Dreda Say Mitchell - Blood Sister: a free e-sampler - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Blood Sister: a free e-sampler

By Dreda Say Mitchell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A free sampler of BLOOD SISTER, the first in a thrilling new series from Dreda Say Mitchell, for fans of Jessie Keane and Mandasue Heller.

Enter the East End and the Devil's Estate in this free promotional sampler for BLOOD SISTER, the first in a trilogy following one family over forty years from prizewinning author Dreda Say Mitchell. But be warned, you'll be hooked!

There are two ways out of Essex Lane Estate, better known as The Devil. You make good, or you turn bad. But the choices you make and the plans you have don't always turn out like you expect. Sisters Jen and Tiff Miller are about to learn that lesson the hard way. It's a good thing they can rely on each other.

Can't they?

Biographical Notes

Born and bred in the East End of London, Dreda Say Mitchell has seen it all from the inside. After a string of jobs as a waitress, chambermaid and catering assistant she realised her dream of becoming a teacher. During this time she saw a new generation of East Enders grappling with the same problems she had but in an even more violent and unforgiving world. Dreda's books are inspired by the gritty, tough and criminal world she grew up in. She still lives in London's East End. In 2016, she became a Reading Ambassador for the Reading Agency to promote literacy and libraries.

Website: www.dredasaymitchell.com
Facebook: /dredasaymitchell
Twitter: @DredaMitchell

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473640450
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Praise for Dreda Say Mitchell — :
Breathless from the first word and thrilling to the last — Lee Child
Wonderful vivid writing and a truly original voice. — Peter James
Dreda Say Mitchell is right up there at the forefront of British crime fiction — Simon Kernick
A terrific murder mystery full of twists and turns... here is a writer who knows how to keep you gripped. Wow. — Sarah Broadhurst, LoveReading.co.uk
Spanning less than twenty-four hours, this is one of those spellbinding thrillers that literally sucks you in immediately... By the end of the book I was physically exhausted. Vendetta is a fantastic thriller. I suggest you strap in as you are in for a very bumpy and exhilarating ride! — CrimeSquad.com
An extremely well written fast-moving chase thriller, violent yet at the same time intelligently confronting the issues of loyalties and betrayals inevitably raised by undercover activities. Mitchell improves with every book — The Times
With this fast-paced, gritty and relentlessly violent expedition into the shadowy world of an undercover operative, Mitchell proves that she can go head-to-head with the best of her male peers in tough-guy action fiction. — Irish Independent
The pace of this relentlessly exciting thriller never falters... Full of guns, explosions, car chases and a terrific twist - it's fast, exciting fun — Sunday Mirror
Mulholland Books

Her Fugitive Heart

Adi Tantimedh
Authors:
Adi Tantimedh
Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Mulholland Books

Last Night

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

Last Man Standing

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The next explosive standalone thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather - more information coming soon! Praise for bestselling author Stephen Leather'The sheer impetus of his storytelling is damned hard to resist' Sunday Express'A master of the thriller genre' Irish Times'As tough as British thriller writers get' Irish Independent

Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello

'Utterly gripped me from beginning to end' Victoria Hislop | 'Move over Ferrante, there's a new Elena in town' Independent | 'There is much beauty and sadness in this slim novel' The Times | 'A novel of crime and darkness that eschews straightforward domestic noir' GuardianIn the August of 1978, the summer I met Anna Trabuio, my father took a girl into the woods...I was sixteen.He had been gone a long time already, but that was it - not even a year after he lost his job and that boy disappeared - that was when everything broke.1978. Ponte, a small community in Northern Italy. An unbearably hot summer like many others.Elia Furenti is sixteen, living an unremarkable life of moderate unhappiness, until the day the beautiful, damaged Anna returns to Ponte and firmly propels Elia to the edge of adulthood. But then everything starts to unravel.Elia's father, Ettore, is let go from his job and loses himself in the darkest corners of his mind.A young boy is murdered.And a girl climbs into a van and vanishes in the deep, dark woods...Translated by Alex Valente | Winner of an English PEN AwardLong-listed for the CWA International Dagger Award 2018

Hodder & Stoughton

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Daughter

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Mother

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Book 2 in a trilogy following one family over forty years on an East London estate, BLOOD MOTHER goes back to the 70s to tell the next story in the Flesh and Blood series, perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller. 1970s London has stopped swinging, but it's not staying still.Babs thought she had all the world ahead of her. Then she got pregnant and the father did a runner. Salvation comes in the form of a man who'll look after her. Or so she thinks. But Stan Miller is the devil in disguise...and over the next twenty years, Babs will have reason to regret she ever met him. Can she protect her family - or will he get the better of her? BLOOD MOTHER is the second thrilling book in the Flesh and Blood series, capturing a world very different from today but where some things still hold true: be careful what you wish for, and watch out for who you trust...**********Discover the FLESH AND BLOOD trilogy:Book 1: Blood SisterBook 2: Blood MotherBook 3: Blood DaughterOne False Move (Quick Read novella)**********Praise for Blood Mother'I love what I call a grit lit read and there are a few authors books I can always count on to deliver my fix, Dreda Say Mitchell is one of them' The Book Review Cafe'If you love the gritty, in your face, raw and real writing of authors like Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers, Mel Sherratt and Casey Kelleher, you will LOVE Dreda Say Mitchell!' Goodreads reviewer'Another blinder of book here, and it so deserves every single one of the 5*s I'm giving it' Vicki - I Love Reading

Hodder Paperbacks

One False Move

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Gangland Girls Trilogy

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Three thrilling stories of women making it work in the East End - amidst violence, revenge and family secrets. Geezer GirlsTen years ago, fifteen-year-old Jade Flynn and three other girls were forced to work for a man they nicknamed 'The Geezer'. Until a shocking event made them rebel. Now, the Geezer's tracked them down. He'll kill them unless they do one last job for him. This time if they disappear they won't be coming back...Gangster GirlDaisy Sullivan's father was one of London's most infamous gangsters. Haunted by his violent death, she vows to live a respectable life. But when she gets sucked back in, things go wrong fast. She'll have to use every dirty trick her dad ever taught her to stay alive...Hit GirlsTwo kids are murdered...Their gangland family want revenge, and contact the one group of people who they trust to help him find the truth...Jackie, Anna, Roxy and Ollie. Four women with shady pasts who take the cases people don't take to the cops.

Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Sister

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

John Murray

Real Tigers

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder Paperbacks

Death Trap

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Teenager Nikki Bell is the only witness to the brutal murder of two members of her family and their cleaner. She's lucky to be alive. But the murder isn't a one-off. It's part of a bigger, more violent attack planned on affluent families in the area - and now Nikki, as the only living witness, is a dangerous threat to the well-orchestrated scheme. As the net draws tighter around the killers, DI Rio Wray must do whatever it takes to keep Nikki alive. But when you're dealing with criminals, there's no line they won't cross... In a kill-or-be-killed-world, who will be first to pull the trigger?

John Murray

Dead Lions

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
John Murray

Slow Horses

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

Shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award'The UK's new spy master' Sunday TimesYou don't stop being a spook just because you're no longer in the game.Banished to Slough House from the ranks of achievers at Regent's Park for various crimes of drugs and drunkenness, lechery and failure, politics and betrayal, Jackson Lamb's misfit crew of highly trained joes don't run ops, they push paper.But not one of them joined the Intelligence Service to be a 'slow horse'.A boy is kidnapped and held hostage. His beheading is scheduled for live broadcast on the net.And whatever the instructions of the Service, the slow horses aren't going to just sit quiet and watch . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Snatched

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Mulholland Books

The Boy Who Was Buried This Morning

Joseph Hansen
Authors:
Joseph Hansen

'After forty years, Hammett has a worthy successor' The TimesDave Brandstetter stands alongside Philip Marlowe, Sam Spade and Lew Archer as one of the best fictional PIs in the business. Like them, he was tough, determined, and ruthless when the case demanded it. Unlike them, he was gay. Joseph Hansen's groundbreaking novels follow Brandstetter as he investigates cases in which motives are murky, passions run high, and nothing is ever as simple as it looks. Set in 1970s and 80s California, the series is a fascinating portrait of a time and a place, with mysteries to match Chandler and Macdonald.The 'Combat Zone' is for men playing at war, with paint rather than bullets. But when a millionaire's son is shot with a real gun, Dave is called in to find out if it's more than an accident. The case takes him to a town with its own neo-Nazi militia - not the safest place for a gay PI; but then Dave has never figured his own safety much when he's on the tracks of a killer.

Mulholland Books

A Country of Old Men

Joseph Hansen
Authors:
Joseph Hansen