Lisa McInerney - The Blood Miracles - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444798920
    • Publication date:01 Feb 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444798913
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017

The Blood Miracles

By Lisa McInerney
Read by Shelley Atkinson

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The second novel from the author of the Baileys Prize-winning The Glorious Heresies

The second novel from the author of the Baileys Prize-winning The Glorious Heresies.

Like all twenty-year-olds, Ryan Cusack is trying to get his head around who he is. This is not a good time for his boss to exploit his dual heritage by opening a new black market route from Italy to Ireland. It is certainly not a good time for his adored girlfriend to decide he's irreparably corrupted. And he really wishes he hadn't accidentally caught the eye of an ornery grandmother who fancies herself his saviour.

There may be a way clear of the chaos in the business proposals of music promoter Colm and in the attention of the charming, impulsive Natalie. But now that his boss's ambitions have rattled the city, Ryan is about to find out what he's made of, and it might be that chaos is in his blood.

(P)2017 John Murray Press

Biographical Notes

Lisa McInerney's work has featured in Winter Papers, Stinging Fly, Granta and on BBC Radio 4, and in the anthologies Beyond The Centre, The Long Gaze Back and Town and Country. Her debut novel, The Glorious Heresies, won the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2016 and the Desmond Elliott Prize. Her second novel, The Blood Miracles, was published by John Murray in April 2017.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473651968
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
The narration is brisk and slick, the dialogue fizzing with acerbic wisecracking — Literary Review
Lisa Mcinerney is a writer busily combining the traditions of hardcore Irish crime writing with the kind of fast-talking foul-mouthed wit and gentle good humour that readers will recall from the work of Roddy Doyle, and producing popular state-of-the-nation novels as a consequence — Times Literary Supplement
If you like Trainspotting, Peaky Blinders, Guy Ritchie and Quentin Tarantino then this is a rackety, kinetic, hold-your-attention-at-gunpoint book — The Times
An addictive read — Guardian
Trainspotting meets Goodfellas . . . McInerney writes with delicious irreverence and her fiction in this book has a fast, filmic quality — Evening Standard
McInerney writes with enviable verve, swagger and humour — Mail on Sunday
Delectable and vigorously entertaining — Irish Independent
Lively, entertaining, salty and funny — Irish Examiner
Vivid, compelling and moving — Observer
The plot's a slippery snake of dodgy deals and deadly double crosses, with a series of handbrake turns at the end. It's standard gangster stuff, spiked into originality by the chemical kick of McInerney's prose — The Spectator
A hard-edged, gritty novel with terrific tempo and good characterisation . . . McInerney is a pacy storyteller at the top of her game — Daily Express
Lisa McInerney is a preposterously gifted writer, Amis-like, almost Shakespearean, in her ability to riff, refresh and amuse — New Statesman
An exuberant noirish romp that also speaks of the sad fallout of a loveless childhood — Financial Times
This summer I can wholeheartedly recommend Lisa McInerney's novel The Blood Miracles, the devastatingly brilliant follow-up to her prize-winning debut The Glorious Heresies. In my inexpert opinion, McInerney's hero Ryan Cusack is quickly becoming one of Irish fiction's iconic protagonists — Sally Rooney, Irish Times
An exuberant noirish romp that also speaks of a loveless childhood — Financial Times, Books of the Year
Hodder Paperbacks

The Scarlet Nightingale

Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh
Hodder & Stoughton

A Spark of Light

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder & Stoughton

Muse of Nightmares

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Yellow Kite

End the Struggle and Dance With Life

Susan Jeffers
Authors:
Susan Jeffers

From the author of the bestselling classic FEEL THE FEAR AND DO IT ANYWAY comes inspirational advice to heal the spirit and lift the weight of the world, now in unabridged audio download.Dr Susan Jeffers, whose previous books have touched millions throughout the world, provides the tools and concepts that show us how to feel calmer, more in control, and more excited about life. With wisdom, humour and clarity, she opens our eyes to what pulls us down and what lifts us up. This is an invaluable source of insight and practical guidance that inspires us to create a life filled with peace and joy.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Two Roads

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dark Net

Benjamin Percy
Authors:
Benjamin Percy
Hodder & Stoughton

The Blue Bedroom

Rosamunde Pilcher
Authors:
Rosamunde Pilcher

Escape into Rosamunde Pilcher's world and meet characters who will become instant friends. The big bedroom was lovely: all pale blue and white, satin and muslin, cool and airy, the windows looking out over the garden to the creek. But to fourteen-year-old Emily, beautiful though it was, it was all wrong. Her stepmother's bedroom now: everything changed since her own mother had died.And stretched out on the bed: Stephanie, very white and pained. The new baby on its way, a month early. All of a sudden, with her father away on business, Emily had to take charge, keep calm, ring for the doctor and the ambulance. The time for looking back had gone.The Blue Bedroom is just one of Rosamunde Pilcher's magical collections of stories. Stories that will enchant everyone who has read and loved The Shell Seekers.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Snow in April

Rosamunde Pilcher
Authors:
Rosamunde Pilcher
Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

'Women's fiction at its finest' - Liane Moriarty, Number One New York Times bestselling author'Perfect for fans of BIG LITTLE LIES' - Library Journal How much do we really know our neighbours?The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.A gripping domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty (TRULY MADLY GUILTY, THE HUSBAND'S SECRET), Amanda Prowse (THE ART OF HIDING, THE IDEA OF YOU) and Kerry Fisher (AFTER THE LIE, THE SECRET CHILD).

Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Sceptre

Evening Primrose: a heart-wrenching novel for our times

Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa
Hodder & Stoughton

The Heart of the Family

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

The third in the classic family saga about the Eliots of Damerosehay.Despite the success and acclaim he has found as an actor, David Eliot struggles with the demands of his career. His brittle conversation and seeming arrogance earn him the dislike of his new secretary, Sebastian Weber.But when Sebastian visits David's family home, he discovers a different side to his employer. As Damerosehay and its inhabitants weave their magic, Sebastian slowly begins to lay his own demons to rest.

Hodder & Stoughton

Gwendy's Button Box

Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Chizmar

'A resonant novella set in one of King's signature locales: the small town of Castle Rock, Maine' Washington PostThe small town of CASTLE ROCK, MAINE has witnessed some strange events and unusual visitors over the years, but there is one story that has never been told...until now.There are three ways up to Castle View from the town of Castle Rock: Route 117, Pleasant Road, and the Suicide Stairs. Every day in the summer of 1974 twelve-year-old Gwendy Peterson has taken the stairs, which are held by strong (if time-rusted) iron bolts and zig-zag up the cliffside.At the top of the stairs, Gwendy catches her breath and listens to the shouts of the kids on the playground. From a bit farther away comes the chink of an aluminum bat hitting a baseball as the Senior League kids practice for the Labor Day charity game.One day, a stranger calls to Gwendy: 'Hey, girl. Come on over here for a bit. We ought to palaver, you and me.'On a bench in the shade sits a man in black jeans, a black suit coat, and a white shirt unbuttoned at the top. On his head is a small neat black hat. The time will come when Gwendy has nightmares about that hat...Journey back to Castle Rock in this chilling new novella by Stephen King, bestselling author of The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, and Richard Chizmar, award-winning author of A Long December.

Hodder Paperbacks

A City Dreaming

Daniel Polansky
Authors:
Daniel Polansky

Imagine a city within a city, where monsters walk the street and magic fills the night. This is New York, but not as you know it. This New York is a city of magic and monsters. Where ordinary people live alongside demons and nightmares, completely unaware of them. New York is home to M, a man with a past... and a secret. He knows more about the creatures who call his city home than anyone else in the world. He walks between the two worlds, at home in neither but more than comfortable in both. M is the man the monsters call when things get bad.And things are about to get really, really bad.

John Murray

The Glorious Heresies

Lisa McInerney
Authors:
Lisa McInerney
Hodder Paperbacks

A Proper Family Holiday

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

Before We Fall

Courtney Cole
Authors:
Courtney Cole
Hodder & Stoughton

If You Leave

Courtney Cole
Authors:
Courtney Cole

The second book in the Beautifully Broken series.Ex-army soldier Gabriel Vincent is a badass hero. Or he used to be. Home from Afghanistan, Gabe can't stop thinking about that one horrible night on the battlefield, a night that changed his life for ever. He knows he's messed up, but with the help of a little beer and a lot more women, he's keeping it together. Until he meets Madison Hill. Madison is happily single - or so she thinks. After the tragic death of her parents, she took on the responsibility of running the family restaurant, and that's all she has time to worry about. Until she meets Gabriel.Though they don't know realise it at first, Gabe and Maddy will soon develop a weakness: each other. They need to be together to be whole, but can they find a way to heal the past . . . before they lose each other?

Hodder & Stoughton

If You Stay

Courtney Cole
Authors:
Courtney Cole