Marianne Kavanagh - Should You Ask Me - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473639331
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473639355
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473642256
    • Publication date:18 May 2017

Should You Ask Me

By Marianne Kavanagh

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A story of love, history, war, murder, revenge and unlikely friendships - sweeping and compulsive, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

'So much period atmosphere, you can practically hear the air-raid sirens.' Daily Mail

[An] ingenious page-turner' The Lady

'A delight' Guinevere Glasfurd

'I've come about the bodies. I know who they are.'

Mary is eighty-six years old, and she's tired of being quiet.

She has a story to tell, and she's only going to tell it once, so she won't be rushed.

Especially as it's not just a story, it's a confession.

Because Mary has a dark secret, buried decades before. And while William, the nice young constable, might think she just wants someone to talk to, everything she says forces him to confront his own difficult past.

A unique and poignant novel about passion, regret and heartbreak, set during one of the most tumultuous periods of modern British history.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473639362
  • Publication date: 31 May 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Charming, gleeful, a delight...brings Britain at war to vivid life — Guinevere Glasfurd, author of The Words in my Hand
An intriguing and atmospheric novel, cleverly interweaving different times and crimes through an elderly and most unreliable narrator...absorbing — Amanda Craig, author of The Lie of the Land
Vivid and brilliantly gripping. I was captivated from the first page. — Esther Freud, author of Hideous Kinky
Intriguing... Just when you think there is no way to draw all the threads to a satisfying close, Marianne Kavanagh does it. — Woman
An unputdownable combination of thriller and psychological drama — Emma Thompson
Kavanagh is a perceptive and vivid writer and this tale of ordinary lives transformed by extraordinary events has so much period atmosphere, you can practically hear the air-raid sirens. — Daily Mail
Marianne Kavanagh's novel succeeds on so many levels. It's a thriller, a love story, a vivid portrait of wartime England, a cautionary tale, but above all, it's a fascinating study of suppressed guilt and the human need for absolution through confession. I absolutely loved it — David Haig, actor and playwright
A beautifully written and gripping novel - boldly traversing genres and historical eras, yet always compassionate, wise and humane — Joanna Kavenna, author of A Field Guide to Reality
A genuinely mysterious thriller, with an intense sense of time and place - a historical novel of a very different sort — Andrew Marr
A moving Hardy-esque story of love, lies and loss thrown into sharp relief by its vivid WW2 setting. Indomitable Mary Holmes is a memorable character. — Elisabeth Wilhide, author of If I Could Tell You
A highly emotional mediation on memory, ageing, guilt, and regret... Kavanagh's multi-layered narrative considers its reliability in a compelling reflection on time and perception, whilst immersing the reader in a rich historical landscape. — Literature Works
This ingenious page-turner, set in a a Dorset police station in 1944, will keep you guessing until the end...Marianne Kavanagh has produced an original brainteaser of a read — The Lady
Very distinctive, almost genre-defying novel — Dorset Echo
It is an absolutely thrilling compelling and delightful read and the plot is so intricate. The characters are incredibly realistic and there is so much atmosphere I felt that I was transported back to the time period — Katherine's Book Universe
Should You Ask Me is an absolute master class in story-telling — Jaffa Reads Too
Should You Ask Me is one of the most unique books I've had the pleasure of reading — Passages to the Past
Part murder mystery, part historical tale, this is a read that blends both genres together in intriguing style. — Woman's Own