Paul Crilley - Poison City - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473631618
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473631625
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2016
Books in this series

Poison City

Delphic Division 1

By Paul Crilley

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The first novel in the South African supernatural-crime series, Becky Chambers raves 'Crilley's magical world ain't kid stuff. If you like your spellcraft dangerous, exhilarating, and chillingly double-edged, look no further.'

Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher. Poison City is 'a huge amount of fun' SciFiNow

The name's Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things - finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I'm going to do to the bastard when I catch him.

I have two friends in my life. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone's mother than a cop. Don't let that fool you.

The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks. He's an alcoholic. And he's a mean drunk.

Life is pretty routine - I solve crimes, I search for my daughter's killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I'm called out to the murder of a ramanga - a low-key vampire. It looks like an open and shut case. There's even CCTV footage of the killer.

Except... the face on the CCTV footage? It's the face of the man who killed my daughter.

And that's just the beginning of the trouble I'm about to get into.

Biographical Notes

Paul Crilley is a Scotsman adrift in South Africa and has been writing professionally for the past 17 years. In that time he has worked on over thirteen television shows, one of which was nominated for an international Emmy award.

He has worked with Fox Television, written ten novels, worked on five computer games, and is currently making his way in the comic book field. (He conceptualized the entire story and wrote three issues of the six issue comic book mini-series, X-Files: Conspiracy, where he had to come up with a story that brought The Transformers, Ghostbusters, The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and The Crow into one coherent story.

He recently completed an X-Files novella and a Hardy Boys novel. Poison City is his debut adult novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473631601
  • Publication date: 16 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Crilley's magical world ain't kid stuff. If you like your spellcraft dangerous, exhilarating, and chillingly double-edged, look no further. — Becky Chambers, author of THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET on POISON CITY
Steeped in sun, sin, whiskey and magic, I devoured Poison City. Rarely has policing the impending apocalypse been so awesome. Sequel now! — Claire North on POISON CITY
A sarcastic, demon-fighting cop with magic dragon tattoos and an alcoholic talking dog as a sidekick... Poison City is everything you never knew you wanted in a book. Buy it now! — Krysten Ritter on POISON CITY
An early Tarantino version of an urban fantasy... The war is coming, says the cover; given this first battle, it's going to be one hell of a ride. — Starburst on POISON CITY
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Age

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

The Orphanage of Gods

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan

A magical, thrilling stand-alone novel from teenage writing sensation Helena Coggan who has been hailed as 'the next J. K. Rowling' (Today Programme, USA)************Praise for Helena Coggan's 'The Catalyst''This year's Divergent' - Sun 'A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed' - Observer'A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot' - Metro

Mulholland Books

The Pandora Equation

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Hodder & Stoughton

Empire of Grass

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Hodder & Stoughton

A Supposedly Happy Occasion

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in the Highlands of 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

Hodder & Stoughton

Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin'

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to the critically acclaimed Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones. Since the slaughter of her people, Ailia has been living, alone, in the forest. It is a time of deep healing and communing with the earth and its spirits - the Mothers. But now, Ailia has regained enough strength to return to the tribes, and rejoin the war. She goes to Llanmelin, a major tribal centre in southeast Wales, where the British war king, Caradog has been leading a bitter guerrilla campaign against the encroaching Roman army. Ailia and Caradog begin a passionate relationship - but as the Roman general Scapula becomes ever more determined to claim the rich roils of Wales, pressure mounts for a final battle that will determine the future of Britain. As the battle approaches, Ailia must use her powers to protect, forever, what is most sacred amongst her people. The future of Britain will depend upon her success.

Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

A woman jumps to her death. She looks a lot like washed up beauty queen Didi Storm, but her daughter is adamant: that's not her mother. To solve the mystery of who jumped - and why - Remmi Storm and cop Dani Settler have to go back to the start, to a deal conducted in the Las Vegas desert 22 years ago, which went terribly wrong...A fast-paced thriller for fans for Lisa Gardner and Karen Rose, with Lisa Jackson's trademark mix of dark secrets and stunning twists.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Moscow Deception

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

The Memory of Fire

Callie Bates
Authors:
Callie Bates
Hodder & Stoughton

Smoke in the Sun

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh
Coronet

The Cloven

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling
Mulholland Books

Murder at the Grand Raj Palace

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Beast's Heart

Leife Shallcross
Authors:
Leife Shallcross

A sumptuously magical, brand new take on a tale as old as time - read the Beast's side of the story at long last.*********'Utterly Enchanting!' - Kate Forsyth, author of Bitter Greens and The Wild Girl'What a delight! This is a beautifully crafted, deeply romantic reworking of the fairy tale. Leife Shallcross opens a brand new window onto the old story, creating a cast of engaging characters whose fates we really care about' - Juliet Marillier, author of the Blackthorn & Grim series*********I am neither monster nor man - yet I am both. I am the Beast. I know why I was cursed; I know the legacy of evil I carry in my tainted blood. So how could she ever love me? My Isabeau. She opened my eyes, my mind and my heart when I was struggling just to be human. And now I might lose her forever. Lose yourself in this gorgeously rich and magical retelling of The Beauty and the Beast that finally lays bare the beast's heart.

Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?And how far would someone go to get revenge?The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Hodder & Stoughton

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ultimatum

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

The first thriller in the Guardian series by New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards, perfect for fans of Karen Rose and Sandra Brown.Bianca St. Ives is smart, talented and beautiful. She's also a high-end thief, a master manipulator, a card shark, and a genius of disguise.A femme fatale Robin Hood running a multinational firm with her father, she makes a living swindling con men out of money they stole and giving it back to those who should rightfully have it. Her father has prepared her well to carry on the family business, and now the prodigy has surpassed the master.But her latest mission didn't go to plan - millions of dollars and top secret government documents went missing, and her father was supposedly killed. But not everyone believes in his death, including the US government. They'll stop at nothing to capture Richard St. Ives - a high-value target who has been on most-wanted lists all over the world - even if it means using Bianca as bait. With only a fellow criminal for backup and her life on the line, it's up to Bianca to uncover the terrifying truth behind what really happened . . . and set it right, before it's too late.