Stephen King - Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848941090
    • Publication date:18 Aug 2003
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444761603
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2012

Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger

Film Tie-In

By Stephen King

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Stephen King's epic fantasy series, The Dark Tower, is being made into a major motion picture starring Idris Elba and Matthew McConaughey. Due in cinemas August 18, 2017.

The Dark Tower is soon to be a major motion picture starring Matthew McConaughey and Idris Elba, due in cinemas August 18, 2017.

'The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed.' The iconic opening line of Stephen King's groundbreaking series, The Dark Tower, introduces one of his most enigmatic and powerful heroes: Roland of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger.

Roland is a haunting figure, a loner, on a spellbinding journey toward the mysterious Dark Tower, in a desolate world which frighteningly echoes our own.

On his quest, Roland begins a friendship with a kid from New York named Jake, encounters an alluring woman and faces an agonising choice between damnation and salvation as he pursues the Man in Black.

JOIN THE QUEST FOR THE DARK TOWER...

THE DARK TOWER SERIES:
THE DARK TOWER I: THE GUNSLINGER
THE DARK TOWER II: THE DRAWING OF THE THREE
THE DARK TOWER III: THE WASTE LANDS
THE DARK TOWER IV: WIZARD AND GLASS
THE DARK TOWER V: WOLVES OF THE CALLA
THE DARK TOWER VI: SONG OF SUSANNAH
THE DARK TOWER VII: THE DARK TOWER
THE WIND THROUGH THE KEYHOLE: A DARK TOWER NOVEL

Biographical Notes

'At the age of 19 Stephen decided he would like to write an epic similar to The Lord of the Rings. The 'spaghetti Westerns' of that time [specifically The Good, the Bad and the Ugly] and a poem written by Robert Browning, 'Childe Roland to the Dark Tower Came', became the inspiration for his magnum opus. The series written and published separately over a period of 22 years consists of eight books, including The Wind Through the Keyhole, and the short story, 'The Little Sisters of Eluria' published in his collection, EVERYTHING'S EVENTUAL.' From the author's website.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473655546
  • Publication date: 20 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
King's magnificent uberstory is finally complete... King's achievement is startling; his characters fresh... his plot sharply drawn... It is magic. — Daily Express on THE DARK TOWER
Join the quest before it's too late — Independent on Sunday on THE SONG OF SUSANNAH
Hodder & Stoughton

The Outsider

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

Following the phenomenal success of his Bill Hodges series, MR MERCEDES, FINDERS KEEPERS and END OF WATCH, all Number 1 bestsellers, Stephen King has written an unputdownable crime thriller with a unique twist.When an eleven-year-old boy is found murdered, forensic evidence and reliable eyewitnesses undeniably point to the town's popular Little League coach. But the jailed suspect, arrested in a public spectacle, has an alibi, and further research convinces Detective Ralph Anderson that the coach was indeed out of town. So how can he have been in two places at the same time?A compelling and chilling suspense novel, which will delight all readers of King's bestselling Hodges Trilogy.

Hodder & Stoughton

Eastern Horizons

Levison Wood
Authors:
Levison Wood

Award-winning TV adventurer and travel writer's enthralling account of his youthful expedition to Central Asia.Levison Wood was only 22 when he decided to hitch-hike from England to India through Russia, Iran, Afghanistan and Pakistan, but he wasn't the conventional follower of the hippy trail. A fascination with the deeds of the early explorers, a history degree in the bag, an army career already planned and a shoestring budget of £750 - including for the flight home - he was determined to find out more about the countries of the Caucasus and beyond - and meet the people who lived and worked there.EASTERN HORIZONS is a true traveller's tale in the tradition of the best of the genre, populated by a cast of eccentric characters; from mujahideen fighters to the Russian mafia. Along the way he meets some people who showed great hospitality, while others would rather have murdered him...This book confirms that Levison Wood, Winner of the 2016 Edward Stanford Adventure Travel Book Of The Year Award, has indeed 'breathed new life into adventure travel ' (Michael Palin) (P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Blind Alley

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay
Hodder Paperbacks

Winter Storms

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Gather under the mistletoe for one last round of carolling with the Quinn family in this heartwarming conclusion to Elin Hilderbrand's bestselling Winter Street Trilogy.Some of the stormy weather of the past few seasons seems to have finally lifted for the Quinns. Kevin is about to tie the knot with Isabelle, there's hopeful news about Bart, who has been captured by enemy forces in Afghanistan, and the family are coming back together for Christmas at Winter Street Inn. But with love triangles and health scares to contend with, there are still some dark clouds on the horizon. And as they prepare to host Kevin and Isabelle's winter wedding at the inn, a historic blizzard bears down on Nantucket, threatening to keep the Quinns away from the people and the place they love most. Before the snow clears, the family will have survived enough upheavals to send anyone running for the eggnog, in this touching novel that proves when the holidays roll around, you can always go home again.

Hodder & Stoughton

Thinking Out Loud

Rio Ferdinand
Authors:
Rio Ferdinand
Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King

In this spectacular father/son collaboration, Stephen King and Owen King tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men?All around the world, something is happening to women when they fall asleep; they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is disturbed, the women become feral and spectacularly violent...In the small town of Dooling, West Virginia, the virus is spreading through a women's prison, affecting all the inmates except one. Soon, word spreads about the mysterious Evie, who seems able to sleep - and wake. Is she a medical anomaly or a demon to be slain? The abandoned men, left to their increasingly primal devices, are fighting each other, while Dooling's Sheriff, Lila Norcross, is just fighting to stay awake.And the sleeping women are about to open their eyes to a new world altogether...

Hodder Paperbacks

It

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Gwendy's Button Box

Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Hodder Paperbacks

End of Watch

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dead Zone

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Nightmares and Dreamscapes

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Long Walk

Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Bachman

In the near future, where America has become a police state, one hundred boys are selected to enter an annual contest where the winner will be awarded whatever he wants for the rest of his life. The game is simple - maintain a steady walking pace of four miles per hour without stopping. Three warnings, and you're out - permanently.(P)2009 Penguin Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

Apt Pupil

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

All-American high school student Todd Bowden discovers a Nazi war criminal living in his neighbourhood under the assumed name Arthur Denker. Todd blackmails Arthur into revealing the evil atrocities he once committed, in exchange for his silence. The two begin a dangerous relationship which spirals out of control and produces fatal results.(P)2009 Penguin Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

The Body

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

It doesn't get any better than classic King read by Frank Muller. Four young boys go to look for a friend who has disappeared. They think he must be dead. As they search they discover how cruel the world can be, coming face-to-face with life, death, and their own mortality.(P)2009 Penguin Audio.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Breathing Method

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

There is a strange, exclusive gentlemen's club in New York, where no one pays any dues. Membership is based upon a telling of tales.One night a doctor tells a nightmarish tale about a disgraced woman determined to give birth-no matter the consequences.(P)2009 Penguin Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

The Running Man

Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Bachman

It's not just a game when you're running for your life.Every night they tuned in to the nation's favourite prime-time TV game show.They all watched, from the sprawling slums to the security-obsessed enclaves of the rich. They all watched the ultimate live death game as the contestants tried to bet not the clock, but annihilation at the hands of the Hunters. Survive thirty days and win the billion dollar jackpot - that was the promise. But the odds were brutal and the game rigged. Best score so far was eight days.And now there was a new contestant, the latest running man, staking his life while a nation watched.(P)2010 Penguin Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

Nightmares and Dreamscapes Volume II

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Nightmares and Dreamscapes Volume III

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

A star-studded cast of readers present unabridged tales of horror and suspense from Stephen King's classic best-selling short story collection. This volume includes IT GROWS ON YOU read by Stephen King;THE FIFTH QUARTER read by Gary Sinese; YOU KNOW THEY GOT A HELL OF A BAND read by Grace Slick; THE NIGHT FLIER read by Frank Muller and more. (P)2009 Simon & Schuster

Mulholland Books

The Puppet Maker

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay

The fifth DI Jack Brady investigation, a gritty serial killer thriller for fans of Peter James and Tania Carver.How do you catch a killer when no one knows he's out there?How can you be saved when no one knows you're lost? No one knew about the Puppet Maker... until DI Brady found what remained of his victims. The murderer never meant them to be found. They are his private collection: each body identical, each... altered. Brady knows that now his secret is out, the killer will destroy the evidence - including his latest captive.He must find a man who has hidden the worst of crimes for over twenty years. And whose nameless victims were never even missed...

Hodder Paperbacks

Danse Macabre

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King