Callie Bates - The Waking Land - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473638747
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473638754
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018
Books in this series

The Waking Land

By Callie Bates

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

Magic. Adventure. Intrigue. Romance. Revolution. The first in an astonishing new trilogy, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J. Maas.

'Jump on the wagon now, because I think Bates is an author well worth watching' Robin Hobb

It's been fourteen years, since King Antoine took Elanna hostage. Fourteen years since her father's rebellion failed. Fourteen years spent being raised by the man who condemned her people to misery. A man she's come to love as a father.

Now 20, Elanna is about to be taken prisoner once again... but this time by her father's mysterious righthand man.

Her father wants to reignite his rebellion, this time using Elanna as figurehead. He will tell his followers she is the legendary Wildegarde reborn, a sorceress who could make the very earth tremble.

But what no one knows is that magic really does flow through Elanna's veins. Now she must decide which side she's on, and whether she'll use her powers for mercy... or revenge.

A bold and gorgeous fantasy featuring a brilliant heroine on the cusp of womanhood, The Waking Land is the first of a trilogy that will delight fans of The Red Queen, Six of Crows, and Court of Thorns and Roses.

~*~*~Wildegarde came bearing a flame in her heart and her hair crowned with the pale light of stars. Where she placed her feet, the earth trembled. Where she raised her hand, mountains moved.~*~*~

Biographical Notes

Callie Bates is a writer, harpist and certified harp therapist, sometimes artist, and nature nerd. When she's not creating, she's hitting the trails or streets and exploring new places. She lives in the Upper Midwest. Her debut fantasy novel, THE WAKING LAND, is forthcoming in 2017. She occasionally writes nonfiction. Her essays have appeared in Shambhala Sun, The Best Buddhist Writing 2012, All Things Girl and online journals.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473638723
  • Publication date: 29 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Jump on the wagon now, because I think Bates is an author well worth watching — Robin Hobb
A simmering tale of magic that builds to a raging inferno, and hits like a cross between Brandon Sanderson and Pierce Brown. — Scott Sigler
Callie Bates has written an exciting and involving first book, and she is clearly a writer of real talent . — Terry Brooks
A heartbreaking, enchanting, edge-of-the-seat read that held me captive from start to finish! — Tamora Pierce
The Waking Land is all about rising to challenges, and it succeeds wonderfully. — Charlaine Harris
The kind of enthusiastic fantasy debut that is always fun to wade into... For readers who delight in folklore-based fantasy, it's a joy to power through — SciFiNow
Hodder & Stoughton

Early Riser

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde
Hodder Paperbacks

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
Hodder & Stoughton

Nightblood

Elly Blake
Authors:
Elly Blake

Hodder & Stoughton

From Twinkle, With Love

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon
Hodder & Stoughton

Legendary

Stephanie Garber
Authors:
Stephanie Garber
Hodder & Stoughton

The Memory of Fire

Callie Bates
Authors:
Callie Bates
Hodder & Stoughton

The Sun's Domain

Rebecca Levene
Authors:
Rebecca Levene
Hodder Paperbacks

Generation Next: The Takeover

Oli White
Authors:
Oli White
Hodder & Stoughton

Fireblood

Elly Blake
Authors:
Elly Blake
Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards

CITY OF CIRCLES is an entrancing love story between Danu and Morrie, two circus performers, and Danu's Lewis Carroll-esque odyssey through the magical city of Matryoshka, that ends with a heart-warming yet bittersweet twist. Danu is a tightrope walker who is mourning her parents, after a disease has ravaged the circus where she grew up. Her mother has entrusted her with a locket that hides a secret. Over the years, Danu pushes away her grief and develops elaborate and successful high-wire acts with Morrie, a charismatic hunchback who wants to marry her. When the circus returns to Danu's birthplace, Matryoshka, Danu is enchanted by the temples, spice mists, and pleasure seekers within the intoxicating outer circle district. Here, she finally gains the courage to open her mother's locket, and discovers the name of a stranger who lives behind the locked gate of the Inner Circle. Fated to remain in Matryoshka, Danu attempts to resolve this mystery . . .Will she and Morrie ever be reunited, or will something far more unexpected be waiting for her in the mysterious heart of the city?

Hodder & Stoughton

The New World

Scott K. Andrews
Authors:
Scott K. Andrews
Hodder & Stoughton

The Witchwood Crown

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Thirty years ago Ineluki, the Storm King, was destroyed and his armies scattered. Osten Ard has been at peace ever since, ruled by Simon Snowlock, kitchen boy made king, and Miriamele, King Elias' only child. But now age weighs upon their reign. Simon's dreams have deserted him, old allies die and betrayal and assassination threaten. His son and heir John Josua is years dead and his grandson, Morgan, is a wastrel. A journey of redemption and discovery beckons in the darkening world.And in the frozen North, in Nakkiga, the mountain fortress, Ineluki's ally, the Norn Queen, wakes from her deep, decades-long sleep and tells her followers that she will sleep no more. Humanity must be destroyed. Her sorcerers will bring a demon back from death, her warriors will seek the world for living dragon's blood...And finally the greatest artefact of all, the Witchwood Crown, will be hers. With a cast of hundreds - humans, giants, dragons, trolls, Sithi and Norn - The Witchwood Crown is epic fantasy as it used to be: classic, grand and sweeping and evidence that Tad Williams is the greatest living writer of the form.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Heart of What Was Lost

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Flame in the Mist

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh
Hodder Paperbacks

Children of Earth and Sky

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay

Guy Gavriel Kay, bestselling author of the groundbreaking novels Under Heaven and River of Stars, once again visits a world that evokes one that existed in our own past, this time the tumultuous period of Renaissance Europe-a world on the verge of war, where ordinary lives play out in the grand scheme of kingdoms colliding.From the small coastal town of Senjan, notorious for its pirates , a young woman sets out to find vengeance for her lost family. That same spring, from the wealthy city-state of Seressa, famous for its canals and lagoon, come two very different people: a young artist traveling to the dangerous east to paint the Grand Khalif at his request-and possibly to do more-and a beautiful oman, posing as a doctor's wife in her role of a spy.The trading ship that carries them is commanded by the clever younger son of a merchant family -with ambivalence about the life he's been born to live. And farther east a boy trains to become a soldier in the elite infantry of the khalif-to win glory in the war everyone knows is coming.As these lives entwine, their fates-and those of many others-will hang in the balance, when the khalif sends out his massive army to take the great fortress that is the gateway to the western world...

Coronet

Night of Sorrows

Graham Hancock
Authors:
Graham Hancock

Cortés and his small army of Conquistadors enter Tenochtitlan, the island city of the Aztecs, as guests of the psychotic emperor Moctezuma who plans to trap them there and kill them all. In a stunning coup, Cortés acts first, taking the emperor hostage and ruling the Aztecs through him. All of Mexico seems about to fall into his hands until a report comes from the coast of the arrival of a new force of Spaniards with more than three times his numbers, sent not to strengthen him but to attack him and wrest the conquest from him. Faced with the choice of abject surrender or war with fellow Spaniards Cortés chooses war and marches out to do battle but, in so doing he fatally weakens his garrison in Tenochtitlan and throws open the doors of Hell.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Book of Lost Things Illustrated Edition

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

'A brilliantly creepy coming of age novel' Daily Mirror'A moving fable, brilliantly imagined, about the agony of loss and the pain of young adulthood' The Times'This is no saccharine fairytale, but an eerie fable that's perfect for long winter nights' Daily Mail This illustrated edition includes two new short stories - Cinderella, A Version and The Rat King, the latter introducing the Crooked Man who is central to the world of The Book of Lost Things - and an afterword from the author.'Once upon a time, there was a boy who lost his mother . . .' As twelve-year-old David takes refuge from his grief in the myths and fairytales so beloved of his dead mother, he finds the real world and the fantasy world begin to blend. That is when bad things start to happen. That is when the Crooked Man comes. And David is violently propelled into a land populated by heroes, wolves and monsters in his quest to find the legendary Book of Lost Things.

Hodder & Stoughton

Strange the Dreamer

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Hodder & Stoughton

Caraval: the mesmerising Sunday Times bestseller

Stephanie Garber
Authors:
Stephanie Garber