David C. Pollock, Ruth E. Van Reken, and Michael V. Pollock - Third Culture Kids - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £19.95
    More information
    • ISBN:9781857885255
    • Publication date:24 Sep 2009
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473645141
    • Publication date:26 Nov 2010

Third Culture Kids

The Experience of Growing Up Among Worlds

By David C. Pollock, Ruth E. Van Reken, and Michael V. Pollock

  • Paperback
  • £22.95

The absolute authority on Third Culture Kids ("TCKs") for nearly two decades.

In this 3rd edition of the ground-breaking, global classic, Ruth E. Van Reken and Michael V. Pollock, son of the late original co-author, David C. Pollock have significantly updated what is widely recognized as The TCK Bible. Emphasis is on the modern TCK and addressing the impact of technology, cultural complexity, diversity & inclusion and transitions. Includes new advice for parents and others for how to support TCKs as they navigate work, relationships, social settings and their own personal development. Specific updates:
· A second PolVan Cultural Identity diagram to support understanding of cultural identity
· New models for identity formation
· Updated explanation of unresolved grief
· New material on 'highly mobile communities' addressing the needs of people who stay put while a community around them moves rapidly
· Revamped Section III so readers can more easily find what is relevant to them as Adult TCKs, parents, counselors, employers, spouses, administrators, etc.
· New stages and needs tool that will help families and organizations identify and meet needs
Greater emphasis on tools for educators as they grapple with demographic shifts in the classroom

Biographical Notes

David C. Pollock (Author)
David C. Pollock worked with TCKs and adult TCKs for more than twenty years and logged thousands of miles conducting seminars and conferences for TCKs, their parents, and sponsoring organizations.

Ruth E. Van Reken (Author)
Ruth E. Van Reken, herself an adult TCK and a parent and grandparent of TCKs, is author of one of the first books written about the TCK experience, Letters Never Sent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473657663
  • Publication date: 19 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Nicholas Brealey Publishing
John Murray

Animal Languages

Eva Meijer
Authors:
Eva Meijer

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Autobiography

Derek Pringle
Authors:
Derek Pringle

John Murray Learning

The Oddysium

David Bramwell, Jo Keeling
Authors:
David Bramwell, Jo Keeling
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bible in One Year – a Commentary by Nicky Gumbel

Nicky Gumbel
Authors:
Nicky Gumbel

Teach Yourself

Ethics for Life

Mel Thompson
Authors:
Mel Thompson
Chambers

The Life of a Song Book 2

Jan Dalley, David Cheal
Authors:
Jan Dalley, David Cheal

Hodder & Stoughton

Alan Ball: The Man in White Boots

David Tossell
Authors:
David Tossell

It is a special footballer who wins the World Cup as a 21-year-old and ends a two-decade career as one of the most revered players in the history of four clubs. Former England captain Alan Ball was such a man: prodigy at Blackpool, youngest hero of 1966, Championship winner at Everton, British-record signing for the second time at Arsenal and veteran schemer for Southampton - not to mention footwear trend-setter. And all after being told he was too small to succeed in the game.Yet his years as a flat-cap wearing manager consisted mostly of relegation and promotion battles, some successful and some not, and plenty of frustration as he fought to produce winners in his own image and emulate the feats of his playing days. His life already touched tragically by the car crash that killed his father and the loss of his beloved wife Lesley to cancer, Ball died, aged only 61, after suffering a heart attack during a garden blaze.A decade on from his death, and drawing on interviews with family, friends and colleagues, Alan Ball: The Man in White Boots is the definitive study of one of English football's most enduring figures.

Hodder Paperbacks

Curiosity House: The Fearsome Firebird (Book Three)

Lauren Oliver, H C Chester
Authors:
Lauren Oliver, H C Chester
Teach Yourself

Teach Yourself Motoring

Dudley Noble
Authors:
Dudley Noble
Hodder & Stoughton

Rise Like Lions

Ben Okri
Authors:
Ben Okri
Hodder & Stoughton

What We Talk about when We Talk about Faith

Peter Stanford
Authors:
Peter Stanford

John Murray Learning

Human Origins

Sceptre

Lost and Found

Jules Montague
Authors:
Jules Montague
Mulholland Books

The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan

The enchanting new Baby Ganesh Agency novel sees Inspector Chopra and his elephant sidekick investigating the dark side of Bollywood.Mumbai thrives on extravagant spectacles and larger-than-life characters.But even in the city of dreams, there is no guarantee of a happy ending. Rising star and incorrigible playboy Vikram Verma has disappeared, leaving his latest film in jeopardy. Hired by Verma's formidable mother to find him, Inspector Chopra and his sidekick, baby elephant Ganesha, embark on a journey deep into the world's most flamboyant movie industry.As they uncover feuding stars, failed investments and death threats, it seems that many people have a motive for wanting Verma out of the picture. And yet, as Chopra has long suspected, in Bollywood the truth is often stranger than fiction...

Hodder & Stoughton

Never Go There: a gripping psychological thriller with a twist that'll shock you to the core

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

What if you found out that you'd been married to a stranger? NEVER GO THERE is a gripping, chilling psychological thriller debut perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER, Jenny Blackhurst's BEFORE I LET YOU IN, Katerina Diamond and Linda Green.'Never go there, Nuala. Please, never go there.'Nuala knows nothing of her husband James's past. He made her swear that she would never contact his family and never, EVER visit the place he was from.But now James is dead, and Nuala is alone. Grieving and desperate, she decides to ignore his warning.Nuala is about to find out that some secrets are better left buried - and that uncovering the truth about the man she married will have terrible consequences...Gripping, disturbing and utterly addictive, NEVER GO THERE's twists will shock you to the very core.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Mulholland Books

Green Sun

Kent Anderson
Authors:
Kent Anderson

The acclaimed author of Night Dogs and Sympathy for the Devil returns with a blistering new novel.'Green Sun tells the unvarnished truth about what it is to be a cop in modern day America. I can give a suspense novel no higher compliment' James PattersonHanson thought he had witnessed the worst of humanity after a tour of duty in Vietnam and a stint as a cop in Oregon. Then he moves to Oakland, California to join the under-funded, understaffed police department. Hanson chooses to live - alone - in the precinct that he patrols; he, unlike the rest of the white officers, takes seriously his duty to serve and protect the black community of East Oakland.He will encounter prejudice and hate on both sides of the line... and struggle to keep true to himself against powerful opposition and personal danger. Green Sun is a raw, unflinching novel about America's divided cities and one man's divided soul.

John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass

It seemed, at times, an act of profound selfishness, to have a child so that I might become a parent; but selfish, too, to have a child and stay the same, or not to have one - unless the only honest choice would have been to try to become this kinder version of myself without the need to bring another into it . . .Sight is about X-rays, psychoanalysis, and the origins of modern surgery. It is about being a parent, and being a child. Fiercely intelligent, brilliantly written and suffused with something close to forgiveness, it is a novel about how we see others and how we imagine ourselves.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

'Funny, bittersweet and touching. Will resonate with anyone who is "trying"' - MARIAN KEYES*********A hugely funny, searingly honest comedy about to expect when you're not expecting.Olivia and Felix are trying for a baby. They even moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? This is standout, intelligently written commercial fiction for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Dawn O'Porter's The Cows and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You.

Mulholland Books

Rusty Puppy

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

Hap and Leonard investigate a racially motivated murder that threatens to tear apart their East Texas town.Hap, a former 60s activist and self-proclaimed white trash rebel, is recovering from a life-threatening stab wound. He's hoping to take it easy, but then Louise Elton arrives with a job... Months earlier, a bully cop pulled over and sexually harassed Louise's daughter, Charm. When he started stalking her, her brother Jamar tried to get evidence on him. The next thing Louise knew, Jamar got in a fight and was killed by local hoods. It doesn't add up: he was a straight-A student, destined for better things, until he began to ask too many questions about the racist police force. Leonard, a tough black gay Vietnam vet and Republican, joins Hap in the investigation, and they stumble upon the racial divides that have shaped their Eastern Texas town. But if anyone can navigate these pitfalls and bring the killers to justice, it's them.Filled with Lansdale's trademark snappy dialogue, colourful characters, and relentless pacing, Rusty Puppy is Joe Lansdale at his page-turning best.