Sally Worboyes - Room for a Lodger - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £0.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340735022
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2006
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473657410
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2016

Room for a Lodger

By Sally Worboyes

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Friendship alone might not be enough for the heroine in this enthralling East End saga from the bestselling author of Whitechapel Mary and Over Bethnal Green.

A captivating romantic saga from Sally Worboyes, author of Banished from Bow and Jamaica Street.

It is 1970 when 20-year-old Cathy falls in love with Johnny Dean, and becomes pregnant. A young docker, Johnny offers to marry Cathy - but what she doesn't know is that his gambling has got out of hand. He owes favours to the wrong sort and to clear his debt gets involved in a serious theft at the docks...

Though Cathy is supported financially by Johnny's family, looking after a baby as a single mother isn't easy, and she's beginning to get lonely. When she meets a handsome young antiques dealer, friendship might not be enough for either of them. But will she be able to stop Johnny finding out?

Biographical Notes

Sally Worboyes was born and grew up in Stepney with four brothers and a sister, and she brings some of the raw history of her own family background to her East End sagas. She now lives in Norfolk with her husband, with whom she has three grown-up children. She has written several plays which have been broadcast on Radio Four. She also adapted her own play and novel, Wild Hops, as a musical, The Hop Pickers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473653825
  • Publication date: 20 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Hodder & Stoughton

One Perfect Family

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

One Special Village

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Wildfire at Midnight

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on an unforgettable ride across the Isle of Skye in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. Following a heart-breaking divorce, Gianetta retreats to the Isle of Skye hoping to find tranquillity in the island's savage beauty. But shortly before her arrival a girl's body is found on the craggy slopes of the looming Blue Mountain, and with the murderer still on the loose, there's nothing to stop him from setting his sights on Gianetta next . . .One arrogant wing of rock thrust itself across the sun, flinging a diagonal shadow over the bay. My eye was drawn to the great lonely bulk of the mountain in the east, stooping over the valley like a hawk. Blaven. The Blue Mountain.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Hodder & Stoughton

China

Edward Rutherfurd
Authors:
Edward Rutherfurd

Edward Rutherfurd, the internationally bestselling author of Sarum, London, New York and PARIS, turns his pen to the bustling modern behemoth that is China - a country full to the brim with a deep, beautiful and sometimes violent heritage.Set from the 1800s onwards, Rutherfurd's beautiful novel explores the modern history of China with all the signature authenticity and interlacing personal stories that make him one of the most beloved authors of our time.

Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre: love is in the air in this gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

One Kind Man

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage: a magical, feel-good Christmas romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Two Roads

The Railwayman's Wife

Ashley Hay
Authors:
Ashley Hay

'So poised and beautiful ... She can't write a bad sentence' Guardian'Melancholic, but in the best possible way' Lady'Exquisitely written and deeply felt ... a true book of wonders' Geraldine Brooks 'A lovely, absorbing, and uplifting read.' M.L. Stedman'overflows with gratitude for the hard, beautiful things of this world' Helen GarnerIn 1948 in a small town on the land's edge, in the strange space at a war's end, a widow, a poet and a doctor each try to find their own peace, and their own new story.Anikka Lachlan has all she ever wanted--until a random act transforms her into another post-war widow, destined to raise her daughter on her own. Awash in grief, she looks for answers in the pages of her favourite books and tries to learn the most difficult lesson of all: how to go on living.A local poet, Roy McKinnon, who found poetry in the mess of war, has lost his words and his hope. His childhood friend Dr. Frank Draper also seeks to reclaim his pre-war life but is haunted by his failure to help those who needed him most--the survivors of the Nazi concentration camps.Then one day, on the mantle of her sitting room, Ani finds a poem. She knows neither where it came from, nor who its author is. But she has her suspicions. An unexpected and poignant love triangle emerges, between Ani, the poem, and the poet--whoever he may be.Written in clear, shining prose, The Railwayman's Wife explores the power of beginnings and endings - and how difficult it can be to tell them apart. It is an exploration of life, tragedy, and joy, of connection and separation, longing and acceptance, and an unadulterated celebration of love.

Hodder Paperbacks

Red Sequins

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

Keep on Dancing

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

A dramatic family saga set in the East End of 1958, with a spirited heroine determined to fulfill her dreams of becoming a dancer - and put her brother's killers away for good. Rosie Curtis is distraught when her brother Tommy is viciously murdered after dabbling in the criminal underworld. Life at home won't be the same again and without Tommy's support, her dreams of becoming a dancer are shattered. Powerless to avenge her brother's death, Rosie throws herself into saving a local music hall from closure and planning a musical spectacular, despite the misgivings of her family.But then Rosie comes face to face with her brother's killer, and she decides she will stop at nothing to see the criminals punished. While she fights to stage her show and put Tommy's killers away for good, her brother's smiling face appears in her thoughts, telling her to keep on dancing . . . Can she find the strength without him?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Dinner Lady

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

A gripping family saga from Sally Worboyes, author of Wild Hops and Docker's Daughter.Years ago, Patsy Hemmingway gave her son up to his natural father Jack and his wife Laura because a baby didn't fit into her lifestyle. But now Jac is six years old and Patsy is on her own. Cunning and ruthless, she is laying plans to get her boy back . . .Jac is fiercely loved and protected by his parents, and by his half-sister, Kay. Blissfully unaware of Patsy's schemes, the Armstrongs have other concerns - such as Kay's marriage to the handsome, high-flying Steve and setting up home as lady of leisure. But Kay has the added distraction of Zacchi, her gypsy boyfriend from the past, igniting passions and turning her world upside down. Meanwhile, the warning signs about Jac go unnoticed - and it's going to take every bit of the Armstrong strength of character and resourcefulness to tackle the obstacles ahead . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Over Bethnal Green

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

At the Mile End Gate

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

The Second World War is over and the troops are coming home in this compelling family saga - but so much has changed . . . The war is over and the soldiers are coming back to the bomb-ravaged East End. Tom Smith is one of the thousands who are returning home. It's been an eventful war, what with a spell of desertion, and Tom can't wait to see his wife Jessie, their son Billy and the new baby daughter he hasn't even laid eyes on.But life back home wasn't easy either, especially when Jessie's army pension was stopped. So when she was told to put Emma-Rose into a home for her own good, she thought it was best. But how will Tom take the news? There is worse to come, when Tom learns that Jessie's old boyfriend has been helping her during the war.A compelling family saga set in the aftermath of the Second World War, from the author of Time Will Tell and Where Sparrows Nest.

Hodder Paperbacks

Down Stepney Way

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

In the turbulent East End of London in the thirties, Jessie Warner is growing up . . . Blackshirts are marching through the streets of Stepney and the Jewish community is under threat of violence. In the midst of this, Jessie discovers a family secret and turns to her mother for answers, but Rose is reluctant to reveal the past - for there is something that Jessie must never know.In Bethnal Green, Hannah Blake is being forced by her cold-hearted mother to join the Blackshirts, despite her deep misgivings. Next-door neighbour Emmie knows of the darkness surrounding Hannah's wretched past, but is bound by a vow of silence not to reveal it. And meanwhile, Emmie's son Tom, chipper and handsome, has just fallen for a blonde girl he wants to bring home to meet Emmie and Hannah. Her name is Jessie Warner...A romantic saga full of life and set against a dramatic backdrop, from the author of At the Mile End Gate and Over Bethnal Green.

Hodder Paperbacks

Docker's Daughter

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

Wild Hops

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

An enthralling romantic saga and a vibrant tale of illicit love, firm friendships and the indomitable character of the East Enders.It is 1959 and the Armstrong family - Jack, Laura and their daughter, Kay - are setting off on their annual hop-picking holiday. Far from the bustle of Stepney, the Kent hop fields offer hard work but fresh clean air and lively social gatherings around the campfires. But picking by hand is becoming a thing of the past as mechanisation takes over.While Jack leads the protest against the machines, Laura is otherwise preoccupied: will this mean the end of her seasonal love affair with the farm owner? And what of Kay who, on the brink of womanhood, craves adventure and creates turmoil when she and the handsome gypsy lad, Zacchi, meet in secret?As tensions grow between the cockneys and the local Romanies, it becomes clear that this summer will change lives for ever . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Gifts For Our Time

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

One Quiet Woman

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Time Will Tell

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Coronet

Where Sparrows Nest

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

In 1952 Eastenders are leaving their war-damaged homes and being settled into new places by the river - a new estate, with the luxury of electricity, hot water, gas cookers and proper bathrooms. Into the estate moves Edie Brown, a young war widow with a thirteen-year-old daughter, who works as a machinist in a clothing factory to eke out her small war pension.During one lunch break at the factory Edie discovers from a friend that her husband's cousin is coming from Turkey to stay with her until he finds a room to rent. He is coming from a small village in Kara - the very mention of which makes Edie's blood run cold. Kara was where her husband's boat crashed against the mountainous shoreline while searching for a missing British plane. All those aboard were listed as missing and presumed dead, drowned at sea.But the Turkish cousin will have a different story to tell...