Amy Engel - The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy Book Club thriller 2017 - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473648388
    • Publication date:07 Mar 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473660311
    • Publication date:09 Mar 2017

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy Book Club thriller 2017

By Amy Engel

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

An explosive and boundary-pushing thriller perfect for fans of INTO THE WATER, THE GIRLS and Gillian Flynn.

THE SHOCKING AND COMPULSIVE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB THRILLER THAT WILL KEEP YOU READING LATE INTO THE NIGHT.

'One of the most unsettling and thought-provoking books I've read... stunning and gripping' LISA CUTTS

'Engel goes where angels fear to tread. What follows is a story of utter intensity and believability. A mini-masterpiece' JUDY FINNIGAN

'You'll be gripped' RICHARD MADELEY

'Darkly sexy and compelling' HEAT

'One of the best books I've read - what a page turner. One not to miss! REBECCA DONE

'This book is stunning. Wow' CRESSIDA MCLAUGHLIN

***

EVERYONE WANTS TO BE A ROANOKE GIRL. BUT YOU WON'T WHEN YOU KNOW THE TRUTH.

'Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die.'

The girls of the Roanoke family - beautiful, rich, mysterious - seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them that's never spoken.

Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back.

She is a Roanoke girl.
Is she strong enough to escape a second time?

***

FOR FANS OF SHARI LAPENA AND ERIN KELLY, THIS IS THE MOST SHOCKING THRILLER YOU'LL READ ALL YEAR.

***

'A must-have' SUNDAY EXPRESS

'One of the most disturbingly gripping books I have ever read' RUTH DUGDALL

'Deliciously written...pulls you relentlessly into its twisted heart' AVA MARSH

'Fans of The Girls will love this' RED ONLINE

'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it' SARAH HILARY

Biographical Notes

Amy Engel is the author of the YA novels THE BOOK OF IVY and THE REVOLUTION OF IVY. She lives in Missouri with her family. THE ROANOKE GIRLS is her first novel for adults.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473648401
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
A must-have — Sunday Express
Fans of The Girls will love this sweat-soaked, sultry, small town tale full of shadows and lurking dread. — Red Online
A provocative thriller — Telegraph
'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it. A (vastly superior) Flowers in the Attic for a new generation' — Sarah Hilary (author of Someone Else's Skin )
A debt to Daphne du Maurier is evident throughout this remarkably assured adult debut — The Sunday Times
Packed with suspense and danger...this is a book that stays with you — The Lady
Twisted, controversial...SO compelling and beautifully written — Claire Douglas, Sunday Times bestselling author of Local Girl, Missing
Beautifully written and utterly captivating...and so so dark. I loved it! — Katerina Diamond, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Teacher
'One of the best books I've read in a long time...Gripping, twisty, dark - what a page turner. One not to miss!' — Rebecca Done (author of This Secret We're Keeping )
'I was immediately drawn into The Roanoke Girls, a haunting and riveting look at one family's tangled legacy. You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secrets' — Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Blood
'Dark and intense... with a compelling twist which will remain with you long after the book's last sentence' — L.S. Hilton, author of Maestra
'An emotionally compelling page turner, The Roanoke Girls takes you inside the dark world of a twisted family' — Wendy Walker, author of All Is Not Forgotten
'Utterly utterly gripping; at the end I was destroyed' — Liz Loves Books
'Atmospheric. Claustrophobic. Creepy...elicit[s] a slow sense of dread' — Book by Book
'Creepy, twisted, compelling, The Roanoke Girls crawls under your skin and stays there' — Harriet Reuter Hapgood, author of The Square Root of Summer
John Murray

This Book Will Blow Your Mind

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Co-Active Coaching

Henry Kimsey-House, Karen Kimsey-House, Phillip Sandahl, Laura Whitworth
Authors:
Henry Kimsey-House, Karen Kimsey-House, Phillip Sandahl, Laura Whitworth
Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller
Hodder Paperbacks

Back to the Boy

James Arthur
Authors:
James Arthur
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

Sceptre

How Are You Going To Save Yourself

J M Holmes
Authors:
J M Holmes
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

In this sweeping epic novel, which can be read as a completely standalone story or as the sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD, the New World Rising series opens out into the pageant and power of renaissance Europe.

John Murray

Lou Reed

Anthony DeCurtis
Authors:
Anthony DeCurtis

As lead singer and songwriter for the Velvet Underground and a renowned solo artist, Lou Reed invented alternative rock. His music, at once the height of sanctity and perversity, transcended a genre, speaking to millions of listeners, inspiring a new generation of musicians, and forever changing the way we think of that iconic era of sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll. Throughout his five-decade career, Reed embodied artistic self-awareness and captured the beauty, paranoia, and vivacity of his time into an array of hit songs, experimental albums, and a larger-than-life persona. With such masterpieces as 'Sweet Jane' and 'Walk on the Wild Side', Reed exerted an influence on popular music rivaled only by the likes of Bob Dylan and the Beatles and is recognized to this day as one of the greatest musicians of the 20th century.Now, just a few years after Reed's death, comes the thrilling, provocative story of his complex life. An acclaimed Rolling Stone contributor, Anthony DeCurtis interviewed Reed extensively and knew him well. With unparalleled access to Reed's friends, family, and dozens of other intimate relations, DeCurtis brings Reed's story compellingly alive and deepens our understanding of his indelible music. We travel deep into the underground artist clubs, listen along in the studio as the Velvet Underground record their signature work, and revel in Reed's relationship with legendaries like Andy Warhol, Patti Smith, and David Bowie. Insightful, revelatory, and intimate, Lou Reed is a gripping tribute to a quintessential American icon.

Two Roads

Girl on the Line

Alice Vinten
Authors:
Alice Vinten

Welcome to London. Population: 8.7million. And it's your job to keep them safe. A unique insight to life on the streets of London as a female constable, Girl on the Line follows PC Alice Hearn throughout ten years in the Met, from rookie to officer. As she deals with violent criminals, heart-breaking domestic situations, petty crime, life, death, and everything in between, she builds up a portrait of a living, complex city, and what it truly means to look after it.From procedurals to gripping foot chases to threats of terrorist attacks, this book covers all aspects of life in uniform, and how it really feels to wear the boots of a London copper.

Two Roads

How to Survive the End of the World (When it's in Your Own Head)

Aaron Gillies
Authors:
Aaron Gillies
Hodder & Stoughton

The Man I Think I Know

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

The stunning new novel from Mike Gayle, packed with his trademark heart and charm. For fans of Jojo Moyes and Jenny Colgan.Ever since The Incident, James DeWitt has stayed on the safe side.He likes to know what happens next.Danny Allen is not on the safe side. He is more past the point of no return.But it's funny the way life is sometimes. Just when you think you know how everything is, it surprises you.And redemption can come in the most unlikely forms . . .Warm, witty and wise, Mike Gayle's new novel is a powerful story of male friendship and what we mean by success, reminding us of the simple courage at the heart of every human life.

Hodder & Stoughton

Death and the Olive Grove

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Sceptre

Factfulness

Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund
Authors:
Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

50 Business Classics

Tom Butler-Bowdon
Authors:
Tom Butler-Bowdon

From Michael Porter to Lazslo Bock, from The Five Dysfunctions of a Team to Creativity Inc., here are the 50 most important titles on organizational and personal success. 50 Business Classics presents the key ideas from classic texts such as My Years with General Motors and Michael Gerber's The E-Myth Revisited to contemporary business ideas such as the rise of the tech giants like Google, Apple and Amazon. It contains revealing biographies of luminaries like Steve Jobs and Katherine Graham as well as lesser-known stories including creation of publishing giant Penguin and Chinese behemoth Alibaba. Here you'll find the texts and ideas that matter in:· Entrepreneurship· Leadership· Management· Strategy· Business history· Personal development· Technology and innovation Summarising the smartest thinking for today's professional success this book will provide inspiration and insights for entrepreneurs, executives and students of business and management alike.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Fusion

Denise Lee Yohn
Authors:
Denise Lee Yohn
John Murray Learning

Human Origins

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells

The international bestseller: A heartfelt, enriching novel about fate, loss and love.Marty, Liz and Jules' idyllic childhood with their loving parents in Munich is shattered by the death of their parents in a car crash, and their charmed life is exchanged for a bleak state boarding school.As the three deal with the death of their parents in very different ways, they become estranged from one another; Marty focussing on his career; Liz turning to different forms of escapision; and Jules turning from a vivacious child to a quiet, withdrawn teenager. Whilst at boarding school he meets the mysterious and charming Alva - but he will only realise years later what she means to him; and what she has never told him. Just as it seems that they can make amends for the time wasted, the past catches up with them... Told episodically through the fractured lives of the siblings, The End of Loneliness is a heartfelt, enriching novel about loss, loneliness, family and love.

John Murray

Reinventing Capitalism in the Age of Big Data

Viktor Mayer-Schonberger, Thomas Ramge
Authors:
Viktor Mayer-Schonberger, Thomas Ramge
Hodder & Stoughton

Eastern Horizons

Levison Wood
Authors:
Levison Wood
Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah