Benedict Wells - The End of Loneliness - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473654037
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473654051
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

The End of Loneliness

By Benedict Wells

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473654020
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

The third novel in the heartwarming, Yorkshire-set Hope Meadows series, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde.Based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall
Hodder & Stoughton

The Two Houses

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper

After an acclaimed career in ceramics making things and breaking things, it is now Jay herself who has cracked. Recovering from a breakdown, she and her husband Simon move to the desolate edges of the Yorkshire moors, where they find and fall in love with the Two Houses: a crumbling Victorian property whose central rooms were supposedly so haunted that a previous owner had them cut out from the building entirely.But on uprooting their city life and moving to the sheltered grey village of Hestle, Jay and Simon discover it's not only the Two Houses that seems to be haunted by an obscure past. It becomes increasingly clear that the villagers don't want them there at all - and when building work to make the two houses whole again starts, a discovery is made that will unearth decades-old secrets . . .

John Murray

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala

Hodder Paperbacks

Here We Are Now

Jasmine Warga
Authors:
Jasmine Warga

From the author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES comes a beautiful, funny and heartfelt novel of music, family, and friendship. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Rainbow Rowell and Sarah Dessen.'Kinetic and beautiful and unexpectedly life-affirming' - Chris Lynch on My Heart and Other Black HolesDespite sending him letters ever since she was thirteen, Taliah Abdallat never thought she'd ever really meet Julian Oliver. But one day, while her mother is out of the country, the famed rock star from Staring Into the Abyss shows up on her doorstep. This makes sense - kinda - because it turns out Julian Oliver is Taliah's father . . . When Julian asks her to go with him to his hometown to meet the family she has never known, Taliah embarks on a three-day voyage of discovery - of her father, of the past her mother has never shared with her, and of herself.

Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

This Beautiful Life

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
John Murray

A History of Running Away

Paula McGrath
Authors:
Paula McGrath

'A wonderful storyteller' Joseph O'ConnorIn 1982 Jasmine wants to box, but in 1980s Ireland boxing is illegal for girls.In 2012 a gynaecologist agonises about a job offer which would mean escape from the increasingly fraught atmosphere of her Dublin hospital. But what about her mother, stuck in a nursing home?And in Maryland Ali, whose mother has recently died, hooks up with a biker gang to escape from grandparents she didn't know she had.Gradually revealing the unexpected connections between the three women, A History of Running Away is a brilliantly written novel about running away, growing up and finding out who you are.

Sceptre

In Every Moment We Are Still Alive

Tom Malmquist
Authors:
Tom Malmquist

The prize-winning, bestselling tale of love, loss, family and the lives we live moment by moment, from a stunning new voice in European fiction.Tom's heavily pregnant girlfriend Karin is rushed to hospital with severe flu. While the doctors are able to save the baby, they are helpless in the face of what transpires to be acute Leukemia, and in a moment as fleeting as it is cruel Tom gains a daughter but loses his soul-mate. In Every Moment is the story of a year that changes everything, as Tom must reconcile the fury of bereavement with the overwhelming responsibility of raising his daughter, Livia, alone. By turns tragic and redemptive, meditative and breathless, achingly poignant and darkly funny, this heavily autobiographical novel has been described in its native Sweden as 'hypnotic', 'impossible to resist' and 'one of the most powerful books about grief ever written'.

Hodder Paperbacks

Here's to Us

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Unlikely family and unexpected friendship come together in New York Times bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand's newest novel set against the sun and sand of island life. 'The queen of the summer novel' (People)Laurel Thorpe, Belinda Rowe and Scarlett Oliver share only two things in common: a love for the man they all married, celebrity chef Deacon Thorpe, and a passionate dislike of one another.When Deacon shockingly takes his own life, the women must come together in order to see out his final wish: to have his whole dysfunctional family - wives, children and all - return to his favourite place on earth, the idyllic eastern bluff of Nantucket.But with everyone under one roof, putting differences aside will be no simple feat. Each wants to claim a special place in Deacon's life. And yet, as certain secrets are revealed and confidences shared, improbable bonds will begin to form, as this unlikely family says goodbye to the man they loved.

John Murray

Conflicts of Interest

Terry Stiastny
Authors:
Terry Stiastny

'A skilful prose stylist and a connoisseur of telling details' GuardianLawrence Leith has retreated from his once-successful career in TV to a small village in the south of France to mourn the end of his marriage and the loss of his job.When his old colleague Martin Elliott arrives for a summer holiday, surrounded by his lovely family and new, influential friends, he seems to have everything that Lawrence lacks. Martin is convinced that Lawrence should get back in the game, even if that involves returning to Africa, where it once nearly ended for both of them. As Martin's carefully cultivated image begins to slip, Lawrence recovers his urge to find out the real story - one which will force him to choose between his friend and his principles.Masterfully constructed and universally topical, Conflicts of Interest is a novel about personal betrayal and political double-dealing, about the realities of being in the public eye and how the truth, no matter how hidden, will always out.

Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect feel-good holiday read!

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Paperbacks

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Sceptre

The Valentine House

Emma Henderson
Authors:
Emma Henderson
John Murray

Displaced

Stephan Abarbanell
Authors:
Stephan Abarbanell
Two Roads

Under the Almond Tree

Laura McVeigh
Authors:
Laura McVeigh

If you lost everything you loved, how would you survive and begin again? Under the Almond Tree tells the story of one refugee family fleeing Afghanistan and the catastrophic effects of war and displacement.Fifteen year old Samar and her family are refugees, fleeing the conflict in 1990s Kabul, after the Russians and then the Taliban, turn their lives inside out. They are aboard the Trans-Siberian Express as it travels across Russia towards an uncertain future. With the help of Napoleon, the ticket collector, her beloved copy of Anna Karenina, and her family, Samar narrates the story of their epic journey away from their happy life in Kabul and everything they have known. But, as Samar's tale unfolds, and the secrets of the family are unearthed, we slowly discover that the truth is far more devastating - and more full of hope - than we could ever have imagined. Under the Almond Tree is a story of how we keep the truth from those we love, and even from ourselves, to hold on to the beliefs which underpin our lives. It's also the story of extraordinary resilience and courage, in a turbulent world where nothing can be relied upon, but everything is possible.

Hodder Paperbacks

This is Now

Ciara Geraghty
Authors:
Ciara Geraghty

An ordinary day. An ordinary bank. An ordinary street in an ordinary town. Nothing ever happens, until, one day, a shocking robbery turns life upside down for five people: Cillian, a police detective,Martha, the woman he thought was the life of his life,Tobias, who came to Ireland after WWII and now lies in a coma, shot in the bank robbery,Roman, the young Polish teenager who is suspected of pulling the triggerand his mother Rosa, the cleaner, who dreamed of a better life for herself and her son . . . . . . and things will never be ordinary again.Ciara Geraghty's writing has that rare ability to make you laugh out loud as well as cry. She combines tangled human relationships with humour, romance and warmth to create something truly special.

John Murray

Rockadoon Shore

Rory Gleeson
Authors:
Rory Gleeson
Hodder & Stoughton

Small Great Things

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley