Belva Plain - Her Father's House - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Her Father's House

By Belva Plain

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A stunning tale from the internationally bestselling author of Evergreen.

Donald and Lillian were never a match made in heaven, but they have a child, Tina, and she is the love of Donald's heart.

For her he would give up everything: his home, his work and even his freedom. When his marriage fails, he does just that.

A chance meeting with a stranger on a train changes his life - and his daughter's - in ways he could never have imagined.

From her earliest years Tina is exceptional, a brilliant student and a joyous person with a loving spirit. At university she falls in love with Gilbert who, three years older than she, graduates from law school just as she is about to enter medical school.

Together they go to New York, where they learn a truth about Donald that shatters Tina's regard for the father who has for so long protected and cherished her.

When a terrible lie has been told for love, can it be forgiven?

Biographical Notes

Belva Plain's first novel, EVERGREEN, was published in 1978 and became an international bestseller. Over the course of a career spanning three decades she published over twenty bestselling novels in 22 languages. She died at the age of ninety five in 2010.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473617520
  • Publication date: 25 Feb 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Silver Collar

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Hodder Paperbacks

Finale

Stephanie Garber
Authors:
Stephanie Garber

Hodder Paperbacks

A Daughter's Journey

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets of the Homefront Girls

Kate Thompson
Authors:
Kate Thompson

A new series from bestselling author Kate Thompson. Stratford, 1939.Although England may be at war, for the young women working the lipstick production line at Yardley's cosmetics factory, it's business as usual.For headstrong and flirtatious Renee Gunn, that means taking Esther, a young Austrian refugee, under her wing and teaching her how to be a true East End girl.But when Lily, Renee's older sister, suddenly returns home after six years away, it's clear that life in Stratford is changing for good.In the face of the Blitz, could the secrets that Renee, Lily and Esther are keeping be the most dangerous weapon of all?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.1361. Plague has returned to England - thirteen years after the devastation of The Black Death. As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes - where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster. The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed. And then a murderer strikes. Oswald is confronted with a stark choice - leave and face the ravages of the plague, or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest, or servant - everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice.

Mulholland Books

Some Die Nameless

Wallace Stroby
Authors:
Wallace Stroby
Hodder & Stoughton

Healing the Soul of a Woman

Joyce Meyer
Authors:
Joyce Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, France WINNER OF THE GRAND PRIX DU ROMAN AND THE ACQUI STORIA PRIZE. Werner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Rebecca, the woman he has fallen in love with, a mysterious link means he must uncover the truth of his past, or run the risk of losing her. Spanning 1945 Dresden, the Bavarian Alps and uncovering Operation Paperclip, this is a riveting novel of family and love, for anyone who loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Storyteller, beautifully translated from French by Adriana Hunter. 'Adelaide de Clermont-Tonnerre weaves an enigmatic, funny, sensuous web, crossed by characters which we will struggle to forget' Le Figaro

Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
Hodder & Stoughton

Gifts For Our Time

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

***The final installment in the heart-melting Rivenshaw series, set at the end of World War Two***Germany 1939, and Christa Sommer boards the Kindertransport, unsure that she'll ever see her beloved mother and father again.Once in England she is taken in by elderly Mrs Pelling, who grows to love Christa as the daughter she never had. But in 1945 Mrs Pelling dies. While her will cannot be found, her money-grabbing niece appears out of the blue to claim her inheritance and turfs Christa out, with only a suitcase to her name. The prejudice against Germans still runs high in England, and Christa is unable to secure a job or a place to stay...Luck comes her way when a lady she saves from being mugged turns out to be Mayne Esher's friend Daniel's mother. Taking pity on Christa, they take her to Rivenshaw where they plan to start a new life as part of the Esher building firm.There Christa is welcomed with open arms and she soon develops a love for the place, the people and, Daniel . . . But Esherwood is not the trouble-free sanctuary she first thinks. Determined to do their bit for soldiers returning from the war they have agreed to allow the council to build prefabs on some of Esherwood's garden. But an empire-building town planner seems set on taking all of Mayne's land for the war effort . . . Mayne has also discovered a secret door at the back of the old Nissen hut, with a complicated locking mechanism that has local locksmiths dumbfounded.Just what is hidden behind the door to warrant such high security?************Praise for Anna Jacobs:'Anna Jacobs' books are deservedly popular. She is one of the best writers of Lancashire sagas around' - Historical Novels Reviews'Anna Jacobs' books have an impressive grasp of human emotions' - Sunday Times'Catherine Cookson fans will cheer!' - Peterborough Evening Telegraph

Hodder & Stoughton

First Comes Love

Emily Giffin
Authors:
Emily Giffin

**The #1 New York Times bestselling novel.** Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes, Liane Moriarty and The Devil Wears Prada.What happens when love, marriage and children don't come in the expected order?Fifteen years after the tragic death of their older brother splintered Josie and Meredith's already fragile relationship, the two sisters are following very different paths. Hardworking, reserved Meredith thought she'd done it all the right way round - married the perfect man, had the perfect daughter - but now she's wondering if she got the love part wrong. Impulsive and spirited Josie has been single for years. She wants a child so much that she's preparing to head straight for the baby carriage all on her own. As the anniversary of their tragedy looms and secrets from the past surface, Josie and Meredith must come to terms with their own choices. Perhaps they'll find that they need each other more than they know...

Hodder & Stoughton

After the Fire

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Crossroads

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

Gwen Wright has grown up in a world of privilege and opportunity as the adopted daughter of a powerful woman. Jewel Fairbanks has grown up with nothing. From the moment they meet, beautiful, conniving Jewel envies Gwen, who seems to have everything Jewel wants. The two couldn't be more different, but their lives will soon become inextricably intertwined. Both will marry - but to profoundly different men. For Gwen, it is honest, hardworking Stan who steals her heart; Jewel will set her sights on Jeff, a shrewd businessman who owns the company where Stan works. But when Stan makes a shocking discovery on the job, relationships begin to shift and change and soon a tangled drama of greed, jealousy, and betrayal will encircle both couples, as a chain reaction of unexpected events changes four lives forever in ways they never could have foreseen.

Hodder & Stoughton

Looking Back

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

They are the most unlikely friends: rich, kind, Cecile; brave, talented Norma; and Amanda, the poor girl they met at college. Now Cecile has married her talented architect, Amanda has married Norma's brother and Norma has found a niche with her work as a teacher and her beloved music.But behind the façade of happiness and friendship lie secrets that threaten to tear the three friends apart. There will be the sorrow of one who wants a child and cannot have one; another has a child she does not want. As the three women's secrets and desires converge, there will be scandal, heartbreak - and the crime which will bring both justice and an unexpected happiness to three families . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Homecoming

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

The Carousel

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

In public, Oliver Grey is a devoted father, prominent public figure and respected businessman. But in private, he has a much darker side.On a visit to her brother Dan's house, Oliver's niece Amanda sees a silver carousel much like the one her uncle gave her as a child. When Amanda breaks down and reveals a troubling link between her niece Caroline, her uncle Oliver and the silver carousel, events take a dangerous turn. Horrified by the revelations, Dan's wife Ellen visits Oliver's home to confront him. And when she leaves, Oliver is dead.But with one son mired in gambling debts and a desperately troubled niece, finding the person behind Oliver's death might not be as simple as it seems.

Hodder & Stoughton

Legacy of Silence

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

Caroline Hartzinger flees wartime Europe with a shattered life and a devastating secret. Pregnant and unwed, she arrives in America in 1939. Joel Hirsch offers marriage and respectability, hoping one day to earn her love, if not the passion she feels for a man whose memory haunts them both. With Joel, Caroline builds a new life, determined to bury the past - until her daughter Eve brings Caroline's carefully crafted world crashing down again, driven by rage to discover the truth. Now the legacy that has tainted lives and put generations at risk is Eve's secret to keep. But with it comes a gift - a new sister who offers hope, and a truth that will finally break the hold of the past.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Sight of the Stars

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

The Sight of the Stars chronicles four generations of the remarkable Anring family as they journey across a teeming canvas of history, through world wars and the close of a century, through years of love, loss, sacrifice and unimaginable betrayal. It is about what happens when we dare to dream, and the moments that can change families forever. .