Britta Bolt - Lives Lost - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444787313
    • Publication date:07 May 2015
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444787306
    • Publication date:25 Feb 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444787320
    • Publication date:07 May 2015

Lives Lost

Pieter Posthumus Mystery 2

By Britta Bolt
Read by Andrew Cullum

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A murder in Amsterdam's red light district leads Posthumus to uncover a tragic tale from the past, in a gripping Dutch crime novel perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Michael Dibdin.

A minute can make all the difference...

Pieter Posthumus is enjoying a quiet drink in his favourite bar when the screaming starts. A minute later, the owner of the guesthouse next door rushes in: one of her tenants has been murdered.

Marloes, the guesthouse owner, is an odd but kind soul. Posthumus cannot believe it when she is arrested - for both her tenant Zig's murder and another death years before. He knows there are questions unanswered: what is the link between the two cases? Why are people so keen to think Marloes is guilty? And why did Zig paint just one picture every year - a copy of a Dutch master, but with one peculiar twist?

As his investigation progresses, he comes to see that a few minutes can mean all the difference in the world: between saving a life and taking one; between innocence and guilt. And that sometimes asking questions leads to a truth that's hard to bear.

(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

Biographical Notes

Britta Bolt is the pseudonym of the South African-born novelist and travel writer Rodney Bolt and the German former lawyer Britta Boehler, who has worked on high-profile terrorism and security cases. Britta Bolt was 'born' in January 2010, when Britta Boehler, on holiday and reading her favourite detective fiction, felt the urge to turn her past experience into a novel. Rodney Bolt was at home, writing biographies and travel stories, and dreaming of doing the same. Soon afterwards, they had teamed up to write a crime series set in their beloved adopted city Amsterdam.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473634602
  • Publication date: 15 Nov 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton