Fran Cooper - The Two Houses - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473641570
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473663268
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018

The Two Houses

By Fran Cooper

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A novel of buried secrets and the people who hide them, from the author of These Dividing Walls.

After an acclaimed career in ceramics making things and breaking things, it is now Jay herself who has cracked. Recovering from a breakdown, she and her husband Simon move to the desolate edges of the Yorkshire moors, where they find and fall in love with the Two Houses: a crumbling Victorian property whose central rooms were supposedly so haunted that a previous owner had them cut out from the building entirely.

But on uprooting their city life and moving to the sheltered grey village of Hestle, Jay and Simon discover it's not only the Two Houses that seems to be haunted by an obscure past. It becomes increasingly clear that the villagers don't want them there at all - and when building work to make the two houses whole again starts, a discovery is made that will unearth decades-old secrets . . .

Biographical Notes

Fran Cooper grew up in London before reading English at Cambridge and Art History at the Courtauld Institute of Art. She spent three years in Paris writing a PhD about travelling eighteenth-century artists, and currently works in the curatorial department of a London museum.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473641600
  • Publication date: 22 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Confident and brilliant — Lisa O'Donnell on THESE DIVIDING WALLS
John Murray

Falling Short

Alexandra Coulton
Authors:
Alexandra Coulton
Sceptre

Claudia

Anthony Trevelyan
Authors:
Anthony Trevelyan

When Samson Glaze - former wild-haired nomad, now head of a multi-million pound solar power corporation - turns up in Claudia Talwar's office in Manchester after fifteen years, she has to quash the impulse to jump into his arms. Unexpected father figure throughout her precarious childhood, he was the only friend she's ever known - only person she's ever loved. So when Samson asks her to help him find his son Reggie, Claudia agrees. But it turns out that Reggie has joined a group - a cult? - called Tarantula. And as Dia presses further into Tarantula's mazy interior, events take stranger and stranger turns, and it soon becomes clear that the web she finds herself in is being spun by sinister forces...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Identicals

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'The Queen of the Summer Novel' (People) The ultimate summertime reading for fans of Jane Green and Roisin Meaney.Nantucket is only two and a half hours away from Martha's Vineyard by ferry. But the two islands might as well be worlds apart for a set of identical twin sisters who have been at odds for years.Just because twins look exactly the same doesn't mean they're anything alike - and Tabitha and Harper Frost have spent their whole lives trying to prove this point. When a family crisis forces them to band together - or at least appear to - the twins come to realise that the special bond that they share is more important than the resentments that have driven them apart. A story of new loves, old battles, and a threat that gives a whole new meaning to the term sibling rivalry, The Identicals is Elin Hilderbrand at her page-turning best.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn
Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood

IT'S NEVER TOO LATE TO BLOOMPeople aren't sure what to make of Susan Green - family and colleagues find her prickly and hard to understand, but Susan makes perfect sense to herself, and that's all she needs. At forty-five, she thinks her life is perfect, as long as she avoids her feckless brother, Edward - a safe distance away in Birmingham. She has a London flat which is ideal for one; a job that suits her passion for logic; and a personal arrangement providing cultural and other, more intimate, benefits. Yet suddenly faced with the loss of her mother and, implausibly, with the possibility of becoming a mother herself, Susan's greatest fear is being realised: she is losing control.When she discovers that her mother's will inexplicably favours her brother, Susan sets out to prove that Edward and his equally feckless friend Rob somehow coerced this dubious outcome. But when problems closer to home become increasingly hard to ignore, she finds help in the most unlikely of places.This sparkling debut is a breath of fresh air with real heart and a powerful emotional punch. In Susan we find a character as exasperating and delightful as The Rosie Project's Don Tillman. An uncompromising feminist and a fierce fighter, it's a joy to watch her bloom.

Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips
Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

For readers of The Help and The Invention of Wings, a searing and sweeping debut novel that gives a new and unforgettable perspective on modern day domestic workers.Set in the blistering heat of Singapore, THE MAID'S ROOM follows the lives of two Filipina maids - sisters Dolly and Tala who are working hard to send money back home, and British ex-pat Jules who has left her job as a midwife to move to Singapore with husband David. Told with humour, heart-breaking detail about daily life as a maid, and with an exhilarating spirit that is ultimately uplifting, this book will resonate with anyone who has struggled to have their voice heard.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas on Nantucket

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

The Quinn family celebrate their most dramatic Christmas yet in this enchanting sequel to Elin Hilderbrand's bestselling WINTER STREET.Christmas on Nantucket finds Winter Street Inn owner Kelley Quinn and his family busily preparing for the holiday season. Though the year has brought tragedy, the Quinns have much to celebrate: Kelley has reunited with his first wife Margaret, Kevin and Isabelle have a new baby; and Ava is finally dating a nice guy. But when Kelley's wife Mitzi shows up on the island, along with Kevin's devious ex-wife Nora and a dangerously irresistible old fling of Ava's, the Inn is suddenly overrun with romantic feuds, not to mention guests. With jealousy, passion, and eggnog consumption at an all-time high, it's going to take a whole lot more than a Christmas miracle to get the Quinns - and the Inn - through the holidays intact.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

John Murray

Devil's Day

Andrew Michael Hurley
Authors:
Andrew Michael Hurley
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley

Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction - Sally Rooney meets Sarah Perry, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family, as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape. Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now. Sometimes Daddy disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it, as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

The Way Back to Us

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale
Sceptre

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré
Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

Sceptre

Evening Primrose

Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa