Dreda Say Mitchell - One False Move - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £1.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473640634
    • Publication date:02 Feb 2017

One False Move

a thrilling pageturning race against time

By Dreda Say Mitchell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A young woman on the Devil's Estate wants to turn her life around - but the world won't make it easy. In this thrilling story from Dreda Say Mitchell, she has a big decision to make.

An intense, menacing and gritty story about a young woman's race against time to save her family. Perfect for fans of Mandasue Heller and Kimberley Chambers.

'Dreda Say Mitchell is right up there at the forefront of British crime fiction' Simon Kernick

Hayley swore when she got out of prison that she would turn her life around.

But living on the Devil's Estate doesn't make that easy.

She spends her days looking after her daughter, and her nights collecting cash from people who can't get loans any other way.

But someone has just robbed her. And she has twenty-four hours to get the money back, or her boss will come for her.

Her criminal ex-boyfriend says he can help. Hayley wants nothing to do with him. But time is running out, and she has to choose - save herself, or save her soul?

If she makes one false move, her life will be over...

Biographical Notes

Born and bred in the East End of London, Dreda Say Mitchell has seen it all from the inside. After a string of jobs as a waitress, chambermaid and catering assistant she realised her dream of becoming a teacher. During this time she saw a new generation of East Enders grappling with the same problems she had but in an even more violent and unforgiving world. Dreda's books are inspired by the gritty, tough and criminal world she grew up in. She still lives in London's East End. In 2016, she became a Reading Ambassador for the Reading Agency to promote literacy and libraries.

Website: www.dredasaymitchell.com
Facebook: /dredasaymitchell
Twitter: @DredaMitchell

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473640641
  • Publication date: 02 Feb 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Praise for Dreda Say Mitchell — :
A gripping and thrilling read by a wonderful lady and fab author — Kimberley Chambers on BLOOD SISTER
A terrific tale, well told and totally gripping — Susan Wilkins, author of The Informant
Wonderful vivid writing and a truly original voice. — Peter James
Dreda Say Mitchell is right up there at the forefront of British crime fiction — Simon Kernick
Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Mulholland Books

Her Beautiful Monster

Adi Tantimedh
Authors:
Adi Tantimedh
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

'The Best Thriller Writer Alive' Ken FollettJohn Grisham's newest legal thriller takes you inside a law firm that shouldn't exist.Law students Mark, Todd and Zola wanted to change the world - to make it a better place. But these days these three disillusioned friends spend a lot of time hanging out in The Rooster Bar, the place where Todd serves drinks. As third-year students, they realise they have been duped. They all borrowed heavily to attend a law school so mediocre that its graduates rarely pass the bar exam, let alone get good jobs. And when they learn that their school is one of a chain owned by a shady New York hedge-fund operator who also happens to own a bank specialising in student loans, the three realise they have been caught up in The Great Law School Scam.So they begin plotting a way out. Maybe there's a way to escape their crushing debt, expose the bank and the scam, and make a few bucks in the process. But to do so, they have to leave law school, pretend they are qualified and go into battle with a billionaire and the FBI . . .Ingenious, immersive and page-turning, The Rooster Bar is a John Grisham legal thriller bar none.

Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Daughter

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

BLOOD DAUGHTER sees the Miller sisters' loyalties put to the ultimate test in a gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller. No.1 bestseller in Amazon crime and mystery series.They say blood is thicker than water. That's not going to stop it being spilled. Life hasn't been easy for the Miller family. Finally, mum Babs has had one bit of luck. She plans to share the profits with her daughters. She thought they'd be pleased... But money always causes trouble, especially when it's desperately needed. Jen wants to make a better life for her kids. Tiff owes a lot of bad men a lot of money. And Dee is worried that her husband is getting back into the criminal life. As the sisters fall out, a gold bullion heist brings more opportunities - and many more dangers. None of them are giving up without a fight...**********Discover the FLESH AND BLOOD trilogy:Book 1: Blood SisterBook 2: Blood MotherBook 3: Blood DaughterOne False Move (Quick Read novella)**********Praise for Blood Daughter'I knew that the end to this trilogy was going to be good, however I didn't realise just HOW good it would be!' Best Crime Books & More'What a brilliant ending to a gripping and fantastic trilogy' Goodreads reviewer'[A] very gritty and entertaining read and if like me you enjoy what I personally call "grit lit" authentic characters, settings and story lines that depict the shadier side of life, then I would highly recommend this book' The Book Review Cafe**********If you loved the FLESH AND BLOOD trilogy, why not try Dreda Say Mitchell's GANGLAND GIRLS trilogyBook 1: Geezer GirlsBook 2: Gangster GirlBook 3: Hit Girls

Hodder & Stoughton

Fever

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer

'UK readers, you have a nice surprise coming. No, not Brexit, FEVER, by Deon Meyer. Reminiscent of THE STAND and THE PASSAGE. Great stuff' STEPHEN KINGI want to tell you about my Father's murder.I want to tell you who killed him and why.This is the story of my life.And the story of your life and your world too, as you will see.Nico Storm and his father drive across a desolate South Africa, constantly alert for feral dogs, motorcycle gangs, nuclear contamination. They are among the few survivors of a virus that has killed most of the world's population. Young as he is, Nico realises that his superb marksmanship and cool head mean he is destined to be his father's protector.But Willem Storm, though not a fighter, is a man with a vision. He is searching for a place that can become a refuge, a beacon of light and hope in a dark and hopeless world, a community that survivors will rebuild from the ruins. And so Amanzi is born. Fever is the epic, searing story of a group of people determined to carve a city out of chaos.

Mulholland Books

You Will Pay

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

It starts as a prank - a way to blow off steam after a long summer at Camp Horseshoe. Among the teen counselors, tensions and hormones are running high. No wonder the others agree when Jo-Beth Chancellor suggests they scare Monica O'Neal a little...or a lot. Monica has it coming, and no one will really get hurt. What could go wrong?Everything. Twenty years later, Lucas Dalton, a senior detective with the sheriff's department, is investigating the discovery of human remains in a cavern at what used to be Camp Horseshoe. Lucas knows the spot well. His father, a preacher, ran the camp, and Lucas worked there that infamous summer when two girls went missing. One is believed to have been killed by a convict on the loose. Monica O'Neal is thought to have drowned and been washed out to sea. Lucas knows he should step down from such a personal case. He's already jeopardized his career by removing evidence of his involvement. But maybe it's time to uncover the whole truth at last. That's why five former female counselors are coming back to the small Oregon town - among them, Bernadette Warden, the woman Lucas has never forgotten. Each one knows something about that terrible night. Each promised not to tell. And as they reunite, a new horror unfolds. First come notes containing a personal memento and a simple, terrifying message: You will pay. Then, the murders begin.It started years ago. But it will end here - as a web of lust, greed, and betrayal is untangled to reveal a killer waiting to enact the perfect revenge.

Mulholland Books

Expecting to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Mother

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Mulholland Books

The Prometheus Man

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Hodder & Stoughton

The Gangland Girls Trilogy

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Mulholland Books

Final Scream

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

Sting

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something sparks. Shaw's dangerous vibe makes men wary and women sit up and take notice... Jordie included. It's an unlikely meeting. She doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou, but here she is...and Shaw Kinnard is there to kill her.Jordie's certain her time is up, but Shaw has other plans. He abducts her, hoping to get his hands on the thirty million dollars her brother has stolen. However, he's not the only one looking for the fortune. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits - and each other - to stay alive.Miles away from civilization, Jordie's only chance of survival is to outwit Shaw, but it soon becomes clear that neither is entirely trustworthy. Was she in on her brother's scam, or is she an innocent pawn? And just how valuable is her life to Shaw? Burning for answers - and for each other - this unlikely pair make a desperate move that could be their last. With nonstop plot twists and the tantalizing sexual tension that has made Sandra Brown one of the world's best-loved authors, STING will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final pages.

Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Sister

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Blood Sister: a free e-sampler

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Enter the East End and the Devil's Estate in this free promotional sampler for BLOOD SISTER, the first in a trilogy following one family over forty years from prizewinning author Dreda Say Mitchell. But be warned, you'll be hooked! There are two ways out of Essex Lane Estate, better known as The Devil. You make good, or you turn bad. But the choices you make and the plans you have don't always turn out like you expect. Sisters Jen and Tiff Miller are about to learn that lesson the hard way. It's a good thing they can rely on each other. Can't they?

Mulholland Books

After She's Gone

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

If She Only Knew

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

Death Trap

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Teenager Nikki Bell is the only witness to the brutal murder of two members of her family and their cleaner. She's lucky to be alive. But the murder isn't a one-off. It's part of a bigger, more violent attack planned on affluent families in the area - and now Nikki, as the only living witness, is a dangerous threat to the well-orchestrated scheme. As the net draws tighter around the killers, DI Rio Wray must do whatever it takes to keep Nikki alive. But when you're dealing with criminals, there's no line they won't cross... In a kill-or-be-killed-world, who will be first to pull the trigger?

Hodder Paperbacks

Snatched

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Friction

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown