Benjamin Percy - The Dark Net - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473652224
    • Publication date:03 Aug 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473652231
    • Publication date:03 May 2018

The Dark Net

By Benjamin Percy

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

The terrifying new horror novel by the bestselling author Benjamin Percy.

The dark net is an online shadowland for criminals to operate anonymously, but when a demonic force begins to hack the minds of its users there is nowhere left to hide.

Twelve-year-old Hannah has been fitted with a high-tech prosthetic that restores her sight, but can't understand why she can now see shadows surrounding certain people.

Lela, an emotionally shut-off, technophobic journalist stumbles onto a story nobody wants her to uncover. A story someone will kill to keep hidden.

A former evangelist, Mike, suffers demons - figurative and literal - and keeps an arsenal of weapons stored in the basement of the homeless shelter he runs.

And Derek, is a hacker who believes himself a soldier, part of a cyber army dedicated to changing the world for the better.

With the virus spreading throughout the net and an ancient evil threatening to break lose on the real world, it falls to these strangers to stop the rising darkness.

THE DARK NET is a cracked-mirror version of the digital nightmare we already live in, a timely and wildly imaginative techno-thriller about the evil that lurks in real and virtual spaces, and the power of a united few to fight back.

Biographical Notes

Benjamin Percy is the award-winning author of the novel, The Wilding (forthcoming from Graywolf, September 28, 2010), as well as two books of short stories, Refresh, Refresh (Graywolf, 2007) and The Language of Elk (Carnegie Mellon, 2006). Publishers Weekly gave The Wilding a starred review, saying "Percy's excellent debut novel...digs into the ambiguous American attitude toward nature as it oscillates between Thoreau's romantic appreciation and sheer gothic horror... It's as close as you can get to a contemporary Deliverance."

Percy's honors include a Whiting Writers Award, the Plimpton Prize, the Pushcart Prize, and inclusion in Best American Short Stories. His fiction and nonfiction appear in Esquire (where he is a regular contributor), Outside, Men's Journal, the Paris Review, Orion, Tin House, Ploughshares, Glimmer Train, and many other magazines and journals. He teaches in the MFA program at Iowa State and can be found online at benjaminpercy.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473652217
  • Publication date: 03 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Written in vivid, often lyrical prose, but with exhilarating comic-book energy, THE DARK NET is a megawatt defibrillator to the reader's heart. Quirky but very human characters confront an explosive emergence of the supernatural into our world, in this imaginative, spooky, swiftly paced tale threaded through with dark humor. — Dean Koontz
THE DARK NET kicked my ass with its deft mash-up of both blackhat hacker culture and black magic. Percy reveals an upgraded, rebooted battle between good versus evil - a fast, fantastic, throat-punch of a read. — Chuck Wendig, NYT bestselling author of Blackbirds and Zer0es
Benjamin Percy's THE DARK NET channels the spirit of your favorite sprawling and epic, 1980's horror/thriller novels into a tightly paced, nasty, unrelenting 21st century nightmare. An addictive and frightening read. — Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and Disappearance at Devil's Rock
Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper
Hodder & Stoughton

Missing Person

Sarah Lotz
Authors:
Sarah Lotz

They are a group of misfits who go online for fun. Their hobby is giving names to the missing dead. But a killer is online with them, and his game is in deadly earnest . . .Shaun Ryan's brother, Teddy, died in 1989. Only he didn't. Looking through his grievously ill mother's personal effects, Shaun finds a postcard that Teddy posted from New York, dated October 22nd 1990. And in his mother's family Bible is a picture of an adult Teddy. Could Teddy somehow be alive? And how do you find someone who has never been declared missing and who vanished nearly thirty years ago?Missing-linc.com are an oddball assortment of geeks and obsessives whose macabre hobby is matching unidentified bodies with missing people. Ellie Caines' first and biggest case was The Boy in the Dress, a corpse found not ten miles from where she lived in Minnesota, two years after Teddy's postcard. Her obsession nearly broke her marriage and she left the group - but when the Ryan's enquiry is passed onto her she knows they have likely matched the missing Teddy with that decades-old corpse. And that she will be sucked back into the old nightmare, where the dead are more real than the living.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Mulholland Books

Make Them Sorry

Sam Hawken
Authors:
Sam Hawken

Camaro Espinoza is 'the deadliest female protagonist since Jon Land's Caitlin Strong and Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander' (Booklist).Camaro doesn't particularly want to get involved with other people's lives, other people's problems. But she can tell that the woman in her gym is looking for help. And when she learns that Faith has a stalker, she agrees to give her a few defense lessons. She's not expecting the stalker to become so violent so quickly. Or to have been hired by someone. Faith, it seems, has made some serious enemies... and now they're going after Camaro too. They're about to find out that that was a mistake.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Moscow Deception

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder Paperbacks

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Hodder & Stoughton

Never Go There: a gripping psychological thriller with a twist that'll shock you to the core

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

What if you found out that you'd been married to a stranger? 'Never go there, Nuala. Please, never go there.'Nuala knows nothing of her husband James's past. He made her swear that she would never contact his family and never, EVER visit the place he was from.But now James is dead, and Nuala is alone. Grieving and desperate, she decides to ignore his warning.Nuala is about to find out that some secrets are better left buried - and that uncovering the truth about the man she married will have terrible consequences...Compulsive, disturbing and utterly addictive, NEVER GO THERE is a thrilling psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Louise Jensen and Jenny Blackhurst.

Hodder & Stoughton

Burnt

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

A Damned Serious Business

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
John Murray

Devil's Day

Andrew Michael Hurley
Authors:
Andrew Michael Hurley
Hodder Paperbacks

The White Witch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Mulholland Books

Revolver

Duane Swierczynski
Authors:
Duane Swierczynski

Three generations - torn apart by one bullet. Philadelphia 1965: Two street cops - one black, one white - are gunned down in a robbery gone wrong. The killer is never prosecuted. One of the fallen officers, Stanislaw Walczak, leaves behind a twelve-year-old boy, Jimmy... Philadelphia 1995: Homicide detective Jim Walczak learns that his father's alleged killer, Terrill Lee Stanton, is out of prison. Walczak will be waiting, determined to squeeze the truth out of him - any way he can. Philadelphia 2015: Jim Walczak's daughter Audrey, studying forensic science in grad school, reinvestigates her grandfather's murder for her dissertation. But the deeper Audrey digs, the more she realises: the man everyone thinks killed Walczak didn't do it...And when the truth comes out, the danger's only going to grow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Luce

L R Fredericks
Authors:
L R Fredericks

My obsession begins in the magical year 1967, at Luce and the Photons' legendary last secret gig. That night changes my life: I must know who Luce is. But the deeper I dig, the more questions I turn up. Is Luce a rock star or a pretender? An artist or an acid trip?My redemption . . . or my delusion?Drawn into the machinations of mysterious powers, I become the dark shadow who follows the light of Luce. But who follows me? Are they agents of evil or figments of my imagination? And do they follow me still?The quest for Luce will lead me to the farthest corners of the earth and into the deadliest danger. I will lose everything and everyone I love . . . except for Luce.Who is pawn and who is player? Murderer or victim? Betrayer or saviour?I am the only one who knows the truth.This is the truth.This is The Book of Luce.

Sceptre

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré
Hodder & Stoughton

Light Touch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The 14th thriller in the Spider Shepherd series promises even more unputdownable action from The Sunday Times bestseller Stephen Leather.Working undercover is all about trust - getting the target to trust you and then betraying them in order to bring them to justice.But what do you do when you believe an undercover cop has crossed the line and aligned herself with the international drugs smuggler she was supposed to be targeting?When a deep-undercover cop stops passing on intelligence about her target, MI5 sends in Dan 'Spider' Shepherd to check that she is on the straight and narrow.Now two lives are on the line - and Shepherd discovers that the real danger is closer to home than he realised.As Spider finds his loyalties being tested to the limit, an SAS killer is on a revenge mission in London and only Spider can stop him.'[Leather] has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real' Daily Mail'Let Spider draw you into his web, you won't regret it' - Sun(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Dead

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

Trust No One

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Anyone who likes their crime fiction on the black and bloody side should move Paul Cleave straight to the top of their must-read list' Mark BillinghamThe brand new psychological thriller from the author of The Cleaner and Joe Victim. Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and Ian Rankin.His novels tell of brutal murders and bad people. Was it just his imagination? Jerry Grey is better known as crime writer Henry Cutter - whose twelve books kept readers gripped for over a decade. Now he's been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's, and his writing life has ended. But the stories haven't. As his control loosens, Jerry confesses his worst secret: the books are real. He remembers committing the crimes.His friends, family and carers say it's all his head. He's just confused. If that's true, then why are so many bad things happening? Why are people dying?

Hodder & Stoughton

Takedown

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather