A N Wilson - Charles Darwin - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £25.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444794885
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444794892
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444794908
    • Publication date:04 Oct 2018

Charles Darwin

Victorian Mythmaker

By A N Wilson
Read by Richard Burnip

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A radical reappraisal of Charles Darwin from the bestselling author of Victoria: A Life

Charles Darwin: the man who discovered evolution? The man who killed off God? Or a flawed man of his age, part genius, part ruthless careerist who would not acknowledge his debts to other thinkers?

In this bold new life - the first single volume biography in twenty-five years - A. N. Wilson, the acclaimed author of The Victorians and God's Funeral, goes in search of the celebrated but contradictory figure Charles Darwin.

Darwin was described by his friend and champion, Thomas Huxley, as a 'symbol'. But what did he symbolize? In Wilson's portrait, both sympathetic and critical, Darwin was two men. On the one hand, he was a naturalist of genius, a patient and precise collector and curator who greatly expanded the possibilities of taxonomy and geology. On the other hand, Darwin, a seemingly diffident man who appeared gentle and even lazy, hid a burning ambition to be a universal genius. He longed to have a theory which explained everything.

But was Darwin's 1859 master work, On the Origin of Species, really what it seemed, a work about natural history? Or was it in fact a consolation myth for the Victorian middle classes, reassuring them that the selfishness and indifference to the poor were part of Nature's grand plan?

Charles Darwin: Victorian Mythmaker is a radical reappraisal of one of the great Victorians, a book which isn't afraid to challenge the Darwinian orthodoxy while bringing us closer to the man, his revolutionary idea and the wider Victorian age.

(P)2017 John Murray Press Limited

Biographical Notes

A. N. Wilson was born in North Staffordshire, and taught literature for seven years at New College Oxford, where he won the Chancellor's English Essay Prize and the Ellerton Prize. He is the author of over twenty novels, and as many works of non-fiction. His biography of Tolstoy won the Whitbread Prize in 1988. His biography of Queen Victoria was published to critical acclaim. He is also the author of The Victorians and of God's Funeral, an account of how the Victorians lost their faith. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and a Member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. He lives in London, and is the father of three daughters.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473651937
  • Publication date: 07 Sep 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
A book to treasure. A. N Wilson throws down the gauntlet on the very first line, 'Darwin was wrong' he begins. What follows is a sharply observed and wonderfully compelling analysis which evokes the Victorian titan brilliantly and challenges received wisdom. A work of scholarship that is hard to put down — Deborah Cadbury
A lucid, elegantly written and thought-provoking social and intellectual history — Adrian Woolfson, Evening Standard
Hugely enjoyable . . . The picture of Darwin that emerges from this biography is a mixed one . . . Wilson unpicks these contradictions with a scientist's forensic skill and a novelist's imaginative touch — Robert Douglas Fairhurst, Spectator
As a historian trying to put Darwin in the context of his time, there is surely no better biographer than Wilson — Daisy Goodwin, The Times
Entertaining — Observer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bodies Left Behind

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

Absolute Fear

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

YOU CAN'T OUTRUN THE PAST ...A spine-tingling thriller from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson. A must-read for fans of Nora Roberts and Karen Rose.Eve Renner has struggled to remember the night of her brush with death. She remembers the anxious phone call, the friend lying in a pool of blood and her lover Cole Dennis's face and then the gunshot plunged her into darkness. When she comes to New Orleans her memories start to return and each one is luring her back to the ruins of Our Lady of Virtues Hospital. But someone is waiting to strike. Someone is deadlier than she could ever have imagined and closer than she knows ...

Hodder & Stoughton

A Step Too Far

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Real Heroes of Telemark(digital download)

Ray Mears
Authors:
Ray Mears
Hodder & Stoughton

All is Not Enough

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

With mounting disbelief, Regan Trent realises that the death of her beloved mother has left her totally at her stepfather's mercy. But mercy is a foreign concept to Sherwyn Huntley. To this ruthless man, Regan is simply an obstacle between him and the Trent fortune. Denied a place at her mother's funeral, cruelly separated from her younger brother, promised in marriage to a sadistic pervert, Regan prefers to take her chance in the wide world. But Huntley will stop at nothing to achieve his cruel ambitions . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

James May's 20th Century (digital download)

James May
Authors:
James May
Hodder & Stoughton

Fatal Burn

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

Ugly

Constance Briscoe
Authors:
Constance Briscoe

Constance's mother systematically abused her daughter, both physically and emotionally, throughout her childhood. Regularly beaten and starved, the girl was so desperate she took herself off to Social Services and tried to get taken into care. When that failed, she swallowed bleach 'because it kills all known germs and my mother always told me I was a germ'. When Constance was thirteen, her mother simply moved out, leaving her daughter to fend for herself: there was no gas, no electricity and no food.But somehow Constance found the courage to survive her terrible start in life. This is her heartrending - and ultimately triumphant - story.(P)2005 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

Classic Ghost Stories (digital download)

Various
Authors:
Various

Here are classic tales of terror to chill your blood, brilliantly read by the late, great Michael Williams. Enjoy these seven outstanding ghost stories from the masters of the genre: "The Signalman" by Charles Dickens; "The Watcher" by Robert Benson; "The Moonlit Road" by Ambrose Bierce; "Dog or Demon" by Theo Gift; "The Mystery of the Semi-Detatched" by E. Nesbit; "The Judge's House" by Bram Stoker"; and "Haunted" by an anonymous author.(P)1998 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

Jude the Obscure

Thomas Hardy
Authors:
Thomas Hardy

Hardy called this story 'a deadly war waged between flesh and spirit'. It is a tale of doomed love and unfulfilled promise that revolves around Jude Fawley, an ambitious and intelligent young man, his cousin Sue Bridehead and his academic mentor Phillotson.(P)1996 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

Madame Bovary

Gustave Flaubert
Authors:
Gustave Flaubert
Hodder & Stoughton

More Twisted

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

MURDER A millionaire philanthropist is shot while he sleeps. His terrified wife made a narrow escape. Or did she? MYSTERY A crime writer's violent fictions start to come chillingly true. Has he unwittingly inspired a murderer? SUSPENSE A young woman is trapped in a tunnel deep underground. Two men battle to rescue her. Are they heroes, or driven by some darker motive? In the cunning, suspense-filled world of Jeffery Deaver, only one thing is certain: the next twist is only ever a page away ...(P)2007 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

Born On a Blue Day

Daniel Tammet
Authors:
Daniel Tammet
Hodder & Stoughton

Brethren

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Far From the Madding Crowd

Thomas Hardy
Authors:
Thomas Hardy
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghostwritten

David Mitchell
Authors:
David Mitchell

Winner of the Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize.A magnificent achievement and an engrossing experience, David Mitchell's first novel announced the arrival of one of the most exciting writers of the twenty-first century. An apocalyptic cult member carries out a gas attack on a rush-hour metro, but what links him to a jazz buff in downtown Tokyo? Or to a Mongolian gangster, a woman on a holy mountain who talks to a tree, and a late night New York DJ?Set at the fugitive edges of Asia and Europe, Ghostwritten weaves together a host of characters, their interconnected destinies determined by the inescapable forces of cause and effect.(P)2007 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

number9dream

David Mitchell
Authors:
David Mitchell

Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2001The second novel from the critically-acclaimed author of GHOSTWRITTEN and CLOUD ATLAS.As Eiji Miyake's twentieth birthday nears, he arrives in Tokyo with a mission - to locate the father he has never met. So begins a search that takes him into the seething city's underworld, its lost property offices and video arcades, and on a journey that zigzags from reality to the realm of dreams. But until Eiji has fallen in love and exorcised his childhood demons, the belonging he craves will remain, tantalizingly, just beyond his grasp.(P)2007 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

Deep Freeze

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

Jenna Hughes left Hollywood for a farm in Oregon to get away from fame. But someone has followed the former movie star - an obsessed fan whose letters are personal and deeply disturbing. And while Jenna's already shaken up by what she's seen on paper, she'd be terrified if she knew what Sheriff Shane Carter is investigating. It's a shocking case that started with the discovery of a dead woman in the woods. Now two more women are missing, and one of them looks just like Jenna. As a blizzard bears down on their small town, the merciless killer's grisly work has only just begun. Jenna is getting close to meeting her biggest fan - the one who wants to own her forever.

Hodder & Stoughton

Frankenstein

Mary Shelley
Authors:
Mary Shelley

FRANKENSTEIN, or the Modern Prometheus, is Mary Shelley's passionate and Gothic tale of terror, in which a man's desire to know the unknowable sweeps him into a living nightmare. Victor Frankenstein's experiments with life itself give birth to an extraordinary force with the potential for either good or evil. Read by Kenneth Branagh, abridged.(P)1997 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

Bright Day Dawning

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Gwynna had fallen from grace once, bearing a stillborn child out of wedlock. Determined to have a respectable future, she finds a position for herself as a nursemaid at Hungerton House. But just as she begins to find her feet, the secrets of her past are revealed. She is swiftly dismissed but not before she becomes the target of a lascivious groom. And even afterwards she is pursued by Hungerton, an evil old man who wishes to send her back to the gutters. She returns home to Hedderby, only to find the small Lancashire town reeling after the arson attack on the local pub and music hall, The Pride. Her only ally is a talented carpenter, also once employed by Hungerton. His former employer will stop at nothing, however, to bring him back to the estate. Will money buy revenge and destroy two lives, or will the young lovers find a way to achieve their dreams?