Lili Hayward - The Cat of Yule Cottage - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473648340
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016

The Cat of Yule Cottage

A Magical Tale of Romance, Christmas and Cats

By Lili Hayward

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The magical, romantic tale of Christmas, Cornwall... and cats. Perfect for fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Christmas at the Little Village Bakery.

A magical tale of Christmas and cats, perfect for everyone who loves A Street Cat Named Bob and Alfie the Doorstep Cat.

It's nearly Christmas, and Jessamine Pike needs a serious life overhaul.

Jess moves into Enysyule, a centuries-old cottage in Cornwall, and begins the process of renovating the rundown house by day and finishing her novel by night, planning to have both finished in time for the holidays. She's got good company: a beautiful, arrogant tomcat stalks around like he owns the place, and seems very skeptical of Jess' tenancy.

But there's magic in the air... Local legends tell of a spirit that inhabits the area, and an ancient standing stone that keeps watch over the valley. As Christmas comes closer and closer, Jess uncovers treasures from Enysyule's past, and becomes involved in a fight for its future.

For Jess has stumbled into a story that's been going on for five hundred years. A story about land, love, friendship, the Yuletide... and one remarkable cat.

Biographical Notes

Lili Hayward is a writer from the south of England with a love for all things hidden, lost and historical. When she isn't writing fiction (or reading it) she can be found wandering bookshops, shouting at weeds on her allotment, or working on various urban growing projects. She lives with her partner in the Westcountry and keeps the company of two beautiful and opinionated ex-stray cats.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473648333
  • Publication date: 17 Nov 2016
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Lili Hayward is a beguiling new voice. Her prose is stunning and effortless; I devoured every word. Breath-taking and beautiful, evocative and richly described, The Cat of Yule Cottage has magic sewn into every page. — Tilly Tennant, author of Christmas at the Little Village Bakery
A dreamy, atmospheric Christmas story about legends and love, Cornwall and cats, that races along to its warming and satisfying ending. — Sheila Norton, author of Charlie, the Kitten Who Saved a Life
Coronet

Palette

Funmi Fetto
Authors:
Funmi Fetto
Hodder & Stoughton

A Daughter's Journey

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

***Book One in beloved author Anna Jacobs' brand new Birch End series - more information coming soon!***Praise for Anna Jacobs' Ellindale series'One of the most lovely and heart-warming books I have ever read! 5 STARS' - Between the Pages 'A book of family, love, friendship and loyalty. 5 STARS' - Stardust Book Reviews'I was gripped from the very first word on the very first page and I wasn't released until the last word on the last page . . . When I finished I felt like I had been through an emotional wringer. 5 STARS' - Ginger Book Geek

Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes
Hodder & Stoughton

The Soul of Power

Callie Bates
Authors:
Callie Bates
Hodder & Stoughton

Finale

Stephanie Garber
Authors:
Stephanie Garber

Sunday Times and #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Garber takes us once again to the magical world of Caraval, where Scarlett and Tella Dragna must fight for their happy endings after a tragedy sends Tella on a treacherous path for revenge. . .Caraval is over, but perhaps the greatest game of all has begun - with lives, empires, and hearts all at stake. There are no spectators this time: only those who will win, and those who will lose everything. Welcome, welcome to the Caraval's Finale. All games must come to an end...Praise for the series:'Extravagantly imaginative and enchanting . . . Pure magic and escapism' Cecelia Ahern'Enchanting . . . [I] never wanted to come out' Sabaa Tahir'Immersive and engaging . . . destined to capture imaginations' Kirkus'An enchanting carnival of dreams and nightmares . . . beautifully and vividly written' SciFi Now

Hodder & Stoughton

Nocturna

Maya Motayne
Authors:
Maya Motayne

Fates collide and darkness is unleashed in this lush, own-voices Latin-inspired fantasy, perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo and V. E. Schwab. Magic is everywhere, and in everything.To Finnian Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the throat of anyone who crosses her, and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks. As a talented faceshifter, it's been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that's exactly how she likes it. But when she gets caught by a powerful mobster, she's forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan's royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever.To Prince Alfehr magic is an escape, but one that comes with a price. First in line for the throne after the disappearance of his older brother, Alfie is desperate to find him and bring him home, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.And when Finn and Alfie's fates collide, they realise magic can be other things too, and the type they accidentally release into the world is something neither expects, or understands.It's hungry.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Capitol Death

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

One Perfect Family

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder Paperbacks

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

The Orphanage of Gods

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan

'The next J. K. Rowling' (Today Programme, USA)Twenty years ago, the humans came for their gods.In the bloody revolution, gods were all but wiped out. Ever since, the children they left behind have been imprisoned in an orphanage, watched day and night by the ruthless Guard. Any who show signs of divine power vanish from their beds in the night, all knowledge of their existence denied. No one has ever escaped the orphanage. Until now. Seventeen-year-old Hero is finally free - but at a terrible price. Her sister has been captured by the Guard and is being held in a prison in the northern sea. Hero desperately wants to get her back, and to escape the murderous Guardsmen hunting her down. But not all the gods are dead, and the ones waiting for Hero in the north have their own plans for her - ones that will change the world forever . . . As she advances further and further into the unknown, Hero will need to decide: how far is she willing to go to do what needs to be done? ************Praise for Helena Coggan's 'The Catalyst''This year's Divergent' - Sun 'A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed' - Observer'A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot' - Metro

John Murray

The Wolf and the Watchman

Niklas Natt och Dag
Authors:
Niklas Natt och Dag

Best Debut, The Swedish Academy of Crime Writers' Award 2017'Thrilling, unnerving, clever and beautiful' Fredrik BackmanThe year is 1793, Stockholm. King Gustav of Sweden has been assassinated, years of foreign wars have emptied the treasuries, and the realm is governed by a self-interested elite, leaving its citizens to suffer. On the streets, malcontent and paranoia abound.A body is found in the city's swamp by a watchman, Mickel Cardell, and the case is handed over to investigator Cecil Winge, who is dying of consumption. Together, Winge and Cardell become embroiled in a brutal world of guttersnipes and thieves, mercenaries and madams, and one death will expose a city rotten with corruption beneath its powdered and painted veneer.The Wolf and the Watchman depicts the capacity for cruelty in the name of survival or greed - but also the capacity for love, friendship, and the desire for a better world.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Sea of Gold

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

One Special Village

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller
Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón

'This is a work of great ambition ... above all it feels like a work of virtuoso narrative for its own sake; an Icelandic 1001 Nights.' The Sunday TimesJósef Loewe can recall the moment of his birth in August, 1962 and everything that has happened since - or so he claims to the woman listening to the tale of his life . . .A love story He begins with his father, Leo, a starving Jewish fugitive in World War II Germany. In a small-town guesthouse, Leo discovers a kindred spirit in the maid who nurses him back to health; together they shape a piece of clay into a baby.A crime story Leo escapes to Iceland with the clay boy inside a hatbox, only to become embroiled in a murder mystery. It is not until 1962 that his son Jósef can be born.A science-fiction story In modern-day Reykjavík, a middle-aged Jósef attracts the interest of a rapacious geneticist. Now, what lies behind Jósef's tale emerges. And as the story of genesis comes full circle, we glimpse the dangerous path ahead for humankind. In this epic novel, Sjón has woven ancient and modern material into a singular masterpiece - encompassing genre fiction, history, theology, folklore, expressionist film, poetry, comic strips, myth, drama and, of course, the rich tradition of Icelandic storytelling.

Hodder & Stoughton

Four

Andy Jones
Authors:
Andy Jones
JM Originals

Game Theory

Thomas Jones
Authors:
Thomas Jones
Hodder & Stoughton

The Memory of Fire

Callie Bates
Authors:
Callie Bates

Magic. Romance. Revolution. The sequel to the bold and gorgeous The Waking Land.'Bates is an author well worth watching' Robin HobbJahan Korakides is the hero who saved the life of the crown prince in battle, helped win the revolution in Eren and earned the heart of Elanna, the legendary Wildegarde reborn.But Jahan Korakides is also broken; haunted by memories of the woman who experimented on him and his brothers as children.So when the empire threatens war in retribution for Elanna's illegal sorcery, Jahan leaves Eren to negotiate with the emperor on Queen Sophy's behalf. But the world he left has changed - riots rock the city of Ida, his brother is missing and the crown prince refuses to speak to him.Jahan's only hope of success seems to lie with the rebels in Ida. Yet, if he joins them, he will merely spur on the war he's desperate to avoid, and risk revealing himself as a sorcerer.And then the witch hunters arrive at court, bringing Elanna in chains.

Hodder & Stoughton

Phoebe

Paula Gooder
Authors:
Paula Gooder