Sarah Maine - Women of the Dunes - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473639720
    • Publication date:26 Jul 2018
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473639737
    • Publication date:07 Feb 2019

Women of the Dunes

By Sarah Maine

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A spellbinding and beautiful novel from a major new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of Kate Morton

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft.

On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together...

In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a foreign country after her lover is brutally killed. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house's lascivious son. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery.

When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Maine was born in England but grew up partly in Canada before returning to England for university. She studied archaeology and for many years worked in the profession but is now a freelance writer and researcher. She lives in York with her family. Sarah's debut novel was published as Bhalla Strand in the UK and as The House Between Tides in the US. Beyond the Wild River is her second novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473639713
  • Publication date: 24 Jul 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

'Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for this impressive debut...a beautifully crafted novel.' - Publishers WeeklyA captivating story of a crumbling estate in the wilds of Scotland, its century-old secret and an enduring mystery. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees.Following the death of her last living relative, Hetty Deveraux leaves London and her strained relationship behind for Muirlan, her ancestral home in Scotland - now in ruins. As Hetty dives headfirst into the repairs, she discovers a shocking secret protected by the house for a hundred years.With only whispered rumours circulating among the local villagers and a handful of leads to guide her, Hetty finds the power of the past is still affecting her present in startling ways.

Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent.'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMESScotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.*****'Stunning' Booklist'Riveting' Publishers Weekly'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Hodder & Stoughton

Noble House

James Clavell
Authors:
James Clavell

Over one hundred years have passed since Dirk Struan founded Hong Kong's oldest trading company. But now, the Noble House is in danger. As Hong Kong itself becomes the deadly playground of the CIA, the KGB and the People's Republic of China, rival tai-pans, seeking revenge for blood feuds over a century old, gather for the kill.

Hodder & Stoughton

King Rat

James Clavell
Authors:
James Clavell
Hodder & Stoughton

Gai-Jin

James Clavell
Authors:
James Clavell
John Murray

Night in Tunisia

Neil Jordan
Authors:
Neil Jordan
John Murray

Shade

Neil Jordan
Authors:
Neil Jordan
John Murray

The Book of Madness and Cures

Regina O'Melveny
Authors:
Regina O'Melveny
John Murray

River of Smoke

Amitav Ghosh
Authors:
Amitav Ghosh
Hodder & Stoughton

My Brother Michael

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a journey of murder and deceit through the dusty roads of mid-century Greece in this tale that fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym are sure to love.'The contemporary thriller at its very best' Guardian'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times'Nothing ever happens to me...' So begins Camilla Haven's letter home during her quiet holiday in Athens. But when a stranger begs her to drive a car to Delphi, swearing that it is a matter of life and death, Camilla impulsively takes the opportunity she's been offered. Before long she is caught up in a whirlwind of intrigue, deceit and murder as she spins along the dusty Greek roads in a race against time to solve a fourteen-year-old mystery.The longer I waited the less possible it seemed to walk out of the café and leave everything to settle itself without me, and the more insidiously did the other possibility begin to present itself. Dry-mouthed, I pushed it aside, but there it was, a challenge, a gift, a dare from the gods . . . 'One of the best British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent'There are few to equal Mary Stewart' Daily Telegraph

Hodder Paperbacks

Rose Cottage

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansSummer, 1947. Kate Herrick, a war widow, returns to her childhood home for a final visit before the house is sold. But Rose Cottage is not the idyllic paradise she remembers from her youth and someone has been there before her. As Kate uncovers an old secret that haunts the home she thought she knew, she is forced to confront a dark truth from her own past . . . Beyond the weedy garden with its riot of rose bushes, nothing had changed. And someone was crossing the bridge to approach the garden gate. Someone I knew well . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

A Free Woman

Libby Purves, Libby Purves
Authors:
Libby Purves, Libby Purves
Sceptre

The People's Train

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

After a long, dangerous escape from Tsarist Russia, Artem Samsurov might have reached sanctuary in Brisbane, Australia, but that doesn't stop him trying to create a socialist paradise with his fellow emigres and workmates. And despite getting entangled with an attractive female lawyer, then charged with the murder of an informer, he never loses hope that one day the revolution will come. But when he returns to Russia in 1917 to fight alongside his comrades, he cannot know whether it will succeed, or at what cost.In this enthralling novel, Thomas Keneally brings to life a seismic episode in world history from an unusual, intimate perspective. Basing his story on a real figure, he captures what it was like moment by dramatic moment for the men and women caught up in the maelstrom, and explores the passions, ideals and terrible compromises that fuelled it.

Sceptre

The Devil's Paintbrush

Jake Arnott
Authors:
Jake Arnott

Paris, 1903. Major-General Sir Hector Macdonald, one of the greatest heroes of the British Empire, is facing ruin in a shocking homosexual scandal when he meets the notorious occultist, Aleister Crowley. As they set out into the night on a wild journey through the sinful city, the story of Macdonald's tragedy begins to unfold - with startling revelations both for the General and the aspiring magician. In a tale that ranges from the battlefields of Sudan to the backstreets of Edinburgh, Jake Arnott brings alive a fascinating, forgotten figure of history, and a world trembling on the brink of a brutal new era. Black magic, Baden-Powell and Islamic revolution are just some of the ingredients in this bold and exhilarating novel, which explores imperialism, sexuality and the very nature of belief with an immediacy that resonates into the present.

Sceptre

One Morning Like a Bird

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

Tokyo, 1940. While Japan's war against China escalates, young Yuji Takano clings to his cocooned life: his beloved evenings of French conversation at Monsieur Feneon's, visits to the bathhouse with friends, his books, his poetry. But conscription looms and the mood turns against foreigners, just when Yuji gets entangled with Feneon's daughter. As the nation heads towards conflict with the Allies, Yuji must decide where his duty - and his heart - lie.

Sceptre

He Kills Coppers

Jake Arnott
Authors:
Jake Arnott
Sceptre

The Widow and her Hero

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

In 1943, when Grace and Leo Waterhouse married in Australia, they were part of a young generation ready to sacrifice themselves to win the war, while being confident they would survive. Sixty years on, as Grace recounts what happened to her doomed hero, she can say what she suspected then: that for many men, bravery is its own end. The tale she tells is one of great love, lost innocence, a charismatic but unstable Irish commander, dashing undercover missions against the Japanese in Singapore, and - in her eyes - reckless, foolhardy exploits. As fresh details continue to emerge, Grace is forced to keep revising her picture of what happened to Leo and his fellow commandoes - until she learns about the final piece in the jigsaw, and an ultimate betrayal. As absorbing as it is thought-provoking, this timely novel poses unsettling questions about what drives men to battle and heroic deeds, and movingly conveys the life-long effect on those who survive them.

Sceptre

The Welsh Girl

Peter Ho Davies
Authors:
Peter Ho Davies

In 1944, a German Jewish refugee is sent to Wales to interview Rudolf Hess; in Snowdonia, a seventeen-year-old girl, the daughter of a fiercely nationalistic shepherd, dreams of the bright lights of an English city; and in a nearby POW camp, a German soldier struggles to reconcile his surrender with his sense of honour. As their lives intersect, all three will come to question where they belong and where their loyalties lie. Peter Ho Davies's thought-provoking and profoundly moving first novel traces a perilous wartime romance as it explores the bonds of love and duty that hold us to family, country, and ultimately our fellow man. Vividly rooted in history and landscape, THE WELSH GIRL reminds us anew of the pervasive presence of the past, and the startling intimacy of the foreign.

Sceptre

The Woman Who Waited

Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
Hodder Paperbacks

Tai-Pan

James Clavell
Authors:
James Clavell