Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, and Anna Rosling Rönnlund - Factfulness - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473637467
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473637665
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018

Factfulness

By Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, and Anna Rosling Rönnlund

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Biographical Notes

Hans Rosling was an international phenomenon thanks to the work he did alongside his son and daughter-in-law, Ola and Anna Rosling. His TED Talks have been cumulatively viewed over 20 million times, Bill Gates cites him as "a true inspiration," and he was named on of TIME's 100 most influential people. Hans Rosling died of pancreatic cancer in January 2017, but Ola and Anna continue his work through their widely successful organization The Gapminder Foundation.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473637481
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Hodder & Stoughton

Go Ask Fannie Farmer

Elisabeth Hyde
Authors:
Elisabeth Hyde

Hodder & Stoughton

An Impossible Marriage

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

This Bed They Centre

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Hodder & Stoughton

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

Never Go There: a gripping psychological thriller with a twist that'll shock you to the core

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

What if you found out that you'd been married to a stranger? 'Never go there, Nuala. Please, never go there.'Nuala knows nothing of her husband James's past. He made her swear that she would never contact his family and never, EVER visit the place he was from.But now James is dead, and Nuala is alone. Grieving and desperate, she decides to ignore his warning.Nuala is about to find out that some secrets are better left buried - and that uncovering the truth about the man she married will have terrible consequences...Compulsive, disturbing and utterly addictive, NEVER GO THERE is a thrilling psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Linda Green, Louise Jensen and Jenny Blackhurst.

Hodder & Stoughton

Nightblood

Elly Blake
Authors:
Elly Blake

Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre: a gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

The Blink of an Eye

Rikke Schmidt Kjaergaard
Authors:
Rikke Schmidt Kjaergaard

The powerful and moving memoir by a scientist and mother of three of how she learned to live again after a sudden severe infection caused her to die but then revive with 'locked-in syndrome' - only able to blink an eye. With a foreword by Bill Bryson.At the age of 38, Rikke Schmidt Kjaergaard, a Danish scientist, wife and mother of three, is struck down by an acute bout of bacterial meningitis. She awakes from a coma in intensive care to find herself completely paralysed, unable to show she is conscious except by blinking her eye. It becomes her only form of communication as in the months that follow, Kjaergaard's husband Peter sits beside her helping to interpret every eye movement. She struggles with every basic of life - painfully learning how to breathe, move, eat and speak again. Despite being given a five per cent chance of survival, she works intensively to recover and achieve every small breakthrough. The Blink of an Eye is a celebration of love and family and every little thing that matters when life is in the balance - written by a scientist uniquely able to describe her physical and mental journey to recovery.

Teach Yourself

The Survival Manual

Jason Polley
Authors:
Jason Polley
Two Roads

Two Steps Forward

Graeme Simsion, Anne Buist
Authors:
Graeme Simsion, Anne Buist

A story of mid-life and second chances from Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project, and his wife Anne BuistSoon to be a film produced by Ellen DeGeneresZoe, a sometime artist, is from California. Martin, an engineer, is from Yorkshire. Both have ended up in picturesque Cluny, in central France. Both are struggling to come to terms with their recent past - for Zoe, the death of her husband; for Martin, a messy divorce.Looking to make a new start, each sets out alone to walk two thousand kilometres from Cluny to Santiago de Compostela, in northwestern Spain, in the footsteps of pilgrims who have walked the Camino (the Way) for centuries. The Camino changes you, it's said. It's a chance to find a new version of yourself, and a new beginning. But can these two very different people find themselves? Will they find each other? In this smart, funny and romantic journey, Martin's and Zoe's stories are told in alternating chapters by husband-and-wife team Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist. Two Steps Forward is a novel about renewal - physical, psychological and spiritual. It's about the challenge of walking a long distance and of working out where you are going. And it's about what you decide to keep, what you choose to leave behind and what you rediscover.

Hodder & Stoughton

Ships of Mercy

Don Stephens
Authors:
Don Stephens

Hodder & Stoughton

Finding Sisu

Katja Pantzar
Authors:
Katja Pantzar

Finnish-born writer Katja Pantzar was raised and educated in Canada, where the consumerist and materially obsessed culture left her feeling empty and unhappy. When she received treatment for depression in her mid-20s, the doctor treating her simply prescribed medication and sleeping pills, no thought given to her lifestyle.After moving to Finland, Katja discovered sisu: the Finnish approach to well being defined by a special kind of resilience, grit and courage. She embraced this way of living and experienced a dramatic turnaround in her health and happiness. Simple, functional exercise (as simple as riding her bike to work), the Nordic diet,spending time in nature and water together with a more courageous outlook, all served to transform Pantzar's life: her anxieties, fatigue and pain left behind in the sea. In Finding Sisu, Pantzar offers an honest (no place is perfect - Finland is not an exception) and uplifting account of her physical and psychological health transformation from a slightly lethargic depressive into an energetic optimist. She examines the link between sisu and the Nordic reputation for excellent wellbeing and overall life satisfaction, and looks at the ways in which we, too, can apply sisu to our lives - wherever we may be. Finding Sisu is a personal but also practical approach to the power of this 500-year-old philosophy and how it can help us all to lead healthier, happier - and braver lives.

Two Roads

Pie and Mash on the Roman Road

Melanie McGrath
Authors:
Melanie McGrath
Mulholland Books

The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Defining You

Fiona Murden
Authors:
Fiona Murden

Yellow Kite

WTF Should I Eat?

Mark Hyman
Authors:
Mark Hyman
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017'A quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable' The Economist'A cleverly constructed rural Gothic fable . . . Elmet is a marvellous achievement' TLS'Pastoral idyll, political exposé, cosy family saga and horror tale, it reads like a traditional children's story that turns into a gangster film: Hansel and Gretel meets The Godfather' Sunday TimesDaniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned menacing and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them in the woods with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. Cathy was more like their father: fierce and full of simmering anger. Daniel was more like their mother: gentle and kind. Sometimes, their father disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.Brutal and beautiful in equal measure, Elmet is a compelling portrayal of a family living on the fringes of contemporary society, as well as a gripping exploration of the disturbing actions people are capable of when pushed to their limits.

Hodder & Stoughton

Done

Jacques Peretti
Authors:
Jacques Peretti

'A revelatory book' John Lewis-Stempel'The book to read' GQPraise for The Billion Dollar Deals and How They're Changing Our World, the TV documentary which accompanies the book:'So brilliant, you want to take notes... It's a brilliant concept brilliantly executed.' Lucy Mangan, Guardian What if the way we understand our world is wrong? What if it isn't politicians and events that shape our lives, but secret deals made by people you've never heard of?This book tells the story of the secret deals that are changing the world, and revolutionizing everything we do, including money, the food we eat, what we buy, and the drugs we take to stay well. These deals never make the news: they are made high up in boardrooms, on golf courses, and in luxury cars: each sealed by world-changing handshakes. This is the story of those handshakes.