Belva Plain - The Sight of the Stars - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340734797
    • Publication date:16 Feb 2004

The Sight of the Stars

By Belva Plain

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A spectacular novel from popular romantic saga author Belva Plain.

The Sight of the Stars chronicles four generations of the remarkable Anring family as they journey across a teeming canvas of history, through world wars and the close of a century, through years of love, loss, sacrifice and unimaginable betrayal.

It is about what happens when we dare to dream, and the moments that can change families forever.

Biographical Notes

Belva Plain's first novel, EVERGREEN, was published in 1978 and became an international bestseller. Over the course of a career spanning three decades she published over twenty bestselling novels in 22 languages. She died at the age of ninety five in 2010.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473627635
  • Publication date: 24 Mar 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Winter In Paradise

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

A Little Moment of Peace for Children

Jenny Meldrum
Authors:
Jenny Meldrum

'Your peace is a gift that draws me into your arms of love'.A Little Moment of Peace invites children to experience a short time of stillness and calm in everyday life. Amid the stressors of an ever-changing world, the need to find a moment of peace is valuable as it is necessary. This collection of beautifully illustrated books brings peace to young children who need reassurance of God's love and comfort in their lives. Each illustration is placed alongside an inspirational Bible reference which allows room for reflection and encouragement for children. Designed to enjoy through individual reading or with an older family member, this series allow parents and grandparents to read alongside their young ones to share in the experience of slowing-down and valuing the precious stillness of God's peace.

Hodder & Stoughton

Little Moments Book 2

Jenny Meldrum
Authors:
Jenny Meldrum

'Your peace is a gift that draws me into your arms of love'.A Little Moment of Peace invites children to experience a short time of stillness and calm in everyday life. Amid the stressors of an ever-changing world, the need to find a moment of peace is valuable as it is necessary. This collection of beautifully illustrated books brings peace to young children who need reassurance of God's love and comfort in their lives. Each illustration is placed alongside an inspirational Bible reference which allows room for reflection and encouragement for children. Designed to enjoy through individual reading or with an older family member, this series allow parents and grandparents to read alongside their young ones to share in the experience of slowing-down and valuing the precious stillness of God's peace.

Hodder & Stoughton

Little Moments Book 3

Jenny Meldrum
Authors:
Jenny Meldrum

'Your peace is a gift that draws me into your arms of love'.A Little Moment of Peace invites children to experience a short time of stillness and calm in everyday life. Amid the stressors of an ever-changing world, the need to find a moment of peace is valuable as it is necessary. This collection of beautifully illustrated books brings peace to young children who need reassurance of God's love and comfort in their lives. Each illustration is placed alongside an inspirational Bible reference which allows room for reflection and encouragement for children. Designed to enjoy through individual reading or with an older family member, this series allow parents and grandparents to read alongside their young ones to share in the experience of slowing-down and valuing the precious stillness of God's peace.

Hodder & Stoughton

Little Moments Book 4

Jenny Meldrum
Authors:
Jenny Meldrum
Hodder & Stoughton

Little Moments Book 5

Jenny Meldrum
Authors:
Jenny Meldrum
Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of the Shackdwellers

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy
Coronet

The Owl at the Window

Carl Gorham
Authors:
Carl Gorham

The Owl at the Window is a dramatic, moving and funny memoir. An emotional, ultimately uplifting tale of loss and hope.'Amazing and completely compelling...both funny and sad, and so moving, I couldn't put it down.' - Alison Steadman'Devastatingly moving and hilarious in equal measure. I have laughed and cried during the reading of a single sentence.' - Caroline QuentinWinner of Best Memoir at the East Anglian Book Awards'She is dead. She was here just now and she was alive. How can she suddenly be dead? People in history are dead. Old people are dead. Grandparents are dead. Other people are dead. Not people like me. Not this person. The person I was married to. Had a child with. Not the person who was standing next to me. Chatting. Laughing. Being.'Shock is just one of many emotions explored in award-winning TV comedy writer Carl Gorham's account of his bereavement which is by turns deeply moving and darkly humorous.Part love story, part widower's diary, part tales of single parenting, it tells of his wife's cancer, her premature death and his attempts to rebuild his life afterwards with his six -year old daughter. Realised in a series of vivid snapshots, it takes the reader on an extraordinary journey from Oxford to Australia, from Norfolk to Hong Kong through fear, despair, pain and anger to hope, laughter and renewal.The Owl at the Window is a fresh and original exploration of what it means to lose a partner in your forties, and how Carl learned to live again.

Two Roads

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

Loved Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things? Keep on reading...'A book to really love ... makes reading a joy' Stylist 'Will soften even the hardest of hearts' Red 'Subtle and poignant' Good HousekeepingMasha's life has stopped. Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, her life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she finds solace in the silent company of the souls of her local Victorian cemetery and at the town's lido, where she seeks refuge underwater - safe from the noise and the pain.But a chance encounter with two extraordinary women - the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl-turned-magician's wife-turned-seventy-something-roller-disco-fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice - opens up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. But just as Masha dares to imagine the future, the past comes roaring back ...Like her bestselling debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, Ruth Hogan's second novel introduces a cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who guide us through a moving exploration of the simple human connections that make life worth living.Praise for The Keeper of Lost Things, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick 2017Winner of the Richard & Judy Readers' Award 2017'A gem' Huffington Post'Exquisite' The Lady'Delightful' Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man I Think I Know

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder Paperbacks

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

'Women's fiction at its finest' - Liane Moriarty, Number One New York Times bestselling author'Perfect for fans of BIG LITTLE LIES' - Library Journal How much do we really know our neighbours?The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.A gripping domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty (TRULY MADLY GUILTY, THE HUSBAND'S SECRET), Amanda Prowse (THE ART OF HIDING, THE IDEA OF YOU) and Kerry Fisher (AFTER THE LIE, THE SECRET CHILD).

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
Hodder & Stoughton

One Kind Man

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Winter Solstice

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

Rob Parsons: The Sixty Minute Father, The Sixty Minute Marriage

Rob Parsons
Authors:
Rob Parsons

THE SIXTY MINUTE FATHER sets goals to help every father ensure that he doesn't miss out on the greatest opportunity of his life. His advice includes: Put dates in your diary that are important for your children; talk to your baby as if she understands every word; if you have to be away write your children a letter; tell them how you spend your day.THE SIXTY MINUTE MARRAIGE presents an action plan to revolutionise every relationship. Includes: Are affairs good for a marriage? - How to argue - effectively - Why many men say, 'My wife's not interested in sex' - Why cutting your credit card in half can save your marriage - How a divorce will affect your children.This bundle is what every father and mother will want to read!

Coronet

Hurrah for Gin

Katie Kirby
Authors:
Katie Kirby

This book is not a how-to-guide. It won't tell you how to get your baby to sleep, how to deal with toddler tantrums, how to be a good parent, a cool parent or even a renegade parent. It is a book about parenting that contains absolutely no useful advice whatsoever. Instead it shares beautifully honest anecdotes and illustrations from the parenting frontline that demonstrate it is perfectly possible to love your children with the whole of your heart whilst finding them incredibly irritating at the same time. From pregnancy to starting school, Hurrah For Gin takes you through the exciting, frustrating, infuriating and wonderful whirlwind of parenthood, offering solidarity and a friendly hug after a tough day. Best served with gin.

Hodder & Stoughton

After the Fire

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Crossroads

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

Gwen Wright has grown up in a world of privilege and opportunity as the adopted daughter of a powerful woman. Jewel Fairbanks has grown up with nothing. From the moment they meet, beautiful, conniving Jewel envies Gwen, who seems to have everything Jewel wants. The two couldn't be more different, but their lives will soon become inextricably intertwined. Both will marry - but to profoundly different men. For Gwen, it is honest, hardworking Stan who steals her heart; Jewel will set her sights on Jeff, a shrewd businessman who owns the company where Stan works. But when Stan makes a shocking discovery on the job, relationships begin to shift and change and soon a tangled drama of greed, jealousy, and betrayal will encircle both couples, as a chain reaction of unexpected events changes four lives forever in ways they never could have foreseen.

Hodder & Stoughton

Her Father's House

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain