Hattie Collins and Olivia Rose - This Is Grime - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473639294
    • Publication date:08 Sep 2016
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473639287
    • Publication date:24 Aug 2017

This Is Grime

By Hattie Collins and Olivia Rose

  • Paperback
  • £25.00

Narrated by its originators THIS IS GRIME is the first oral history of the most influential and inventive musical culture produced in the UK in the last two decades.

Shortlisted for the Penderyn Music Book Prize 2017

13 years ago, from the depths of Bow E3, the voice of a generation emerged.

It was dark, it was angry, it was loud, it was unapologetic. It was provocative and fiercely independent.

It was the brittle sound of disillusionment, resentment and despair, but also the voice of hope...

This Is Grime.

Written by Hattie Collins (i-D, the Guardian, The Sunday Times), an authority on Grime who has documented the scene since its beginnings, and accompanied by beautiful images shot by award-winning photographer Olivia Rose solely for the book, THIS IS GRIME will have unrivaled access to the artists and influencers who have created and cultivated the culture over the past fifteen years. Telling their stories and the story of this musical culture - one of the most significant working class British subcultures of its time - in tandem.

Biographical Notes

Hattie Collins is Music Editor of i-D Magazine and a contributor to, amongst other publications, the Guardian, Man About Town and The Sunday Times. Hattie has written about Grime and its innovators since 2002, when it was just a burgeoning DIY genre with no name.

@hattiecollins

Olivia Rose is an award-winning photographer who has shot editorial for i-D, Clash, Brick, A La Champ, Boys by Girls and other high-end fashion and lifestyle publications. Working alongside Hattie for the last two years, Olivia has photographed the many characters that make up the Grime scene; from its early innovators to its current torchbearers.

@OliviaRosePhoto

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473639270
  • Publication date: 08 Sep 2016
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The New Tribalism

Kate Fox
Authors:
Kate Fox

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
John Murray

Lou Reed

Anthony DeCurtis
Authors:
Anthony DeCurtis
Chambers

The Life of a Song

David Cheal, Jan Dalley
Authors:
David Cheal, Jan Dalley
Hodder & Stoughton

Blood Daughter

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

How Not To Kill Your Plants

Nik Southern
Authors:
Nik Southern
Coronet

From Cradle to Stage

Virginia Hanlon Grohl
Authors:
Virginia Hanlon Grohl
Hodder Paperbacks

Dear Michael, Love Dad

Iain Maitland
Authors:
Iain Maitland
Hodder & Stoughton

Black Sheep and Prodigals

Dave Tomlinson
Authors:
Dave Tomlinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Blood Mother

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale

Perfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy and True Grit, The Brittle Star is the epic story of a young man's unquenchable spirit.When his mother's ranch is attacked, sixteen-year-old John Evert is wounded and left to die. But John Evert is no ordinary young man. He's a frontiersman's son, a rancher who's lived his whole life in the untamed Southern California wilderness of 1860. In a journey that will take him from the bustling young city of Los Angeles to Texas to Missouri and back, to the front lines of the American Civil War and home again, John Evert will learn the cost of vengeance and the price of forgiveness.

Hodder & Stoughton

Banished from Bow

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

A gripping romantic saga full of secrets and intrigue from the author of Time Will Tell and Jamaica Street.After being abandoned as a child in 19th-century London's East End, a ragged and terrified Harriet was eventually found and taken into Mary Dean's house in Bow. There it was decided she would be brought up as a sister to Mary and her younger brother Arthur. But seventeen years later, Harriet and Arthur have fallen in love, and Harriet is pregnant. Driven out of Bow by neighbours who spit at them, the pair are forced to seek refuge in Stepney where, for a time, they are happy. But it is not long before Harriet is forced to protect a dark secret once more. She has kept something she stole as a child: the diary of a criminal who committed terrible acts. Now the owner of the diary has returned to the East End in search of it, and will stop at nothing to get it back . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Room for a Lodger

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

A captivating romantic saga from Sally Worboyes, author of Banished from Bow and Jamaica Street.It is 1970 when 20-year-old Cathy falls in love with Johnny Dean, and becomes pregnant. A young docker, Johnny offers to marry Cathy - but what she doesn't know is that his gambling has got out of hand. He owes favours to the wrong sort and to clear his debt gets involved in a serious theft at the docks...Though Cathy is supported financially by Johnny's family, looking after a baby as a single mother isn't easy, and she's beginning to get lonely. When she meets a handsome young antiques dealer, friendship might not be enough for either of them. But will she be able to stop Johnny finding out?

Hodder & Stoughton

Wiley: The Autobiography

Wiley
Authors:
Wiley

'A lot of great artists express their greatness prolifically, but few in the history of popular music have been so consistently brilliant for so long.' Fact Magazine *** As one of the most influential figures in the UK grime scene, Wiley AKA the Godfather of Grime has paved the way for many of today's grime stars and mainstream musicians alike. From the tower blocks of Rinse FM to number one chart success he continues to be an iconic figure in urban music and the British music scene as a whole. In this, his first official autobiography, the artist formally known as Wiley Kat gives unprecedented insight into his life, the birth of the music scene that transformed London's urban culture and how he has become one of the most important musical voices of a generation.

Hodder & Stoughton

Parsnips, Buttered

Joe Lycett
Authors:
Joe Lycett
Hodder & Stoughton

Hero

Lesley-Ann Jones
Authors:
Lesley-Ann Jones
John Murray

Why We Love Music

John Powell
Authors:
John Powell

Did you know that . . .carrying a musical instrument makes you more attractive?music can cure insomnia?music can change the taste of wine?the Mozart effect has nothing to do with Mozart?Barry Manilow songs can be used for crowd control?Why does music affect you so profoundly? It impacts the way you think, talk, feel, behave and even spend money. With his conversational style, humour, and endless knowledge, scientist and musician John Powell showcases fascinating studies - for example that shoppers spend more money in stores that play classical music and, even more astounding, they are more likely to buy German wine in stores playing German music. With chapters on music and emotions, music as medicine, music and intelligence, and much more, Why We Love Music will entertain through to the very last page. A delightful journey through the psychology and science of music, Why We Love Music is the perfect book for anyone who loves a tune.

Hodder & Stoughton

Conversations with McCartney

Paul Du Noyer
Authors:
Paul Du Noyer
Two Roads

Noisy at the Wrong Times

Michael Volpe
Authors:
Michael Volpe

'Hugely entertaining and inspiring' The Sunday TimesThe inspirational and colourful memoir of Michael Volpe, the general manager of Opera Holland Park. The son of Italian immigrants, he and his brothers were raised by his mother on a council estate in West London, before he attended Woolverstone Hall, a prestigious state boarding school designed to give bright inner city boys the opportunity of a public school education. Set against a backdrop of nuns, hit men, ice cream vans, rugby, gangsters, strict school masters and music, Noisy at the Wrong Times is the vivid, funny and often moving story of a boy who was given a chance - though whether he took it or not is another question...

Hodder Paperbacks

Jamaica Street

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes