Benedict Wells - The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473654037
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473681620
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller

By Benedict Wells

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The international bestseller: A heartfelt, enriching novel about fate, loss and love

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
WINNER OF THE 2016 EUROPEAN UNION PRIZE FOR LITERATURE


I've known Death a long time but now Death knows me.


When their idyllic childhood is shattered by the sudden death of their parents, siblings Marty, Liz and Jules are sent to a bleak state boarding school. Once there, the orphans' lives change tracks: Marty throws himself into academic life; Liz is drawn to dark forms of escapism; and Jules transforms from a vivacious child to a withdrawn teenager.


I began to be afraid of the dark, afraid of death, afraid of eternity. I was alone. And then I met Alva.


The only one who can bring him out of his shell is his mysterious classmate Alva, who hides a dark past of her own, but despite their obvious love for one another, the two leave school on separate paths.


Our last meeting suddenly felt like yesterday again, except that yesterday was many years ago.


Years later, just as it seems that they can make amends for time wasted, the past catches up with them, and fate - or chance - will once again alter the course of a life.


Told through the fractured lives of the siblings, The End of Loneliness is a heartfelt, enriching novel about loss and loneliness, family and love.

Biographical Notes

Benedict Wells was born in 1984 in Munich. At the age of six, he started his journey through three Bavarian boarding schools. Upon graduating school in 2003, he moved to Berlin, where he decided against an academic education and instead started to dedicate his time to writing. In 2016 he won the European Prize for Literature for his third novel, The End of Loneliness, which has been in the German bestseller list for over a year. After years of living in Barcelona, Wells has recently returned to Berlin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473654051
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Hodder & Stoughton

The Quickening

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley

A bold and shocking novel set in a near-future Britain, about gender, power and betrayal.The patriarchy has been toppled. In London, the bell of Big Elizabeth rings from the Palace of Westminster whilst women discuss politics in the Wombs, free-bleeding centres.Government-worker Art Alden knows that there is something terribly, frighteningly wrong with the new world. Until now, his unrequited love for Dana Mayer - the Prime Minister - has prevented him from taking a stand. When men start disappearing all over the country, Art knows it's time to act. But Dana's regime is listening, and the price for disloyalty - both to one's country, and to those we love - is higher than Art could ever have imagined.

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Picoult

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

A lone gunman. A young woman who has never been more alone. The hostage negotiator. His daughter. Each hour that brings them closer together their lives fall further apart . . .

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

The Rhine

Ben Coates
Authors:
Ben Coates
Hodder & Stoughton

The Orphanage of Gods

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan
John Murray

Katerina

James Frey
Authors:
James Frey

The devastating and hard-hitting new novel from the author of The Final Testament of the Holy Bible.

Sceptre

The Last of the Greenwoods

Clare Morrall
Authors:
Clare Morrall
Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Missed You

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser

Violet and Finn are 'meant to be'.A happy couple seemingly brought together by the hand of fate, they have a gorgeous son, and are enjoying their first family holiday in Florida.Until Violet returns to the hotel room to discover that her husband has left without a trace; and he's taken their child with him. Caitlin and Finn have been best friends since the first day of college.But friends don't ask you to hide their kidnapped son, threatening to reveal a secret which could destroy your family if you don't.Do they?Told through the viewpoints of Violet, Caitlin and Finn, Almost Missed You is a powerful story of love, betrayal, and secrets that maybe shouldn't be kept. . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Four

Andy Jones
Authors:
Andy Jones
Sceptre

I Will Be Complete

Glen David Gold
Authors:
Glen David Gold

From the bestselling author of Carter Beats the Devil and Sunnyside, a shocking, big-hearted memoir about his bizarre upbringing in California in the 1970s and how he survived it. Glen David Gold grew up rich on the beaches of 1970s California, until his father lost a fortune and his parents divorced when he was ten.Glen and his English mother moved to San Francisco, where she was fleeced by a series of charming con men and turned increasingly wayward. When he was twelve, she took off for New York without telling him, leaving him alone for several months. On midnight streets and at drug-fuelled parties, wise-cracking his way through an alarming adult world, Glen watched his mother's countless, wild attempts to reinvent herself. In this exceptional memoir, acclaimed novelist Glen David Gold captures his bizarre, lonely upbringing and how it shaped him as an adult with stunning insight and unsparing candour. Shocking, mordantly funny and achingly affecting, he tells an unforgettable story of the years he spent trying to rescue his mother - and his ultimate realisation that only by breaking free could he ever hope to be complete.

Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

A woman jumps to her death. She looks a lot like washed up beauty queen Didi Storm, but her daughter is adamant: that's not her mother. To solve the mystery of who jumped - and why - Remmi Storm and cop Dani Settler have to go back to the start, to a deal conducted in the Las Vegas desert 22 years ago, which went terribly wrong...A fast-paced thriller for fans for Lisa Gardner and Karen Rose, with Lisa Jackson's trademark mix of dark secrets and stunning twists.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, FranceWerner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Rebecca, the woman he has fallen in love with, a mysterious link means he must uncover the truth of his past, or run the risk of losing her. Spanning 1945 Dresden, the Bavarian Alps and uncovering Operation Paperclip, this is a riveting novel of family and love that seamlessly blends fact with fiction.

Hodder & Stoughton

Legendary

Stephanie Garber
Authors:
Stephanie Garber

The spellbinding sequel to Sunday Times bestselling Caraval, told from the point of view of Scarlett's sister.

Coronet

The Cloven

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling
Two Roads

The Particular Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Coronet

Lifeshocks

Sophie Sabbage
Authors:
Sophie Sabbage
John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass
Hodder & Stoughton

London

Edward Rutherfurd
Authors:
Edward Rutherfurd
Hodder Paperbacks

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy thriller, and the #1 ebook bestseller

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel

**THE #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER**'Darkly sexy and compelling' HEAT'Fans of The Girls will love this' RED ONLINE'You'll be gripped' RICHARD MADELEY'One of the best books I've read' REBECCA DONE'This book is stunning. Wow' CRESSIDA MCLAUGHLIN***EVERYONE WANTS TO BE A ROANOKE GIRL. BUT YOU WON'T WHEN YOU KNOW THE TRUTH.The girls of the Roanoke family - beautiful, rich, mysterious - seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them that's never spoken. Either the girls run away... or they die.Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?***FOR FANS OF SWEET LITTLE LIES, GOOD ME BAD ME AND THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR, THIS IS THE MOST SHOCKING THRILLER YOU'LL READ ALL YEAR.***'A must-have' SUNDAY EXPRESS'A mini-masterpiece' JUDY FINNIGAN'One of the most unsettling and thought-provoking books I've read... stunning and gripping' LISA CUTTS'You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secrets' LAURA MCHUGH'Deliciously written...pulls you relentlessly into its twisted heart' AVA MARSH'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it' SARAH HILARY'One of the most disturbingly gripping books I have ever read' RUTH DUGDALL

Hodder & Stoughton

The New World

Scott K. Andrews
Authors:
Scott K. Andrews
Hodder Paperbacks

Small Great Things

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

A RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 PICK A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERA NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERThe best books make you see differently. This is one of them. The eye-opening new novel from Jodi Picoult, with the biggest of themes: birth, death, and responsibility.When a newborn baby dies after a routine hospital procedure, there is no doubt about who will be held responsible: the nurse who had been banned from looking after him by his father. What the nurse, her lawyer and the father of the child cannot know is how this death will irrevocably change all of their lives, in ways both expected and not.Small Great Things is about prejudice and power; it is about that which divides and unites us.It is about opening your eyes. SOON TO BE A MAJOR FILM STARRING VIOLA DAVIS AND JULIA ROBERTS