Mario Giordano - Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473655195
    • Publication date:01 Jun 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473655188
    • Publication date:26 Jan 2017
Books in this series

Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions

Auntie Poldi 1

By Mario Giordano

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

The perfect summer read set on the Mediterranean island of Sicily - perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Inspector Montalbano

'Alive with a tang of lemons to set the senses zinging' The Spectator

Fiction at its most charming - A Man Called Ove meets Andrea Camilleri, Auntie Poldi is this summer's most unlikely hero.

Auntie Poldi can think of no finer place to wait for death than Sicily. All she asks is a sea view, fine wine (and plenty of it), and her family close around.

When death instead takes her handsome young friend Valentino - and under mysterious circumstances at that - Poldi will not take it lying down.

Perhaps it's in her blood (her father was a detective chief inspector); perhaps it's a diverting excuse to spend more time with men in uniform; or perhaps it's just the promise she makes to Valentino while holding his poor dead hand.

But Auntie Poldi's hunting instincts have never felt more alive. Justice must be served - if it's the last thing she does . . .

Auntie Poldi and the Fruits of the Lord, the second Auntie Poldi adventure, is now available for preorder

Biographical Notes

Mario Giordano, the son of Italian immigrants, was born in Munich in 1963 and studied psychology at the University of Dusseldorf. He writes novels, books for adolescents, and screenplays. He lives in Cologne. Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions is his first crime novel, and his first novel to be translated into English.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473655164
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: John Murray
Mario Giordano - a Bavarian of Sicilian parentage who writes in German - has created a delightful detective and a lively, humorous portrait of Sicilian society and gastronomy — The Times, Book of the Month
Giordano is a novelist of high skill and originality with an eye for eccentric comedy, idiosyncratic characters and vivid scenes. John Brownjohn's translation is stylish and this book is a masterly treat — Times Literary Supplement
Wonderfully evocative . . . a joyful light read — Crime Review
The whole book is alive with a tang of lemons to set the senses zinging. Refreshing — The Spectator
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Robinson 11

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

Mulholland Books

New psychological thriller

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper

Hodder Paperbacks

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

Twenty-five years ago, Major Franklin Trapper became a national icon when he lead a handful of survivors to safety after the bombing of a Dallas hotel. For years, he gave frequent speeches and interviews but then suddenly dropped out of the public eye, shunning all media. Now, ambitious TV journalist Kerra Bailey is determined to get an exclusive with the Major - even if she has to wrangle an introduction from his estranged son, former ATF agent John Trapper.Trapper wants no association with the Major, but despite himself, he agrees to the meet. But when the interview goes catastrophically awry - with unknown assailants targeting his father and Kerra - Trapper starts a hunt to track down the gunmen . . . and finally discover who was responsible for the Dallas bombing.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
Mulholland Books

Her Watchful Eye

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin
Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
John Murray

Auntie Poldi and the Fruits of the Lord

Mario Giordano
Authors:
Mario Giordano
Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Mulholland Books

The Deaths of December

Susi Holliday
Authors:
Susi Holliday
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still linger with the stains on the city walls.The anniversary of the flood brings with it a new case for Inspector Bordelli. A local wealthy industrialist - fiercely loved and respected by everyone he knew - has been found murdered in his grand villa in the Fiesole hills, and the killer has left no trace.With no obvious leads to follow, Bordelli is patiently retracing the victim's last days when he encounters an old friend from the war. Inviting the frail man into his home, Bordelli doesn't realise that it is this very friend will lead him ever closer to the secrets at the heart of the mystery . . .

Mulholland Books

The Cleaner

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

An international bestseller and one of the top-selling novels in New Zealand's history, Paul Cleave's dark thriller is a brilliant, bloody masterpiece.Joe is in control of everything in his simple life - both his day job as a janitor for the police department and his "night work". He isn't bothered by the daily news reports of the Christchurch Carver, who, they say, has murdered seven women. Joe knows, though, that the Carver killed only six. He knows that for a fact, and he's determined to find the copycat. He'll punish him for the one, then frame him for the other six. It's the perfect plan because he already knows he can outwit the police. All he needs now is to take care of all the women who keep getting in his way, including his odd, overprotective mother and Sally, the maintenance worker who sees him as a replacement for her dead brother. Then there's the mysterious Melissa, the only woman to have ever understood him, but whose fantasies of blackmail and torture don't have a place in Joe's investigation.

Mulholland Books

The Killing Hour

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Anyone who likes their crime fiction on the black and bloody side should move Paul Cleave straight to the top of their must-read list' Mark Billingham'Pulse-pounding' Publishers WeeklyImagine waking up covered in blood - but it's not your blood. There's a nasty bump on your head, and you can't remember a thing about last night. The morning paper reports that two young women were brutally murdered. You recognize their names. Pieces of the night before come back to you through the haze. And now you're the suspect in their grisly deaths. Welcome to Charlie's world. In this heart-pounding thriller, only the dead know what happened last night. On the run, Charlie suspects a man named Cyris, but no one believes that Cyris exists. Not the police and not Charlie's ex-wife Jo, though she wants to trust that the man she once loved is innocent. Soon, Charlie has Jo bound and gagged in the trunk of his car, fleeing across the countryside while the killing hour approaches yet again.

Mulholland Books

Blood Men

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Relentlessly gripping, deliciously twisted, and shot through with a vein of humor that's as dark as hell' Mark BillinghamWINNER OF NEW ZEALAND'S PRESTIGIOUS NGAIO MARSH AWARD FOR BEST CRIME NOVEL OF 2011Edward Hunter has it all - a beautiful wife and daughter, a great job, a bright future... and a very dark past.Twenty years ago, a serial killer was caught, convicted, and locked away in the country's most hellish of penitentiaries. That man was Edward's father. Edward has struggled his entire life to put the nightmares of his childhood behind him. But a week before Christmas, violence once again makes an unwelcome appearance into his world. Suddenly he's going to need the help of his father, a man he hasn't seen since he was a boy. Is Edward destined to be just like him, to become a man of blood?A true master of the genre that only comes along once in a generation, Cleave unveils a brutally vivid picture of a killer's mind and of a city of fallen angels captured at the ends of the earth.

Mulholland Books

The Laughterhouse

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'A modern equivalent of James Ellroy's Los Angeles of the 1950s, a discordant symphony of violence and human weakness' Publishers Weekly. Theodore Tate never forgot his first crime scene - ten-year-old Jessica found dead in "the Laughterhouse," an old abandoned slaughterhouse with the S painted over. The killer was found and arrested. Justice was served. Or was it? Fifteen years later, a new killer arrives in Christchurch, and he has a list of people who were involved in Jessica's murder case, one of whom is the unfortunate Dr. Stanton, a man with three young girls. If Tate is going to help them, he has to find the connection between the killer, the Laughterhouse, and the city's suddenly growing murder rate. And he needs to figure it out fast, because Stanton and his daughters have been kidnapped, and the doctor is being forced to make an impossible decision: which one of his daughters is to die first.

Mulholland Books

Joe Victim

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Five Minutes Alone

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Breaking Bad reworked by the Coen Brothers.' Kirkus ReviewsCarl Schroder and Theodore Tate, labeled 'The Coma Cops' by the media, are finally getting their lives back into shape. Tate has returned to the police force and is grateful to be back at home with his wife, Bridget. For Schroder, things are neither good nor bad. The bullet lodged in his head from a shooting six months ago hasn't killed him, but - almost as deadly - it's switched off his emotions.When the body of a convicted rapist is found, obliterated by an oncoming train, Tate works the case, trying to determine if this is murder or suicide. The following night, two more rapists go missing. It's hard to investigate when everyone on the police force seems to be rooting for the killer.There's a common plea detectives get from the loved ones of victims: When you find the man who did this, give me five minutes alone with him. And that's exactly what someone is doing. Someone is helping these victims get their five minutes alone. But when innocent people start to die, Tate and Schroder find themselves with different objectives, and soon they're battling something they never would've expected - each other.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Luce

L R Fredericks
Authors:
L R Fredericks

My obsession begins in the magical year 1967, at Luce and the Photons' legendary last secret gig. That night changes my life: I must know who Luce is. But the deeper I dig, the more questions I turn up. Is Luce a rock star or a pretender? An artist or an acid trip?My redemption . . . or my delusion?Drawn into the machinations of mysterious powers, I become the dark shadow who follows the light of Luce. But who follows me? Are they agents of evil or figments of my imagination? And do they follow me still?The quest for Luce will lead me to the farthest corners of the earth and into the deadliest danger. I will lose everything and everyone I love . . . except for Luce.Who is pawn and who is player? Murderer or victim? Betrayer or saviour?I am the only one who knows the truth.This is the truth.This is The Book of Luce.