Amy Engel - The Roanoke Girls - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473648401
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473648388
    • Publication date:07 Mar 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473660311
    • Publication date:09 Mar 2017

The Roanoke Girls

By Amy Engel

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Boundary-pushing and provocative, this is a novel about the twisted secrets families keep - and the fierce and terrible love that both binds them together and rips them apart.

Underneath the Roanoke girls' perfect exterior lies a chilling secret...

'Utterly addictive' LISA HALL 'Not for the faint-hearted' THE BOOK BAG
'Provocative' TELEGRAPH 'A must-have' SUNDAY EXPRESS

Beautiful.
Rich.
Mysterious.

The Roanoke girls seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them which is never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies.

Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back.

She is a Roanoke girl.

Is she strong enough to escape a second time?

An explosive, boundary-pushing novel perfect for fans of Good Me Bad Me, Gillian Flynn and The Girls.

*****

'Daring, alluring and beautifully atmospheric *****' Culturefly

'Fans of The Girls will love this' Red

'Twisted, controversial...SO compelling' Claire Douglas, bestselling author of Local Girl Missing

'Utterly captivating' Katerina Diamond, bestselling author of The Teacher

'Dark, disturbing, and deliciously written... pulls you relentlessly into its twisted heart' Ava Marsh, author of Unforgettable

'Beautifully controlled horror' Lucy Mangan

Biographical Notes

Amy Engel is the author of the YA novels THE BOOK OF IVY and THE REVOLUTION OF IVY. She lives in Missouri with her family. THE ROANOKE GIRLS is her first novel for adults.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473648371
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
A must-have — Sunday Express
A provocative thriller — Telegraph
A debt to Daphne du Maurier is evident throughout this remarkably assured adult debut — The Sunday Times
Fans of The Girls will love this sweat-soaked, sultry, small town tale full of shadows and lurking dread. — Red Online
Wonderfully told, both delicate and sinister... undoubtedly clever and memorable — Irish Independent
'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it. A (vastly superior) Flowers in the Attic for a new generation' — Sarah Hilary (author of Someone Else's Skin )
Twisted, controversial...SO compelling and beautifully written — Claire Douglas, Sunday Times bestselling author of Local Girl, Missing
Packed with suspense and danger...this is a book that stays with you — The Lady
Beautifully written and utterly captivating...and so so dark. I loved it! — Katerina Diamond, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Teacher
'One of the best books I've read in a long time...Gripping, twisty, dark - what a page turner. One not to miss!' — Rebecca Done (author of This Secret We're Keeping )
'I was immediately drawn into The Roanoke Girls, a haunting and riveting look at one family's tangled legacy. You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secrets' — Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Blood
'Dark and intense... with a compelling twist which will remain with you long after the book's last sentence' — L.S. Hilton, author of Maestra
'An emotionally compelling page turner, The Roanoke Girls takes you inside the dark world of a twisted family' — Wendy Walker, author of All Is Not Forgotten
'Utterly utterly gripping; at the end I was destroyed' — Liz Loves Books
'Atmospheric. Claustrophobic. Creepy...elicit[s] a slow sense of dread' — Book by Book
'Creepy, twisted, compelling, The Roanoke Girls crawls under your skin and stays there' — Harriet Reuter Hapgood, author of The Square Root of Summer
Seriously twisted and utterly addictive. — Lisa Hall (author of Between You and Me )
One of the most disturbingly gripping books I have ever read — Ruth Dugall, author of The Woman Before Me
[This] creepy thriller of doomed women is perfect for our times — Jenny Boylan, New York Times bestselling author
A smoking hot barn burner of a book, diving into some of society's deepest taboos and yanking them from the shadows — Bloglovin'
'An emotionally captivating read' — Booklist
'This gothic page-turner speeds inexorably toward the kind of devastating revelations readers won't soon forget' — Publishers Weekly
Dark, disturbing, and deliciously written, The Roanoke Girls pulls you relentlessly into its twisted heart — Ava Marsh, author of Untouchable
This book is stunning. Stunning but dark, so so dark. Wow. — Cressida McLaughlin, author of The Canal Boat Cafe
A creepy thriller [which] gets under the skin and takes you into dark world of what goes on behind closed doors. Seriously twisted and eerily sexy — Handwritten Girl
Hauntingly beautiful and terribly macabre...not for the faint hearted... sweat-soaked, sultry and shocking — The Book Bag
One of the most unsettling and thought-provoking books I've read... stunning and gripping — Lisa Cutts, author of Never Forget