Jessie Greengrass - Sight - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473652378
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

Sight

By Jessie Greengrass

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The extraordinary first novel from the author of the prize-winning An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to One Who Saw It

It seemed, at times, an act of profound selfishness, to have a child so that I might become a parent; but selfish, too, to have a child and stay the same, or not to have one - unless the only honest choice would have been to try to become this kinder version of myself without the need to bring another into it . . .

Sight is about X-rays, psychoanalysis, and the origins of modern surgery. It is about being a parent, and being a child. Fiercely intelligent, brilliantly written and suffused with something close to forgiveness, it is a novel about how we see others and how we imagine ourselves.

Biographical Notes

Jessie Greengrass was born in 1982. She studied philosophy in Cambridge and London, where she now lives with her partner and child. An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to One Who Saw It won the Edge Hill Prize 2016 and she was shortlisted for the PFD/Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year. Sight is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473652385
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
Hodder & Stoughton

How Do You Like Me Now?

Holly Bourne
Authors:
Holly Bourne

'Turning thirty is like playing musical chairs. The music stops, and everyone just marries whoever they happen to be sitting on.'The blisteringly funny, honest and fearless debut adult novel from bestselling author Holly Bourne.Who the f*ck is Tori Bailey?There's no doubt that Tori is winning the game of life. A straight-talking, bestselling author, she's inspired millions of women around the world with her self-help memoir. And she has the perfect relationship to boot.But Tori Bailey has been living a lie.Her long-term boyfriend won't even talk about marriage, but everyone around her is getting engaged and having babies. And when her best friend Dee - the only person who understands the madness - falls in love, suddenly Tori's in danger of being left behind.When the world tells you to be one thing and turning thirty brings with it a loud ticking clock, it takes courage to walk your own path.It's time for Tori to practice what she's preached, but the question is: is she brave enough? The debut adult novel by bestselling author Holly Bourne is a blisteringly funny and honest exploration of love, friendship and navigating the emotional rollercoaster of your thirties.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The School at the Top of the Dale

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn

The first novel in a delightful new series from bestselling author Gervase PhinnNewly qualified teacher Tom Dwyer has been given his first post in Risingdale, a sleepy little village at the very top of the Yorkshire Dales. Unsure if he'll ever fit into this close-knit community, Tom joins a motley staff at the village school. With pupils who know more about sheep than they do arithmetic, Tom has his work cut out for him. Add to that an altercation with the beautiful but stand-offish Miss Janette Fairborn and an argument with the local squire's son, and Tom's first term proves a baptism of fire. But Tom soon finds himself growing fond of Risingdale, and with a class of lively and demanding pupils, an end-of-term show to put on, and a jewellery thief at large, he will find himself at the centre of drama, secrets revealed, and plenty of love, laughter and new friendships. Full of colourful characters, and laugh-out-loud moments, The School at the Top of the Dale is a warm and humorous portrayal of life in a small Yorkshire village.

Sceptre

The Last of the Greenwoods

Clare Morrall
Authors:
Clare Morrall
Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn

Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell
Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: a wonderfully funny, feel-good novel about friendship and love

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERSOON TO BE A MAJOR FILM PRODUCED BY JULIA ROBERTSNothing is as permanent as it appears...Denver, 1962Kitty Miller has come to terms with her unconventional single life. She loves the bookshop she runs with her best friend, Frieda, and enjoys complete control over her day-to-day existence.Then the dreams begin.Denver, 1963Katharyn Andersson is married to Lars, the love of her life. They have beautiful children, an elegant home, and good friends. It's everything Kitty Miller once believed she wanted - but it only exists when she sleeps. Convinced that these dreams are simply due to her overactive imagination, Kitty enjoys her nighttime forays into this alternate world.But with each visit, the more irresistibly real Katharyn's life becomes.Can she choose which life she wants? If so, what is the cost of staying Kitty, or becoming Katharyn?A hauntingly powerful novel that freshly considers the timeless question - 'What if?'

Hodder & Stoughton

Cold Feet: The Lost Years

Carmel Harrington
Authors:
Carmel Harrington

All the love. All the drama. All you missed. HILARIOUS AND HEARTBREAKING OFFICIAL NOVEL FROM THE HIT TV SERIES.Reeling from the sudden death of Rachel, his beloved wife, Adam has no time to grieve. He has to keep going, for the sake of their baby son. Jenny moves back in with ex-husband Pete, eight and a half months pregnant with another man's child. Can their relationship overcome past jealousies? Karen and David agree to an amicable divorce - but that's before he sleeps with the divorce lawyer . . .THE LOST YEARS reveals what happened to your favourite characters between series five and six of the award-winning TV series written by Mike Bullen. It's an irresistible chance to catch up on all the laughter, the tears, the life lessons we missed while they were gone.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy Book Club thriller 2017

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards
Hodder Paperbacks

This Beautiful Life: the emotional, uplifting new novel from the #1 bestseller

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh

'An emotional rollercoaster of a read... profoundly touching and moving' - Veronica Henry. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Jodi Picoult. Can you ever truly say goodbye to the past?Abi has been given the second chance she never expected, and now she's trying to get her life - and her family - back on track after facing the worst. But it's hard to trust in happiness again, and reconnecting with her husband John proves more challenging than she thought. Can you really go back to 'normal' after thinking you're going to lose one another? With Abi's son Seb struggling with a secret of his own, the three of them are in danger of falling apart just when they need each other most. But how do you pick up the pieces of a family still suffering emotional shockwaves? And can Abi bring the people she loves most in the world back together again... before it's too late? *****What readers are saying about This Beautiful Life**'Stunning, filled with emotion...one of my favourite books of 2017!' - Off the Shelf Books'A breathtaking read that will break your heart' 'A beautiful, soaring story...highly, HIGHLY recommended!''I loved every word.. a wonderful, wonderful book''Heartbreaking, real and unforgettable - the characters feel like friends or close family' 'Honest and powerful' 'Will stay in my mind for a long time to come. This author has really touched my heart''I devoured every page; an utter delight''SUCH a powerful story!'

Sceptre

Crimes of the Father

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally
Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect feel-good summer read!

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

These Dividing Walls

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper
Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth: An 'astonishing debut novel'

Lindsey Lee Johnson
Authors:
Lindsey Lee Johnson

'It's impossible to put down, or to forget.' - Megan Abbott'You might not think that anyone in this School sees you but I do. I mean sees you really.' Aged thirteen, Tristan Bloch writes a love note to Calista Broderick. He thinks she is perfect. He wants to talk to her. He thinks he loves her. He could help her with her algebra homework. In her embarrassment, Cally shares the note with her best friend, Abigail, who insists Cally shows it to her boyfriend Ryan, who posts it on Facebook: and then everyone sees it... Four years on, Tristan's classmates are seventeen. These wealthy, privileged teenagers are partying and falling in love, should be the happiest on earth. But the guilt of what happened to Tristan follows them all... For fans of Friday Night Lights and The Bling Ring, The Most Dangerous Place on Earth is smart, compelling and eye opening. 'A phenomenal first book.' Anthony Doerr, New York times bestselling author of All the Light We Cannot See

Hodder & Stoughton

Winter Storms

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Gather under the mistletoe for one last round of carolling with the Quinn family in this heartwarming conclusion to Elin Hilderbrand's bestselling Winter Street Trilogy.Some of the stormy weather of the past few seasons seems to have finally lifted for the Quinns. Kevin is about to tie the knot with Isabelle, and there's hopeful news about Bart, who has been captured by enemy forces in Afghanistan.That doesn't mean there aren't a few dark clouds on the horizon as the family juggle health scares and love triangles. But if there's one holiday that brings the Quinn family together, it's Christmas. And this year promises to be a celebration unlike any other as they prepare to host Kevin and Isabelle's wedding at the inn.But as the special day approaches, a historic once-in-a-century blizzard bears down on Nantucket, threatening to keep the Quinns away from the place - and the people - they love most. Before the snow clears, the Quinns will have to survive enough upheavals to send anyone running for the spiked eggnog, in this touching novel that proves that when the holidays roll around, you can always go home again.

Hodder & Stoughton

Bertie's Gift: the perfect feel-good read!

Hannah Coates
Authors:
Hannah Coates

This is the inspirational story of how one cheeky little dog, his sister and two grumpy cats save a family.'If you love animals, you will adore this gorgeous book' - MILLY JOHNSON'Charming, touching - an absolute gift of a book!' - KATIE FFORDE'The perfect feel-good read!' - MANDY BAGGOTBertie is alone, devastated after his beloved sister and fellow beagle Molly is adopted, leaving him behind. When Bertie is taken in by the Green family, it seems he's finally found a place to call home...Yet Bertie swiftly realises that the kind and loving Green family is in crisis. After a tragedy two years ago, they've never recovered, and with Christmas approaching, grief is pulling them apart. Never has a four-legged friend been more in need - and brave, warm-hearted Bertie must rise to the challenge. Can he enlist the help of hostile felines Kitty and Rico to help him find Molly - and can he bring the Green family back together again, all in time for Christmas?

Hodder & Stoughton

Night of Cake and Puppets

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Teach Yourself

Freud - The Key Ideas

Ruth Snowden
Authors:
Ruth Snowden