Sally Worboyes - Time Will Tell - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444719451
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2016

Time Will Tell

By Sally Worboyes

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A gripping family saga in which a pregnancy must be concealed at all costs - perfect for fans of Call the Midwife.

September 1953, London's East End. Edie Birch, who believes herself to be a war widow, has finally allowed herself to fall in love again.

Engaged to be married, she is happily planning her wedding day. But fate has a blow in store - her 15-year-old daughter, Maggie, is pregnant. A plan has been hatched to stop her daughter from falling from grace.

Hidden away above an Italian café in Islington until she is ready to give birth Maggie works long hours behind the scenes while her mother Edie feigns pregnancy. The charade works until the baby arrives and hard decisions are to be made.

Can Maggie return home and cope with the pretense of her own child being her brother? And will the truth out once Edie's first husband turns up to demand his rights as grandfather?

Biographical Notes

Sally Worboyes was born and grew up in Stepney with four brothers and a sister, and she brings some of the raw history of her own family background to her East End sagas. She now lives in Norfolk with her husband, with whom she has three grown-up children. She has written several plays which have been broadcast on Radio Four. She also adapted her own play and novel, Wild Hops, as a musical, The Hop Pickers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473653856
  • Publication date: 20 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Hodder & Stoughton

A Widow's Courage

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets of the Homefront Girls

Kate Thompson
Authors:
Kate Thompson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Middle Window

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Bored with the distractions of London, Judy Cameron insists on taking herself, her parents and her fiance to remote Glen Suilag in the Scottish Highlands. Leaving behind the busy whirl of the capital, she becomes absorbed in an unknown and yet strangely familiar world. As Judy explores the house and glen, secrets begin to unravel and questions arise that she must find the answers to. Why does the strange house feel so familiar? How does she know the laird, Ian Macdonald? Why does she feel so terrified of the middle window in the parlour? And who is the mysterious Judith who haunts her dreams?

Hodder & Stoughton

One Perfect Family

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

One Special Village

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

One Special Village . . . can make the world a better placeLancashire, 1932 Widower Harry Makepeace lives in Manchester with his sickly daughter Cathie, scrimping and saving to get by. But after she suffers a violent asthma attack, the doctors say she must move to the clean, fresh air of the countryside to have any hope of survival. When Harry chances upon a patch of land for sale in Ellindale, and an advert for a disused railway carriage that can be made into a home, he snaps both up quickly. Harry swiftly becomes part of the community in Ellindale, making friends with the locals, and soon finds himself attracted to Nina, another newcomer to the village. Finally, he's found somewhere he and Cathie can build a new home. But their problems are far from over. Times are hard in Ellindale - Harry is not the only one struggling to find work. Then there's his old boss, who will stop at nothing to punish him for daring to leave. And Harry's already made an enemy in Ellindale - someone who could make his life very difficult indeed . . .Praise for the Ellindale series'One of the most lovely and heartwarming books I have ever read! *****' - Between the Pages 'A book of family, love, friendship and loyalty. *****' - Stardust Book Reviews'I was gripped from the very first word on the very first page and I wasn't released until the last word on the last page . . . When I finished I felt like I had been through an emotional wringer. *****' - Ginger Book Geek

Hodder Paperbacks

Over Bethnal Green

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

At the Mile End Gate

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

Down Stepney Way

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

Red Sequins

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

Keep on Dancing

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

The Dinner Lady

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

A gripping family saga from Sally Worboyes, author of Wild Hops and Docker's Daughter.Years ago, Patsy Hemmingway gave her son up to his natural father Jack and his wife Laura because a baby didn't fit into her lifestyle. But now Jac is six years old and Patsy is on her own. Cunning and ruthless, she is laying plans to get her boy back . . .Jac is fiercely loved and protected by his parents, and by his half-sister, Kay. Blissfully unaware of Patsy's schemes, the Armstrongs have other concerns - such as Kay's marriage to the handsome, high-flying Steve and setting up home as lady of leisure. But Kay has the added distraction of Zacchi, her gypsy boyfriend from the past, igniting passions and turning her world upside down. Meanwhile, the warning signs about Jac go unnoticed - and it's going to take every bit of the Armstrong strength of character and resourcefulness to tackle the obstacles ahead . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Docker's Daughter

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

Wild Hops

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

An enthralling romantic saga and a vibrant tale of illicit love, firm friendships and the indomitable character of the East Enders.It is 1959 and the Armstrong family - Jack, Laura and their daughter, Kay - are setting off on their annual hop-picking holiday. Far from the bustle of Stepney, the Kent hop fields offer hard work but fresh clean air and lively social gatherings around the campfires. But picking by hand is becoming a thing of the past as mechanisation takes over.While Jack leads the protest against the machines, Laura is otherwise preoccupied: will this mean the end of her seasonal love affair with the farm owner? And what of Kay who, on the brink of womanhood, craves adventure and creates turmoil when she and the handsome gypsy lad, Zacchi, meet in secret?As tensions grow between the cockneys and the local Romanies, it becomes clear that this summer will change lives for ever . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Gifts For Our Time

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Miranda's Daily Dose of Such Fun!

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart
Hodder Paperbacks

Banished from Bow

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

A gripping romantic saga full of secrets and intrigue from the author of Time Will Tell and Jamaica Street.After being abandoned as a child in 19th-century London's East End, a ragged and terrified Harriet was eventually found and taken into Mary Dean's house in Bow. There it was decided she would be brought up as a sister to Mary and her younger brother Arthur. But seventeen years later, Harriet and Arthur have fallen in love, and Harriet is pregnant. Driven out of Bow by neighbours who spit at them, the pair are forced to seek refuge in Stepney where, for a time, they are happy. But it is not long before Harriet is forced to protect a dark secret once more. She has kept something she stole as a child: the diary of a criminal who committed terrible acts. Now the owner of the diary has returned to the East End in search of it, and will stop at nothing to get it back . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Room for a Lodger

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

A captivating romantic saga from Sally Worboyes, author of Banished from Bow and Jamaica Street.It is 1970 when 20-year-old Cathy falls in love with Johnny Dean, and becomes pregnant. A young docker, Johnny offers to marry Cathy - but what she doesn't know is that his gambling has got out of hand. He owes favours to the wrong sort and to clear his debt gets involved in a serious theft at the docks...Though Cathy is supported financially by Johnny's family, looking after a baby as a single mother isn't easy, and she's beginning to get lonely. When she meets a handsome young antiques dealer, friendship might not be enough for either of them. But will she be able to stop Johnny finding out?

Hodder Paperbacks

Down by Tobacco Dock

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

A historical East End saga that will enthrall readers, from the bestselling author of Whitechapel Mary and Over Bethnal Green.In 1876, the homes of the poor working class in the East End are being replaced by splendid houses for the rich. When Kelly's Yard comes under threat, Maria Bertram inspires her neighbours to rebel against eviction. But when a woman is found murdered in Tobacco Dock and the young man Maria loves is arrested, she must do everything in her power to prove his innocence and save him from a public hanging. Without realising it, she puts her own life at risk when she stumbles across a web of deceit in the planner's office. It seems the murderer is much closer to home than she thinks...

Hodder Paperbacks

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

The second instalment in the best-selling Rivenshaw series, by beloved saga author Anna Jacobs. In the wake of World War Two, the whole country is desperate for houses, with very little money available to rebuild. In the town of Rivenshaw in Lancashire, Mayne Esher has no choice but to turn Esherwood, the war-damaged stately home which has been in his family for generations, into flats. Rebuilding Esherwood won't be easy but with Judith Crossley by his side, Mayne hopes to restore it to its former glory. First, he must open it up to some of his long-suffering army friends... and it soon becomes clear that the house isn't the only thing which needs rebuilding.Victor is fighting his late wife's rich and arrogant mother for custody of his daughter Betty. Ros has been cheated out of her money and has nowhere to go now she's been demobbed from the army. Daniel is still unsettled after his wartime experiences. He's waiting for his divorce to go through and has family problems that take him away from Rivenshaw. Francis hasn't even been in touch. On top of these troubles, saving Esherwood proves to be a difficult undertaking for Mayne and Judith. And certain people will stop at nothing to prevent it happening. In this time of renewal, will the group find a way to rebuild their lives, and the old house, as planned?A heartwarming saga of strong-spirited, resilient women in post-war Lancashire.

Coronet

Where Sparrows Nest

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

In 1952 Eastenders are leaving their war-damaged homes and being settled into new places by the river - a new estate, with the luxury of electricity, hot water, gas cookers and proper bathrooms. Into the estate moves Edie Brown, a young war widow with a thirteen-year-old daughter, who works as a machinist in a clothing factory to eke out her small war pension.During one lunch break at the factory Edie discovers from a friend that her husband's cousin is coming from Turkey to stay with her until he finds a room to rent. He is coming from a small village in Kara - the very mention of which makes Edie's blood run cold. Kara was where her husband's boat crashed against the mountainous shoreline while searching for a missing British plane. All those aboard were listed as missing and presumed dead, drowned at sea.But the Turkish cousin will have a different story to tell...