Susan Beale - The Good Guy - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473630345
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2016
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473630369
    • Publication date:09 Mar 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473630352
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2016

The Good Guy

Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016

By Susan Beale

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

A brilliant first novel about love, marriage and self-deception

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016

A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather.

Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear.

The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

Biographical Notes

Susan Beale was brought up on Cape Cod and now lives in the UK. She is a recent graduate of the Bath Spa MA in Creative Writing. The Good Guy is her first novel. It was shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473630338
  • Publication date: 16 Jun 2016
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: John Murray
A joy — Samantha Harvey, author of The Wilderness
Inspired by the author's own experience, The Good Guy is a story of marriage, self-deception and the pressure to conform in Sixties suburban New England — i
A delicious, slightly gossipy summer read with a Mad Men feel to it. I'd especially recommend this to readers who enjoyed The Longest Night by Andria Williams and Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann — Bookbag
There's definitely a Mad Men vibe to The Good Guy — Red, Best Books to Read this June
Fresh and lively — Daily Mail
Beale has crafted an engaging and harrowing portrait of womanhood and domestic life, astutely exploring the many ways in which distance and proximity can co-exist — Times Literary Supplement
Extremely well-written, intelligent and perceptive, this also happens to be a novel that slips down like ice-cream on a hot day. I absolutely loved it — Shiny New Books