Victoria Redel - Before Everything - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473651821
    • Publication date:06 Jul 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473651814
    • Publication date:27 Jun 2017

Before Everything

By Victoria Redel

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Before Everything is an ode to friendship for readers of Anne Tyler, Kate Atkinson and Ann Patchett, full of dry humour, quiet wisdom and huge empathy.
Biographical Notes

Victoria Redel was born in New York, and attended Dartmouth College and Columbia University. Her work has appeared in numerous magazines including Granta, Harvard Review, Elle and The New York Times, and she currently teaches at Sarah Lawrence College. Her debut novel, Loverboy, was adapted for a feature film directed by Kevin Bacon. Before Everything is her first novel to be published in the UK.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473651845
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Redel's prose is artful and insightful ... this is a hugely moving celebration of love, life and friendship. — Eithne Farry, S Magazine
Terminal illness doesn't always bring out the best in people, nor does it preclude other sorrows. To find an honest and sympathetic reflection of both truths is refreshing. — Daily Mail
Bittersweet — Grazia
An extraordinary, touching and tender story about female friendship. — Prima Magazine
A riveting celebration of life and death. — Elle Magazine
Brings to mind Virginia Woolf's The Waves. — BBC Culture
Poetic and insightful ... I have been blown away. — Laura Jane Williams, author of Becoming
An unflinching and affecting look at how one woman's final days change the lives of those around her. — Publishers Weekly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Quickening

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley
Hodder & Stoughton

The Orphanage of Gods

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan

A magical, thrilling stand-alone novel from teenage writing sensation Helena Coggan who has been hailed as 'the next J. K. Rowling' (Today Programme, USA)************Praise for Helena Coggan's 'The Catalyst''This year's Divergent' - Sun 'A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed' - Observer'A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot' - Metro

Hodder & Stoughton

Four

Andy Jones
Authors:
Andy Jones

One weekend towards the end of summer, charged on drink and lust and love and disappointment, two couples exchange partners for a single night. But the repercussions will last a great deal longer. Told from the perspectives of all four characters, FOUR is a book about love, secrets, friendship and fidelity. A story full of dilemmas, deceits and twists that will keep you guessing until the final page.**************Praise for Andy Jones'Touching, funny, and real' - Jane Costello on THE TWO OF US'I'm always wary about comparing books but, just this once, I'm going to make an exception because for me this is one of those few novels that deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as ONE DAY. It has everything you could want from a romcom and then some' - The Sun on THE TROUBLE WITH HENRY AND ZOE

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, FranceWerner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Rebecca, the woman he has fallen in love with, a mysterious link means he must uncover the truth of his past, or run the risk of losing her. Spanning 1945 Dresden, the Bavarian Alps and uncovering Operation Paperclip, this is a riveting novel of family and love that seamlessly blends fact with fiction.

Coronet

The Cloven

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling
Two Roads

The Particular Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Balcony

Jane Delury
Authors:
Jane Delury
John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass

It seemed, at times, an act of profound selfishness, to have a child so that I might become a parent; but selfish, too, to have a child and stay the same, or not to have one - unless the only honest choice would have been to try to become this kinder version of myself without the need to bring another into it . . .In Sight a woman recounts her progress to motherhood, while remembering the death of her own mother, and the childhood summers she spent with her psychoanalyst grandmother. Woven among these personal recollections are significant events in medical history: Wilhelm Rontgen's discovery of the X-ray and his production of an image of his wife's hand; Sigmund Freud's development of psychoanalysis and the work that he did with his daughter, Anna; John Hunter's attempts to set surgery on a scientific footing and his work, as a collaborator with his brother William and the artist Jan van Rymsdyk, on the anatomy of pregnant bodies. What emerges is the realisation that while the search for understanding might not lead us to an absolute truth, it is an end in itself.Wonderfully intelligent, brilliantly written and deeply moving, Sight is a novel about how we see others, and how we might know ourselves.

Hodder & Stoughton

London

Edward Rutherfurd
Authors:
Edward Rutherfurd

A wonderful, epic story that tells the history of the greatest city in the world, from Roman times to the present day from the author of Paris, Sarum and New York.London has perhaps the most remarkable history of any city in the world. Now its story has a unique voice. In this epic novel Edward Rutherfurd takes the reader on a magnificent journey across sixteen centuries from the days of the Romans to the Victorian engineers of Tower Bridge and the era dockland development of the modern day. Through the lives and adventures of his colourful cast of characters he brings all the richness of London's past unforgettably to life.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder Paperbacks

Small Great Things

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder & Stoughton

The Shadow Doctor

Adrian Plass
Authors:
Adrian Plass

The Shadow Doctor isn't your usual kind of doctor. Sure, you can bring him your problems - but the chances are his solutions will blow your mind. This man can see into your soul, and the cures he prescribes don't come from the pharmacy. If you have fears you just cannot face, wounds you can't even bear to remember - if you've been abused, ignored, damaged by all life throws at you - the Shadow Doctor is here to help.But the Shadow Doctor has shades of his own, and the work of helping others may be the only thing keeping him afloat. Can he stay ahead of the demons that torment him long enough to help those who need him?

Hodder & Stoughton

Sheltering Rain

Jojo Moyes
Authors:
Jojo Moyes
Hodder & Stoughton

Darkness

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

Beautiful, brilliant Dr Gina Solomon is one of a handful of scientists stationed on a remote island off the Arctic Circle. Out conducting research in the last few days before winter wraps the area in months-long darkness, she witnesses a small plane crash over the Bering Sea, and rescues a survivor from the wreckage - Mal Connolly.With a snowstorm stranding them unexpectedly, it's at least twenty-four hours before they return to the research station. When they do, Gina is horrified to discover that the rest of her party has been murdered.Whoever killed the scientists is still on the island, hunting Mal, who is a military weapons expert with a terrible secret. Someone will do anything to stop him from revealing what he knows. And now Gina is in danger too.With no escape until the plane comes for them the following week, Gina and Mal try to stay one step ahead of the killers, and discover a potent sexual chemistry...But will they get off the island before they are swallowed up in darkness forever?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Time I Saw Her

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

Song of the Sea Maid

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Hodder & Stoughton

The President's Shadow

Brad Meltzer
Authors:
Brad Meltzer
Hodder & Stoughton

Hush

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

Her Last Whisper

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

The last time criminal psychology expert Dr Charlotte 'Charlie' Stone helped capture a serial killer, it was nearly the last thing she ever did. Now she's determined to stick to research - and leave risk-taking to the law. But when dangerous duty calls, she can't refuse. And there's no greater danger than the 'Cinderella Killer', a charming predator who lures beautiful, single women to their deaths.FBI agent Lena Kaminsky fears her missing sister has fallen prey to the seductive psychopath, and desperately needs Charlie's unique skills before it's too late. Joined by Special Agents Tony Bartoli, Buzz Crane - and her ghostly bad-boy lover, Michael Garland - Charlie heads to Vegas to track down Lena's sister before the Cinderella Killer seals her fate.But it's Charlie who ends up gambling with her life, when the lethal lothario decides she's just his type . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ties That Bind

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

The gripping, twisty and compelling fourth novel from Erin Kelly, Sunday Times bestselling author of HE SAID/SHE SAID.'Tension-filled mystery with compelling characters and plot twists.' - BellaCould a soul, once sold, truly be redeemed?Luke is a true crime writer in search of a story. When he flees to Brighton after an explosive break-up, the perfect subject lands in his lap: reformed gangster Joss Grand. Now in his eighties, Grand once ruled the Brighton underworld with his sadistic sidekick Jacky Nye - until Jacky washed up by the West Pier in 1968, strangled and thrown into the sea. Though Grand's alibi seems cast-iron, Luke is sure there's more to the story than meets the eye, and he convinces the criminal-turned-philanthropist to be interviewed for a book about his life. Luke is drawn deeper into the mystery of Jacky Nye's murder. Was Grand there that night? Is he really as reformed a character as he claims? And who was the girl in the red coat seen fleeing the murder scene? Soon Luke realises that in stirring up secrets from the past, he may have placed himself in terrible danger.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Kiss Goodbye

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards