Marianne Kavanagh - Should You Ask Me - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473639331
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473639355
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473642256
    • Publication date:18 May 2017

Should You Ask Me

By Marianne Kavanagh

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A story of love, history, war, murder, revenge and unlikely friendships - sweeping and compulsive, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

'[An] ingenious page-turner' The Lady

'A delight' Guinevere Glasfurd

'I've come about the bodies. I know who they are.'

Mary is eighty-six years old, and she's tired of being quiet.

She has a story to tell, and she's only going to tell it once, so she won't be rushed.

Especially as it's not just a story, it's a confession.

Because Mary has a dark secret, buried decades before. And while William, the nice young constable, might think she just wants someone to talk to, everything she says forces him to confront his own difficult past.

A unique and poignant novel about passion, regret and heartbreak, set during one of the most tumultuous periods of modern British history.

Biographical Notes

Marianne Kavanagh is a writer and journalist. She has worked on staff for Woman, Tatler, the Sunday Telegraph magazine and British Marie Claire, and has contributed features to a wide variety of newspapers, magazines and websites. She lives in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473639362
  • Publication date: 31 May 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Charming, gleeful, a delight...brings Britain at war to vivid life — Guinevere Glasfurd, author of The Words in my Hand
An intriguing and atmospheric novel, cleverly interweaving different times and crimes through an elderly and most unreliable narrator...absorbing — Amanda Craig, author of The Lie of the Land
Vivid and brilliantly gripping. I was captivated from the first page. — Esther Freud, author of Hideous Kinky
An unputdownable combination of thriller and psychological drama — Emma Thompson
This ingenious page-turner, set in a a Dorset police station in 1944, will keep you guessing until the end...Marianne Kavanagh has produced an original brainteaser of a read — The Lady
Marianne Kavanagh's novel succeeds on so many levels. It's a thriller, a love story, a vivid portrait of wartime England, a cautionary tale, but above all, it's a fascinating study of suppressed guilt and the human need for absolution through confession. I absolutely loved it — David Haig, actor and playwright
A beautifully written and gripping novel - boldly traversing genres and historical eras, yet always compassionate, wise and humane — Joanna Kavenna, author of A Field Guide to Reality
A moving Hardy-esque story of love, lies and loss thrown into sharp relief by its vivid WW2 setting. Indomitable Mary Holmes is a memorable character. — Elisabeth Wilhide, author of If I Could Tell You
A genuinely mysterious thriller, with an intense sense of time and place - a historical novel of a very different sort — Andrew Marr