David Mark - Fire of Lies - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Fire of Lies

By David Mark

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An exclusive ebook short story from bestselling author David Mark: a body in a barrel and a pub full of witnesses who won't talk adds up to the perfect introduction to the DS McAvoy series.

A gripping new short story in the DS McAvoy series by David Mark, bestselling author of the Richard & Judy pick DARK WINTER.

Eight months ago, there was a body in the barrel. Now there's just a mess.

DS Aector McAvoy's latest case is proving a hard one to crack.

Back in November, Paul Rouse was shot, welded into a beer barrel and sent floating down the Humber.

The barrel's been traced to riverside pub The Trawl. It's the kind of place where the locals have plenty of secrets to keep. None of them are talking.

To anyone else, the case would be a dead end.

But McAvoy always finds a way...

Fire of Lies introduces gentle giant McAvoy, his fierce boss Trish, and characters you'd only ever meet in a David Mark novel. It's Hullishly good.

Biographical Notes

David Mark spent more than 15 years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with the Yorkshire Post - walking the Hull streets that would later become the setting for the Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy novels.

He has written five novels in the McAvoy series, Dark Winter, Original Sin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity and Dead Pretty. Dark Winter was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel, a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. He is currently reader in residence for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival.

He lives in Lincolnshire with his family, and you can find him on Twitter @davidmarkwriter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473653948
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
The McAvoy series pulls off the double whammy of cracking characters and cunning plots. The big detective Aector McAvoy is so real and so loveable you want to have a pint with him, and the legendary Trish Pharaoh proves that a man can create an utterly compelling female character — Anya Lipska
In terms of food analogies, some books are bland or subtly flavoured, while others are like a fiery curry. David Mark's DS McAvoy books are unarguably in the latter category — Independent
Gripping story lines steeped in emotion and menace, with a larger than life character whom I love to reacquaint myself with. Always right on the Mark for me. — Mel Sherratt
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

THE BRAND NEW ACTION-PACKED, FAST-PACED THRILLER FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR KAREN ROBARDS. PERFECT FOR FANS OF KAREN ROSE OR FILM RED SPARROW With her back against the wall, everything's on the line for Bianca St. Ives. She's either going to save the world-or die tryingIt took one hell of an effort for the authorities to finally get the jump on master manipulator Bianca St. Ives, but now that they have, it's far from the capture she expected. Instead of taking her in, there's an offer on the table, a one-shot deal that would allow Bianca to walk away scot-free as if they'd never found her. And all she has to do is run one last mission-the kind she might never return from. But if Bianca wants to go back to her normal life in Savannah, it's not like she has a choice . . . OR ORDER THE FIRST IN THE SERIES - THE ULTIMATUM - NOW

Mulholland Books

Last Night

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Mulholland Books

Cold Bones

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder Paperbacks

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

'As scarily plausible as it is utterly captivating, this is an absorbing and unforgettable debut.' Heat'Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut.' Karen Robinson, Sunday Times Crime Club'You'll be gripped by the unexpected truths that emerge. Compelling.' Marie ClaireThis is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed thirteen women, then himself. But no one can say why. The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame... the truth seems to vanish.A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love, and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy.

Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, France Werner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Rebecca, the woman he has fallen in love with, a mysterious link means he must uncover the truth of his past, or run the risk of losing her. Spanning 1945 Dresden, the Bavarian Alps and uncovering Operation Paperclip, this is a riveting novel of family and love, for anyone who loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Storyteller.'Adelaide de Clermont-Tonnerre weaves an enigmatic, funny, sensuous web, crossed by characters which we will struggle to forget' Le Figaro

Sceptre

Suicide Club

Rachel Heng
Authors:
Rachel Heng
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

Detective McAvoy investigates a murder and a missing person case in this dark and compelling thriller, for fans of Stuart MacBride and Peter May.The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?And how far would someone go to get revenge?The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Winter

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING RICHARD & JUDY PICK AND KINDLE CHART-TOPPING SENSATION. MEET DS AECTOR MCAVOY, AND BEGIN DAVID MARK'S ADDICTIVE CRIME SERIES.DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justice has made him an outsider in the police force he serves, a good man among the lazy and corrupt. Then on a cold day in December he is the first cop on the scene when a young girl is killed in Hull's historic church - and the only one to see the murderer. A masked man, with tears in his eyes...When two more seemingly unconnected people die, the police must work quickly. Only McAvoy can see the connection between the victims. A killer is playing God - and McAvoy must find a way to stop the deadly game.Hooked on Hull? Then check out the second instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Original Skin...(P) 2013 Quercus Publishing PLC

Hodder & Stoughton

Original Skin

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

Sorrow Bound

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

NO GOOD DEED GOES UNPUNISHED - THE THIRD DS AECTOR MCAVOY THRILLER FROM THE RICHARD & JUDY FEATURING, SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AND KINDLE CHART-TOPPING AUTHOR OF DARK WINTER.Philippa Longman did what we all aim to do. She did the right thing. She's about to pay for it with her life... DS McAvoy has spent his career playing by the rules. He has the scars to show for it. And his latest case will take him into a world in which good intentions make no difference to those with a thirst for revenge... Where ruthless killers go to any lengths to get their way... And where the most powerful thing anyone can do is stand firm against the darkness.Hooked on Hull? Then check out the fourth instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Taking Pity...(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd

Hodder Paperbacks

Taking Pity

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Daughter

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Gwendy's Button Box

Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Chizmar

'A resonant novella set in one of King's signature locales: the small town of Castle Rock, Maine' Washington PostThe small town of CASTLE ROCK, MAINE has witnessed some strange events and unusual visitors over the years, but there is one story that has never been told...until now.There are three ways up to Castle View from the town of Castle Rock: Route 117, Pleasant Road, and the Suicide Stairs. Every day in the summer of 1974 twelve-year-old Gwendy Peterson has taken the stairs, which are held by strong (if time-rusted) iron bolts and zig-zag up the cliffside.At the top of the stairs, Gwendy catches her breath and listens to the shouts of the kids on the playground. From a bit farther away comes the chink of an aluminum bat hitting a baseball as the Senior League kids practice for the Labor Day charity game.One day, a stranger calls to Gwendy: 'Hey, girl. Come on over here for a bit. We ought to palaver, you and me.'On a bench in the shade sits a man in black jeans, a black suit coat, and a white shirt unbuttoned at the top. On his head is a small neat black hat. The time will come when Gwendy has nightmares about that hat...Journey back to Castle Rock in this chilling new novella by Stephen King, bestselling author of The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, and Richard Chizmar, award-winning author of A Long December.

Mulholland Books

Cruel Mercy

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Mulholland Books

Dead Pretty

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The fifth novel in the DS McAvoy series by bestselling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means...DEAD PRETTY is the stunning new novel from one of Britain's most original crime writers.