Callie Bates - The Memory of Fire - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473638815
    • Publication date:05 Jun 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473638792
    • Publication date:05 Jun 2018
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473638822
    • Publication date:14 Feb 2019
Books in this series

The Memory of Fire

The Waking Land Book II

By Callie Bates

  • Hardback
  • £17.99

Magic. Romance. Revolution. The sequel to the bold and gorgeous The Waking Land and perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and Green Rider

Magic. Romance. Revolution. The sequel to the bold and gorgeous The Waking Land.

'Bates is an author well worth watching' Robin Hobb

Jahan Korakides is the hero who saved the life of the crown prince in battle, helped win the revolution in Eren and earned the heart of Elanna, the legendary Wildegarde reborn.

But Jahan Korakides is also broken; haunted by memories of the woman who experimented on him and his brothers as children.

So when the empire threatens war in retribution for Elanna's illegal sorcery, Jahan leaves Eren to negotiate with the emperor on Queen Sophy's behalf. But the world he left has changed - riots rock the city of Ida, his brother is missing and the crown prince refuses to speak to him.

Jahan's only hope of success seems to lie with the rebels in Ida. Yet, if he joins them, he will merely spur on the war he's desperate to avoid, and risk revealing himself as a sorcerer.

And then the witch hunters arrive at court, bringing Elanna in chains.

Biographical Notes

Callie Bates is a writer, harpist and certified harp therapist, sometimes artist, and nature nerd. When she's not creating, she's hitting the trails or streets and exploring new places. She lives in the Upper Midwest. THE MEMORY OF FIRE is the sequel to her debut fantasy novel, THE WAKING LAND. She occasionally writes nonfiction. Her essays have appeared in Shambhala Sun, The Best Buddhist Writing 2012, All Things Girl and online journals.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473638808
  • Publication date: 21 Jun 2018
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
PRAISE FOR THE WAKING LAND SERIES:
Gripping... a remarkably mature, balanced addition to the story — Publisher's Weekly Starred
Jump on the wagon now, because I think Bates is an author well worth watching. — Robin Hobb
A simmering tale of magic that builds to a raging inferno, and hits like a cross between Brandon Sanderson and Pierce Brown. — Scott Sigler on The Waking Land
Clearly a writer of real talent. — Terry Brooks
A heartbreaking, enchanting, edge-of-the-seat read that held me captive from start to finish! — Tamora Pierce on The Waking Land