Dorothy L Sayers - Gaudy Night - Hodder & Stoughton

Gaudy Night

Lord Peter Wimsey Book 12

By Dorothy L Sayers

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The twelfth book in the classic British detective series featuring amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey, with a new introduction by actress Dame Harriet Mary Walter, DBE.

The twelfth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by actress Dame Harriet Mary Walter, DBE - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries.

Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . .

At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations.

But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.

Biographical Notes

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

www.sayers.org.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473621404
  • Publication date: 22 Sep 2016
  • Page count: 576
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Hodder Paperbacks

Danger Point

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Miss Silver attempts to save a young girl from her murderous husband...Maud Silver, demure private eye, hardly has time to finish one adventure before another demands her attention. She is making her way back to London when, with a terrible jerk, her train thrusts a young woman into her compartment - a beautiful woman in a state of shock. She is Lisle Jerningham, a newlywed with money - which may be about to get her killed.Lisle fled her home in a hurry when she overheard a sinister conversation through the bushes. Her new husband's first wife died of an accident, and the resultant infusion of cash saved his family home. Now broke again, he may be trying to engineer a second convenient mishap.Lisle has already survived one attempt on her life, but only Miss Silver can help her make it through the next.

Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Miss Silver travels to the country to investigate a young man who may be deceiving his wife...No one has seen Allegra Trent since she got married. Her husband swept her off her feet and out of London, to a faraway town called Bleake. She has stopped writing letters, and her family has begun to worry.Allegra's husband is a strange man, consumed with the dream of owning a ramshackle medieval estate, and he intends to use his new wife's money to do it. Why he wants to live there no one knows, but Josepha Bowden does not want his castle to become her goddaughter's prison.She asks the help of Maud Silver, the former governess who now makes a living using her reason to unravel the intricacies of murder. There has been no killing in Bleake, but if Miss Silver doesn't intervene quickly, there could be one soon.

Hodder Paperbacks

Spotlight

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The eleventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer Jill Paton Walsh - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder Paperbacks

Strong Poison

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Striding Folly

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

In the Teeth of the Evidence

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Busman's Honeymoon

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

They plan to have a quiet country honeymoon. Then Lord Peter Wimsey and his bride Harriet Vane find the previous owner's body in the cellar.Set in a country village seething with secrets and snobbery, this is Dorothy L. Sayers' last full-length detective novel. Variously described as a love story with detective interruptions and a detective story with romantic interruptions, it lives up to both descriptions with style.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Gaudy Night

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . .At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations.But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Murder Must Advertise

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Hangman's Holiday

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Have His Carcase

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

A young woman falls asleep on a deserted beach and wakes to discover the body of a man whose throat has been slashed from ear to ear . . .The young woman is the celebrated detective novelist Harriet Vane, once again drawn against her will into a murder investigation in which she herself could be a suspect.Lord Peter Wimsey is only too eager to help her clear her name.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Five Red Herrings

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Lord Peter Wimsey could imagine the artist stepping back, the stagger, the fall, down to where the pointed rocks grinned like teeth.But was it an accident - or murder? Six members of the close-knit Galloway artists' colony do not regret Campbell's death.Five of them are red herrings.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Documents in the Case

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The bed was broken and tilted grotesquely sideways. Harrison was sprawled over in a huddle of soiled blankets. His mouth was twisted . . .Harrison had been an expert on deadly mushrooms. How was it then that he had eaten a large quantity of death-dealing muscarine? Was it an accident? Suicide? Or murder?The documents in the case seemed to be a simple collection of love notes and letters home. But they concealed a clue to the brilliant murderer who baffled the best minds in London.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Strong Poison

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Thrones, Dominations

Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh

It is 1936 and Lord Peter Wimsey has returned from his honeymoon to set up home with his cherished new wife, the novelist Harriet Vane. As they become part of fashionable London society they encounter the glamorous socialite Rosamund Harwell and her wealthy impressario husband Laurence. Unlike the Wimseys, they are not in love - and all too soon, one of them is dead. A murder case that only Lord Peter Wimsey can solve.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Presumption of Death

Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers

In A Presumption of Death, Jill Paton Walsh tells how World War II changed the lives of Peter, Harriet and their growing family.The story opens in 1940. Harriet Vane - now Lady Peter Wimsey - has taken her children to safety in the country. But the war has followed them: glamorous RAF pilots and even more glamorous land-girls scandalise the villagers; the blackout makes the night-time lanes as sinister as the back alleys of London. Then the village's first air raid practise ends with a very real body on the ground - not a war casualty but a case of plain, old-fashioned murder. And even before the second body is found, Lord Peter Wimsey and his brilliant wife are on their way to finding the killer.

Hodder Paperbacks

Have His Carcase

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers. A young woman falls asleep on a deserted beach and wakes to discover the body of a man whose throat has been slashed from ear to ear . . .The young woman is the celebrated detective novelist Harriet Vane, once again drawn against her will into a murder investigation in which she herself could be a suspect.Lord Peter Wimsey is only too eager to help her clear her name.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Documents in the Case

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The bed was broken and tilted grotesquely sideways. Harrison was sprawled over in a huddle of soiled blankets. His mouth was twisted . . .Harrison had been an expert on deadly mushrooms. How was it then that he had eaten a large quantity of death-dealing muscarine? Was it an accident? Suicide? Or murder?The documents in the case seemed to be a simple collection of love notes and letters home. But they concealed a clue to the brilliant murderer who baffled the best minds in London.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters