Talulah Riley - Acts of Love: a sizzling and sexy escapist romance perfect for summer - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473637900
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2016
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473637887
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017

Acts of Love: a sizzling and sexy escapist romance perfect for summer

By Talulah Riley

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'An engaging love story with a truly unique heroine' - Heat. Perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's ELIGIBLE and David Nicholls' ONE DAY.

'I read this compulsively in one sitting - it's the best escapism you'll have all summer!' - Amazon reviewer

ACTS OF LOVE is a wonderfully romantic love story to make your heart soar, perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Eligible.

Bernadette knows what she wants.

Tim is perfect, and she's always had a feeling that something is about to happen between them.

He might have just announced his engagement to the sickeningly wonderful Elizabeth, but the ring's not on his finger yet.

And when Elizabeth starts meddling in Bernie's own love life, she knows it's time to act.

Yes, Elizabeth's best friend Radley might be charming, charismatic and intelligent.

But he's not Tim.

And Bernadette's not a woman who takes no for an answer.

'Talulah Riley is an absolute force of nature. Read and revel' - Eva Rice

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473637894
  • Publication date: 11 Aug 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
A bold story of love and deception, with a fascinating main character — Woman's Own
[An] elegantly written debut... Riley is obviously super smart and has an old-fashioned, modernist sort of style that makes you think. I loved it. — Daily Mail
A refreshing love story about the importance of independence and destiny — Marie Claire
A fluid and engaging love story with a truly unique heroine — Heat
It is a weaving tale of will-they-wont-they that Riley spins here, one that I found myself unable to put down... this novel certainly meets expectations. — The Book Bag
Acts of Love is a total joy. [Talulah Riley] is an absolute force of nature. As is her lead character. Read and revel — Eva Rice, author of The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets
Sceptre

Glow

Ned Beauman
Authors:
Ned Beauman
Hodder Paperbacks

Turning Thirty

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

Unlike most people Matt Beckford is actually looking forward to turning thirty. At last, he thinks his career, finances and love life are all sorted. But life has other plans, and after splitting up with his girlfriend Matt is forced to move back in with his parents.This scenario soon has Matt feeling nostalgic, and desperate for some sanity. So, one by one, he tracks down his old school mates - the rest of the Magnificent Seven.But when you're turning thirty nothing's as simple as it used to be.

Hodder Paperbacks

Rebel Bride (Lust in the Tudor court - Book Two)

Elizabeth Moss
Authors:
Elizabeth Moss
Hodder & Stoughton

Panic

Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver
Hodder Paperbacks

A Hundred Pieces of Me

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon
Two Roads

Eleven Days

Lea Carpenter
Authors:
Lea Carpenter

LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2014'SUPERB' - SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE, LONDON EVENING STANDARD BOOKS OF THE YEAR 2013'EXTRAORDINARY' - KEVIN POWERS, AUTHOR OF THE YELLOW BIRDS'THINK HOMELAND IN FICTION FORM...' - RED'AN EXTRAORDINARILY GIFTED WRITER' - MICHIKO KAKUTANI, NEW YORK TIMESEleven Days is, at its heart, the story of a mother and a son.It begins in May 2011: Sara's son Jason has been missing for nine days in the aftermath of a special operations forces mission. Out of devotion to him, Sara has made herself knowledgeable about things military, but she knows nothing more about her son's disappearance than the press corps camped out in her driveway. In a series of flashbacks we learn about Jason's absentee father - a man who died, according to "insiders," helping to make the country safer - and Jason's decision to join the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis after 9/11 and enter into the toughest military training in the world: for the U.S. Naval Special Warfare's Navy SEAL Teams. Through letters Jason wrote his mother while training, we see him becoming a strong, compassionate leader. But his fate will be determined by events that fall outside the sphere of his training, and far outside the strong embrace of his mother's love. As well as a touching picture of the bond between a mother and a son this is a unique look into the training, history and culture of one of the world's elite forces. Page-turning and haunting, this is an astonishing debut which questions the very nature of sacrifice and love.

Sceptre

The Tell-Tale Heart

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat

Edward Kelsey Moore
Authors:
Edward Kelsey Moore
John Murray

The Demolition of the Century

Duncan Sarkies
Authors:
Duncan Sarkies

'Twisted, surprising and very very very funny. Did I put too many verys? I don't think so' Jemaine Clement, Flight of the Conchords, on Two Little Boys Tom Spotswood (a.k.a. William McGinty) is an insurance investigator who has lost his socks, his suitcase, his career, his ex-wife, and most importantly, his son, Frank.He is being followed by Robert Valentine, the mysterious owner of the horse with no sperm; Alastair Shook and his van of teenage guards; and Spud, a demolition man who is using his wrecking ball to bring down the most beautiful movie theatre in town, the Century.To find his son he will have to come to terms with his past - a past he ran away from. But first he will have to find those socks.The Demolition of the Century appeals to fans of kooky, quirky humour similar to Flight of the Conchords.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Kiss Goodbye

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Two Roads

Red Hook Road

Ayelet Waldman
Authors:
Ayelet Waldman

In the aftermath of a devastating wedding day, two families, the Tetherlys and the Copakens, find their lives unraveled by unthinkable loss. Over the course of the next four summers in Red Hook, Maine, they struggle to bridge differences of class and background to honor the memory of the couple, Becca and John. As Waldman explores the unique and personal ways in which each character responds to the tragedy--from the budding romance between the two surviving children, Ruthie and Matt, to the struggling marriage between Iris, a high strung professor in New York, and her husband Daniel--she creates a powerful family portrait and a beautiful reminder of the joys of life.Elegantly written and emotionally gripping, RED HOOK ROAD affirms Waldman's place among today's most talented authors.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Love Detective

Alexandra Potter
Authors:
Alexandra Potter
Two Roads

Under the Wide and Starry Sky

Nancy Horan
Authors:
Nancy Horan
Hodder Paperbacks

Darkest Fear (Birthright Book One)

Cate Tiernan
Authors:
Cate Tiernan

What is your birthright? Vivi Neves has rejected everything her parents hold dear - their heritage, culture, traditions - and their dark family secret: they're haguari - cat people, shapeshifters who turn into jaguars, as their ancestors have done for thousands of years. Then, tragically, her parents are killed. Vivi can cling to her own beliefs and live her life the way she wants -or she can embrace her heritage and avenge her parents' deaths. With danger closing in on her, her decision is forced . . . and she's pulled deeper into a mystery that gets darker and more dangerous until finally she must face her heritage . . . or die.

Hodder & Stoughton

Roomies

Sarah Zarr, Tara Altebrando
Authors:
Sarah Zarr, Tara Altebrando

An engaging and heart-warming 'two voice' story of an East Coast/West Coast digital friendship that begins when Elizabeth emails her soon-to-be college roommate, Lauren. On the cusp of freedom during their last summer before starting a new independent life away from home, they discover the catharsis that an anonymous email friendship can bring as they chronicle the tension, excitement and anxiety of leaving their homes, falling in love, and finding the right mini-fridge.

Hodder & Stoughton

Youngblood Hawke

Herman Wouk
Authors:
Herman Wouk
Hodder Paperbacks

Holy War

Jack Hight
Authors:
Jack Hight
Hodder & Stoughton

Anarchy

James Treadwell
Authors:
James Treadwell

I am everything no longer forgotten.I banish forgetting.My seed has grown and become prophecy.Truth walks the world above.Magic is risen to the world once more.In Cornwall, they have seen it rise: in an angel of death and endless, unseasonal snow.Across the ocean, on a remote Canadian island, the blood and offerings and smoke of England seem nothing more than distant rumours of hysteria.Until the girl disappears. And the whale comes. And The Plague spreads.And nothing is as it was before.

Sceptre

Grace and Mary

Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg

John visits his ageing mother Mary in her nursing home by the sea, and mourns the slow fading of her mind. Hoping to shore up her memory, he prompts her with songs, photographs and questions about the 1940s, when she was a young woman and he a child in a small Cumbrian town. But he finds that most of all it is her own mother she longs for - Grace, the mother she barely knew. John sets out to recreate their buried family history, delving into the secrets and silences of Mary's fractured childhood as he imagines the life of her spirited mother. Reaching from the late 19th century to the present, this becomes a deeply moving, reflective elegy on three generations linked by a chain of love, loss, and courage.

Sceptre

Cooking With Bones

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards

My sister is a formwanderer: she is a mirror of want. Each person she meets sees what they want, when they look at her. And she changes for each pair of eyes.Two sisters, fleeing the city of Paradon, find their way to a village by the sea, where Old Kelp's cottage - and her recipe book - await them.Amber feels this is where she finally belongs, baking honey cakes each night for the villagers to collect in the morning, using a set of bone spoons that allow her to add truth, lust and confusion to her pies and puddings.Her little sister Maya is a formwanderer, engineered to reflect the wants of others. All her life she has been like a twin to Amber, but now Amber has changed her mind, and wants Maya to learn how to be herself.Kip, a child growing up amongst the songs and stories of the village, delivers Amber's ingredients. When an act of terrible violence stirs and sets free the secrets of a generation, only one of these three can reveal the truth . . .