David Mark - Fire of Lies - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Fire of Lies

By David Mark

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An exclusive ebook short story from bestselling author David Mark: a body in a barrel and a pub full of witnesses who won't talk adds up to the perfect introduction to the DS McAvoy series.

A gripping new short story in the DS McAvoy series by David Mark, bestselling author of the Richard & Judy pick DARK WINTER.

Eight months ago, there was a body in the barrel. Now there's just a mess.

DS Aector McAvoy's latest case is proving a hard one to crack.

Back in November, Paul Rouse was shot, welded into a beer barrel and sent floating down the Humber.

The barrel's been traced to riverside pub The Trawl. It's the kind of place where the locals have plenty of secrets to keep. None of them are talking.

To anyone else, the case would be a dead end.

But McAvoy always finds a way...

Fire of Lies introduces gentle giant McAvoy, his fierce boss Trish, and characters you'd only ever meet in a David Mark novel. It's Hullishly good.

Biographical Notes

David Mark spent more than 15 years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with the Yorkshire Post - walking the Hull streets that would later become the setting for the Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy novels.

He has written five novels in the McAvoy series, Dark Winter, Original Sin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity and Dead Pretty. Dark Winter was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel, a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. He is currently reader in residence for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival.

He lives in Lincolnshire with his family, and you can find him on Twitter @davidmarkwriter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473653948
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
The McAvoy series pulls off the double whammy of cracking characters and cunning plots. The big detective Aector McAvoy is so real and so loveable you want to have a pint with him, and the legendary Trish Pharaoh proves that a man can create an utterly compelling female character — Anya Lipska
In terms of food analogies, some books are bland or subtly flavoured, while others are like a fiery curry. David Mark's DS McAvoy books are unarguably in the latter category — Independent
Gripping story lines steeped in emotion and menace, with a larger than life character whom I love to reacquaint myself with. Always right on the Mark for me. — Mel Sherratt
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

THE BRAND NEW ACTION-PACKED, FAST-PACED THRILLER FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR KAREN ROBARDS. PERFECT FOR FANS OF KAREN ROSE OR FILM RED SPARROW With her back against the wall, everything's on the line for Bianca St. Ives. She's either going to save the world-or die tryingIt took one hell of an effort for the authorities to finally get the jump on master manipulator Bianca St. Ives, but now that they have, it's far from the capture she expected. Instead of taking her in, there's an offer on the table, a one-shot deal that would allow Bianca to walk away scot-free as if they'd never found her. And all she has to do is run one last mission-the kind she might never return from. But if Bianca wants to go back to her normal life in Savannah, it's not like she has a choice . . . OR ORDER THE FIRST IN THE SERIES - THE ULTIMATUM - NOW

Mulholland Books

Last Night

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

One of the few black kids on his Brighton Beach block, Titus "Crisp" Crespo was raised by his white mother and his Russian grandparents. He has two legacies from his absent father, Mo: his weird name and his brown skin. Crisp has always been the odd kid out, but a fundamentally good kid, with a bright future.But one impulsive decision triggers a horrible domino effect - an arrest, no reason not to accompany his richer, whiter friend Glynnie on a visit to her weed dealer, and a trip onto his father's old home turf where he'll face certain choices he's always tried to avoid. As Detective Lex Cole tries to unravel the clues from Crisp's night out, they both find that what you don't know about your past can still come back to haunt you.

Mulholland Books

Cold Bones

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

It's the coldest winter in Hull for years. When McAvoy is told by a concerned stranger that an elderly woman hasn't been seen for a few days, he goes to check on her - only to find her in the bath, encased in ice: the heating off; the windows open; the whole house frozen over. It could be a macabre accident, but when McAvoy finds a series of cryptic messages, he senses murder. Someone watched her die. As he starts to uncover the victim's story and her connections to a lost fishing trawler, his boss Trish is half a world away, investigating a mysterious death in Iceland. Hull and Iceland have traditionally been united by fishing - in this case, they are linked by a secret concealed for half a century, and a series of brutal killings that have never been connected. Until now - when the secrets of the dead have returned to prey on the living.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

'As scarily plausible as it is utterly captivating, this is an absorbing and unforgettable debut.' Heat'Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut.' Karen Robinson, Sunday Times Crime Club'You'll be gripped by the unexpected truths that emerge. Compelling.' Marie ClaireThis is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed thirteen women, then himself. But no one can say why. The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame... the truth seems to vanish.A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love, and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy.

Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Sceptre

Suicide Club

Rachel Heng
Authors:
Rachel Heng
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft

From the internationally bestselling author Mons Kallentoft comes a dark and thrilling new Mali Fors mystery. If you love Jo Nesbo and Samuel Bjork, you'll love Mons Kallentoft.Praise for the Malin Fors series:'One of the best-realised female heroines I've read by a male writer.' Guardian'Kallentoft's books have been called beautiful, exquisite and original. I can see why.' Literary Review'This is a worthy successor to Larsson's Millennium trilogy.' Booklist Starred ReviewIn the early hours of the morning, the naked body of a young man is discovered in a ditch next to Gota Kanal. The cause of death is mysterious; the body bears no visible traces of violence.The man is soon identified as Peder Akerlund, a former Swedish politician, excluded from his party for racism but since reformed. Then sixteen-year-old Nadja Lundin is reported missing, possibly abducted, the same evening, and there are signs that suggest the two cases might be connected.But what do the victims have in common? And why were they chosen? Gradually, Malin Fors realises that they are dealing with someone who is playing a game with them, who speaks through murders and who will not be silenced. What is he or she trying to say? Desperate to fine Nadja alive, the team race against the clock to find an answer before it's too late...

Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Winter

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING RICHARD & JUDY PICK AND KINDLE CHART-TOPPING SENSATION. MEET DS AECTOR MCAVOY, AND BEGIN DAVID MARK'S ADDICTIVE CRIME SERIES.DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justice has made him an outsider in the police force he serves, a good man among the lazy and corrupt. Then on a cold day in December he is the first cop on the scene when a young girl is killed in Hull's historic church - and the only one to see the murderer. A masked man, with tears in his eyes...When two more seemingly unconnected people die, the police must work quickly. Only McAvoy can see the connection between the victims. A killer is playing God - and McAvoy must find a way to stop the deadly game.Hooked on Hull? Then check out the second instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Original Skin...(P) 2013 Quercus Publishing PLC

Hodder Paperbacks

Original Skin

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder Paperbacks

Sorrow Bound

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder Paperbacks

Taking Pity

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Daughter

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Gwendy's Button Box

Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Mulholland Books

Cruel Mercy

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

Two men are taken into the woods. Forced to dig their own graves. But one of them survives the gunshot...The two men travelled from Ireland to America with another man, now missing, presumed guilty. His name is Valentine Teague. Petty criminal, bare-knuckle fighter - and DS Aector McAvoy's brother in law. Back home, Val's being held responsible for the blood spilt in the snowy woods of upstate New York. If McAvoy doesn't find out the truth, all hell will break loose, putting his own family in the crossfire. Investigating proves harder than he could have imagined. New York City is a different world, with different rules. Soon, he finds himself up against squabbling cops, mafias old and new, and the culmination of a crime forty years in the making. All McAvoy can do is the right thing. Even if it kills him...

Mulholland Books

Dead Pretty

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The latest stunning novel by bestselling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' Daily MailHannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means...DEAD PRETTY is the stunning new novel from one of Britain's most original crime writers.(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton