Elodie Harper - The Binding Song - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473642164
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473642232
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473642171
    • Publication date:22 Feb 2018

The Binding Song

A chilling thriller with a killer ending

By Elodie Harper

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

In an isolated Norfolk prison, the inmates are killing themselves... Is there really a spirit of vengeance at work, or is it something stranger and darker still? For fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, THE BINDING SONG is a brilliantly chilling debut from a prizewinning short story writer and journalist.

FROM THE WINNER OF THE STEPHEN KING AND GUARDIAN SHORT STORY COMPETITION.

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, THE BINDING SONG takes you on a trip to Halvergate Prison. If you're lucky, you'll get to leave...

'Splendidly unsettling' John Connolly

Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at HMP Halvergate in a remote, bleak area of Norfolk. At first, she was excited by the promotion. Then she starts to see how many secrets are hiding behind the high walls.

A string of inmates have committed suicide, leaving no reasons why, and her predecessor has disappeared - along with his notes. The staff are hostile, the threat of violence is ever-present, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, punishing the inmates for their sins.

Janet is determined to find out what is really going on. But the longer she stays and the deeper she digs, the more uncertain she feels.

Halvergate is haunted by something. But it may be a terror worse than ghosts...

What reviewers are saying about THE BINDING SONG:

'This book is creepy and moody in tone throughout and is certainly the kind of book you want to read with the lights on!' Goodreads reviewer

'One of the most atmospheric, eerie books I've ever read' Goodreads reviewer

'One of my highlights of 2017...an exciting, dramatic, scary and compelling read.' Goodreads reviewer

Biographical Notes

Elodie Harper is a journalist and prize winning short story writer. Her story 'Wild Swimming' won the 2016 Bazaar of Bad Dreams short story competition, run by The Guardian and Hodder & Stoughton and judged by Stephen King. She is currently a reporter and presenter at ITV News Anglia, and before that worked as a producer for Channel 4 News. She is married with a young son.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473642140
  • Publication date: 29 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
A splendidly unsettling debut - a chilling mystery to be read with the lights on and your back to the wall. — John Connolly, author of the Charlie Parker series
A glut of troubled souls, an eerie, atmospheric setting. Elodie Harper knows how to write a damn good horror story. — Ali Land, author of Good Me, Bad Me
I was completely engrossed. A sinister, creepy read that leaves the reader questioning everyone and trusting no-one. — Debbie Howells, author of The Bones of You
Satisfying and thought-provoking in equal measure, and it stays in the mind long after the final page is turned. Harper, as Mr King so astutely realised, is definitely one to watch. — i Paper
Brilliant. I had shivers. — Jenny Blackhurst, author of Before I Let You In
The evocation of place is first class...wonderfully paced, the tension ratchets up to a very satisfying ending. A thoroughly enjoyable read. — James Oswald, author of the Inspector McLean series
Elodie Harper's first novel, set in HMP Halvergate, has become all the more possible, given what else has been going on beyond our prison walls. Plotting, pace and writing render The Binding Song a must read. — Jon Snow
One of the most chilling, atmospheric debuts I've read. It was so compelling and creepy my heart beat with fear at times. — Claire Douglas, author of Local Girl Missing
Creepy from the word go, utterly compelling and hauntingly tragic - but I'll warn you now - you might have to sleep with the lights on. — SJI Holliday, author of The Damselfly
Breathtakingly atmospheric and chilling — Claire McGowan, author of A Savage Hunger
Deliciously creepy. The Binding Song is a nerve-jangling treat for fans of Mo Hayder or Stephen King. — Mark Edwards
Eerie, atmospheric, dark, gripping. Hints of Susan Hill and Stephen King. Superb. — Will Dean, author of Dark Pines