Elizabeth Goudge - Towers in the Mist - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473655997
    • Publication date:27 Jul 2017

Towers in the Mist

The Cathedral Trilogy

By Elizabeth Goudge

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An enchanting story of hope and fulfilment, set amid the Oxford colleges. By the author of A City of Bells.

An enchanting story of hope and fulfilment, set amid the Oxford colleges.

Set in Elizabethan times, Faithful, a poor Londoner, heads for Oxford. He's bright, cheeky and good-looking, has a tremendous love of learning and hopes to be an Oxford scholar. When he is taken in by Canon Leigh and his family, Faithful begins to fulfil his dreams.

In this coming-of-age tale, the excitement, squalor and beauty of the English Renaissance unfolds through the lives of two girls growing up, Oxford students approaching the threshold of distinguished careers, and their elders navigating the complicated waters of sixteenth-century England.


What readers are saying about TOWERS IN THE MIST

'A delight' - 5 STARS

'One of the best' - 5 STARS

'Brimming with life and charm; - 5 STARS

'Absolutely magical' - 5 STARS

'A novel which deserves to be read more than once' - 5 STARS

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth de Beauchamp Goudge was born on April 24th 1900 in Wells, Somerset, where her father was Principal of Wells Theological College. Although she had privately intended writing as a career, her parents insisted she taught handicrafts in Oxford. She began writing in her spare time and her first novel ISLAND MAGIC, set in Guernsey, was a great success here and in America. GREEN DOLPHIN COUNTRY (1944) projected her to fame, netting a Literary Guild Award and a special prize of £30,000 from Louis B. Mayer of MGM before being filmed.

In her later years Elizabeth Goudge settled in Henley-on-Thames. She died on April 1st, 1984.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473655980
  • Publication date: 13 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

What Happens in Paradise

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Secret lives and new loves emerge in the bright Caribbean sunlight . . .A year ago, Irene Steele had the shock of her life: her loving husband, father to their grown sons and successful businessman, was killed in a plane crash. But that wasn't Irene's only shattering news: he'd also been leading a double life on the island of St. John, where another woman loved him, too. Now Irene and her sons are back on St. John, determined to learn the truth about the mysterious life - and death - of a man they thought they knew. Along the way, they're about to learn some surprising truths about their own lives, and their futures. Lush with the tropical details, romance and drama, What Happens in Paradise is another immensely satisfying page-turner from one of the world's most beloved and engaging storytellers.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Middle Window

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

The Castle on the Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder Paperbacks

Before I Find You

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight

PERFECT FOR FANS OF KILLING EVE, THE GUILTY WIFE AND FRIEND REQUEST'A sharp, witty psychological suspense with a difference. Be prepared for a fast ride and an unexpected destination' Jane Corry, Sunday Times Bestselling author of The Dead ExMaggie is a husband watcher. A snooper, a marriage doctor, a killer of happy-ever-afters. She runs her own private detective agency specialising in catching out those who cheat. And she's very good at it. Until Helene walks through her door.Helene is a husband catcher. A beautiful wife, a doting stepmother, a dazzling presence at parties. She counts herself lucky to have married one of the most eligible men in town - Gabe Moreau. Until she sees something that threatens her little family of three.Alice is a perfect daughter. Apple of her father's eye, a kind stepchild to Helene, a tragic daughter of a dead mother. She lives a sheltered but happy life. Until she finds a handwritten note on her father's desk: 'You owe me. I'm not going away.'All three women suspect Gabe Moreau of keeping secrets and telling lies. But not one of them suspects that the truth could result in murder . . .'Ridiculously addictive and compelling - I tore through this crisp, taut character-driven delight in one day!' Angela Clarke, Sunday Times bestselling author of Follow Me, Watch Me and Trust Me'Fabulously whip-smart and twisty with a feisty female lead who crackles off the page' Eve Chase, author of The Vanishing of Audrey WildePRAISE FOR ALI KNIGHT'Crackles from first page to last' Daily Mail'A suspenseful Hitchcockian tale . . . [one of the] top ten crime books to take on holiday' Telegraph'Tightly-plotted, high-pitched psychological thriller . . . what Ali Knight does so successfully is broach the great divide between public and private space' Daily Mirror'A clever thriller . . . a gripping read' Sunday Mirror'Pacey and disquieting, Knight's debut hints she might be a successor to Sophie Hannah's queen of suspense crown' Stylist'A really enjoyable read' Number one bestselling author, Martina Cole'Top notch suspense!' Number one bestselling author, Lisa Gardner'Like The Girl on the Train, brilliantly twisty and compulsive' Elizabeth Fremantle, author of The Poison Bed

Hodder & Stoughton

One Perfect Family

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Orphanage of Gods

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan
Hodder & Stoughton

The King's Witch

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman
Sceptre

Claudia

Anthony Trevelyan
Authors:
Anthony Trevelyan
Hodder Paperbacks

Gentian Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder Paperbacks

Green Dolphin Country

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

'Breathtaking...A long vista of undulating story, with here and there peaks of volcanic excitement' Daily TelegraphA haunting love story set between the Channel Islands and New Zealand in the 19th century.When young William Ozanne arrives on their island, sisters Marianne and Marguerite Le Patourel are both captivated. But it is tall, beautiful Marguerite who catches his eye. Years later, William leaves the island for a life at sea, eventually settling across the ocean in New Zealand. Impulsively, he invites Marguerite to join him there, but a slip of the pen results in Marianne making the journey instead.As Marguerite deals with a broken heart and the loss of her sister, Marianne must make a new life in a strange land, with a man who respects her but loves another. Can she persuade William that he chose the right sister, after all?The inspiration behind the Academy Award winning film Green Dolphin Street (1947).What readers are saying about GREEN DOLPHIN COUNTRY'Fantastic' - 5 STARS'A beautiful and unusual love story' - 5 STARS'Full of twists and turns and beautifully written as always' - 5 STARS'A wonderful story' - 5 STARS'A magical story with characters that leap out from the page' - 5 STARS

Hodder & Stoughton

A City of Bells

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

The story of a quiet cathedral town, of an orphan who finds a new home, of two people who fight to separate themselves from the ghost of a man whose mystery has cast a spell that only his return can break, and of a dream that can only end with a new dawn.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Bird in the Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Lucilla has spent a lifetime making the Hampshire estate of Damerosehay a tranquil haven for the Eliot family. When her favourite grandson, David, falls in love with an unsuitable woman Lucilla feels is unsuitable, she sees her most cherished ambitions put at risk. But can she persuade David and Nadine to put duty before love?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dean's Watch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

The Herb of Grace

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

Beatrice and Benedick

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato
Hodder & Stoughton

The Heart of the Family

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Michael Stone was once a famous author. That was before he went to prison. Now, recently released, Michael needs a new beginning. Weighed down by failure and despair, the town of Silverbridge seems too offer him a quiet, rural escape from the past. Kind, gentle vicar John Wentworth takes Michael under his wing, and introduces him to his family and friends. At the vicarage, John's inexplicably discontented wife Daphne brings up their daughters. Bedridden Harriet, John's former nanny, deals impatiently with a world to which she cannot actively participate. At the family home, Belmaray, Aunt Maria is burdened by the worry of a failing estate. And at the grim little town school is fiery teacher Mary O'Hara, determined to foster change. A story of courage and community, set in the beautiful Devonshire countryside.

Hodder & Stoughton

Corn Dolls

Patrick Lennon
Authors:
Patrick Lennon

It begins for Tom Fletcher with what looks like a very bloody accident in a farm machinery showroom, and reaches back into the past - his own and that of the local police force - before slamming into the present with all the force of the most up-to-date criminal power in the world. Crackling with secrets and surprises, packed with haunting landscapes and haunted characters, freighted with the hot, thundery atmosphere of a Cambridge summer and the inevitable paying-out of past betrayals, CORN DOLLS marks the arrival of a major new crime talent.

Hodder & Stoughton

Nine Coaches Waiting

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

The White Witch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge