector); perhaps it's a diverting excuse to spend more time with men in uniform; or perhaps it's just the promise she makes to Valentino while holding his poor dead hand.But Auntie Poldi's hunting instincts have never felt more alive. Justice must be served - if it's the last thing she does . . .Auntie Poldi and the Fruits of the Lord, the second Auntie Poldi adventure, is now available for preorder

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wind Off the Small Isles

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Beloved author Mary Stewart's long-lost novella, now back in print for the first time in 40 years and perfect for fans of Anya Seton, Daphne du Maurier and Santa Montefiore.'Now she would spell love her own way...'In 1879, a wealthy young woman elopes with an impoverished fisherman, leaving her family, who live on the volcanic island of Lanzarote, distraught. In 1968, 23-year-old Perdita West, secretary to the famous author Cora Gresham, visits Lanzarote, the strangest and most wild of the Canary Isles, on a research trip. They meet Cora's estranged son, Mike, and fall in love with the unusual, beautiful little island.While snorkeling, a landslide traps Perdita in an underwater cave. No one knows where she is, so she can't count on a rescue. And her efforts to save herself will reveal the solution to a century-old mystery... The Wind off the Small Isles is Mary Stewart's sweeping, romantic long-lost novella, finally being brought back to print in a beautiful, all new edition for the first time in more than four decades.

Sceptre

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies
Authors:
Peter Ho Davies
Hodder & Stoughton

The Undesired

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

A chilling modern horror novel from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award - perfect for fans of Let the Right One In.Aldis hates working in a juvenile detention centre in rural Iceland. The boys are unruly, the owners are unpleasant, and there are strange noises at night. And then two of the inmates die...Decades later, single father Odinn is looking into alleged abuse at the centre. The more he finds out, though, the more it seems the odd events of the 1970s are linked to the accident that killed his ex-wife. Was her death something more sinister?Yrsa Sigurdardottir is a huge European bestseller both with her crime and horror novels. You might want to sleep with the light on after reading THE UNDESIRED . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Revival

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder Paperbacks

The Silence of the Sea

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder & Stoughton

Hush

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

In New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards's latest heart-pounding romantic suspense novel, a woman must track down her husband's murderer - or risk being the next victim of a vicious killer.When Riley Cowan finds her estranged husband Jeff dead in his palatial home, she's sure it's no coincidence. The police rule it a suicide, but Riley thinks someone's out for blood - specifically someone Jeff's father ripped off in one of the biggest financial fraud cases of all time. She suspects that someone is trying to send a message to Jeff's father: tell me where the money is, or everyone you care about will die.Riley's in-laws might be billionaires, but she's afraid that not even their dirty money can protect her from an irate investor who will stop at nothing to get his hands on his misappropriated cash. Enter Finn Bradley, whose mission is to recover the money. Keeping Riley alive plays no part in it. But when Riley becomes his chief suspect, Finn finds himself playing bodyguard to the one woman who might know the truth - and at the same time can touch his life-hardened heart.Then the question becomes, will they discover the killer's identity in time, before he resurfaces - and strikes again?

Hodder & Stoughton

Zodiac Station

Tom Harper
Authors:
Tom Harper
Hodder Paperbacks

The White Witch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge