Lucy Daniels - Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage: a heartwarming, feel-good Christmas romance - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage: a heartwarming, feel-good Christmas romance

Book 2

By Lucy Daniels

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A heartwarming festive novel perfect for curling up in front of the fire this Christmas, for fans of Katie Fforde and Heidi Swain.

Christmas has arrived in the village of Welford. The scent of hot roasted chestnuts is in the air, and a layer of frost sparkles on the ground.

This year, vet Mandy Hope is looking forward to the holidays. Her animal rescue centre, Hope Meadows, is up and running - and she's finally going on a date with Jimmy Marsh, owner of the local outward bound centre.

The advent of winter sees all sorts of animals cross Mandy's path, from goats named Rudolph to baby donkeys - and even a pair of reindeer! But when a mysterious local starts causing trouble, Mandy's plans for the centre come under threat. She must call on Jimmy and her fellow villagers to put a stop to the stranger's antics and ensure that Hope Meadows' first Christmas is one to remember.

One thing's for certain: this Christmas, there'll be animal escapades, kisses under the mistletoe...and plenty of festive cheer for all.

Hope Meadows is based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Cathy Bramley.

**Praise for the Hope Meadows series**

'An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community' Bookworms and Shutterbugs

'Incredibly lovely' - Rachel's Random Reads

'Will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted' - Goodreads

'I had tears in my eyes at the first chapter' - Goodreads

'Full of charm' Amazon

Biographical Notes

Lucy Daniels is the collective name for the writing team that created the bestselling children's book series Animal Ark. Hope Meadows is a brand new Lucy Daniels series for adult readers, featuring the characters and locations that were so beloved in the original stories.

The first title in the series, Summer at Hope Meadows, has been written by a new author called Sarah McGurk, who has the twin advantages of being passionate about Animal Ark and a fully qualified vet! Sarah was inspired by James Herriot to become a veterinary surgeon some thirty years ago. A few years after qualification, she realised she wanted to follow him further, into the world of veterinary writing. She began with short stories, then longer works of fiction, related to her work in general practice and in emergency and critical care. Her special interests include anaesthesia and pain relief, and low-stress techniques in small animal handling.

Sarah currently lives in Norway. She has worked for two years in a local veterinary practice and speaks Norwegian fluently.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473653900
  • Publication date: 02 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
John Murray

Falling Short

Alexandra Coulton
Authors:
Alexandra Coulton

Pilgrim's father disappeared without trace when she was five.Now, her mother is slipping away, and she is starting to feel herself vanishing too.She needs to talk to somebody. Ideally, to Jackson: fellow teacher, confidante, dedicated hedonist, erstwhile best friend.Only they haven't spoken since what happened between them that night in the summer.And here she is, at thirty-bloody-nine, surrounded by school-girls, with their sugary perfume and flying pony-tails, breathless with money and freedom and the unmarked years ahead of them.And there is so much that is missing, so much that needs to be found . . .

Sceptre

Claudia

Anthony Trevelyan
Authors:
Anthony Trevelyan

When Samson Glaze - former wild-haired nomad, now head of a multi-million pound solar power corporation - turns up in Claudia Talwar's office in Manchester after fifteen years, she has to quash the impulse to jump into his arms. Unexpected father figure throughout her precarious childhood, he was the only friend she's ever known - only person she's ever loved. So when Samson asks her to help him find his son Reggie, Claudia agrees. But it turns out that Reggie has joined a group - a cult? - called Tarantula. And as Dia presses further into Tarantula's mazy interior, events take stranger and stranger turns, and it soon becomes clear that the web she finds herself in is being spun by sinister forces...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Identicals

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'The Queen of the Summer Novel' (People) The ultimate summertime reading for fans of Jane Green and Roisin Meaney.Nantucket is only two and a half hours away from Martha's Vineyard by ferry. But the two islands might as well be worlds apart for a set of identical twin sisters who have been at odds for years.Just because twins look exactly the same doesn't mean they're anything alike - and Tabitha and Harper Frost have spent their whole lives trying to prove this point. When a family crisis forces them to band together - or at least appear to - the twins come to realise that the special bond that they share is more important than the resentments that have driven them apart. A story of new loves, old battles, and a threat that gives a whole new meaning to the term sibling rivalry, The Identicals is Elin Hilderbrand at her page-turning best.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Hodder & Stoughton

Springtime at Wildacre

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn
Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft

The next dark mystery featuring the Linköping's best detective, Malin Fors, from the bestselling author Mons Kallentoft.In the early hours of the morning, the naked body of a young man is discovered in a ditch next to Go¨ta Kanal. The cause of death is mysterious; the body bears no visible traces of violence.The man is soon identified as Peder Akerlund, a former Swedish politician, excluded from his party for racism but since reformed. Then sixteen-year-old Nadja Lundin is reported missing, possibly abducted, the same evening, and there are signs that suggest the two cases might be connected.But what do the victims have in common? And why were they chosen? Gradually, Malin Fors realises that they are dealing with someone who is playing a game with them, who speaks through murders and who will not be silenced. What is he or she trying to say? Desperate to fine Nadja alive, the team race against the clock to find an answer before it's too late...Praise for the Malin Fors series:'One of the best-realised female heroines I've read by a male writer.' Guardian'Kallentoft's books have been called beautiful, exquisite and original. I can see why.' Literary Review'This is a worthy successor to Larsson's Millennium trilogy.' Booklist Starred Review

Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips
Hodder & Stoughton

One Kind Man

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

From the beloved and bestselling Anna Jacobs' comes the second novel in her new Lancashire-based saga.1931, Lancashire:When Finn Carlisle loses his wife and unborn child, he spends a few years travelling to keep the sad memories at bay. Just as he's ready to settle down again, his great-uncle dies and leaves everything to him. This includes Heythorpe House in Ellindale just down the road from Leah Willcox and her little fizzy drink factory.Finn finds a village of people in dire need of jobs, a house that hasn't been cleaned or lived in for thirty years and Reggie, an eleven-year-old who's run away from the nearby orphanage and its brutal Director Buddle. When Finn sees the marks left by regular beatings, he decides Reggie will never go back there.He can't turn away two hungry young women from the village seeking jobs as maids, either, and they too need help with their lives.But Buddle has other plans for the child, and will stop at nothing to get Reggie back in his cruel grasp. His new neighbours help him save Reggie but other surprises throw his new plans into turmoil.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

For readers of The Help and The Invention of Wings, a searing and sweeping debut novel that gives a new and unforgettable perspective on modern day domestic workers.Set in the blistering heat of Singapore, THE MAID'S ROOM follows the lives of two Filipina maids - sisters Dolly and Tala who are working hard to send money back home, and British ex-pat Jules who has left her job as a midwife to move to Singapore with husband David. Told with humour, heart-breaking detail about daily life as a maid, and with an exhilarating spirit that is ultimately uplifting, this book will resonate with anyone who has struggled to have their voice heard.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas on Nantucket

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley
Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Michael Stone was once a famous author. That was before he went to prison. Now, recently released, Michael needs a new beginning. Weighed down by failure and despair, the town of Silverbridge seems too offer him a quiet, rural escape from the past. Kind, gentle vicar John Wentworth takes Michael under his wing, and introduces him to his family and friends. At the vicarage, John's inexplicably discontented wife Daphne brings up their daughters. Bedridden Harriet, John's former nanny, deals impatiently with a world to which she cannot actively participate. At the family home, Belmaray, Aunt Maria is burdened by the worry of a failing estate. And at the grim little town school is fiery teacher Mary O'Hara, determined to foster change. A story of courage and community, set in the beautiful Devonshire countryside.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Way Back to Us

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

'This poignant page-turner felt vividly real, making me cry and - ultimately - filling me with hope.' (Katie Marsh, author of My Everything) Perfect for fans of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell.Since their youngest son, Teddy, was diagnosed with a life-defining illness, Anna has been fighting: against the friends who don't know how to help; against the team assigned to Teddy's care who constantly watch over Anna's parenting; and against the impulse to put Teddy above all else - including his older brother, the watchful, sensitive Isaac.And now Anna can't seem to stop fighting against her husband, the one person who should be able to understand, but who somehow manages to carry on when Anna feels like she is suffocating under the weight of all the things that Teddy will never be able to do.As Anna helplessly pushes Tom away, he can't help but feel the absence of the simple familiarity that should come so easily, and must face the question: is it worse to stay in an unhappy marriage, or leave?

Sceptre

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré