Belva Plain - Looking Back - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340766415
    • Publication date:06 Dec 2001

Looking Back

By Belva Plain

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Behind every great fortune there lies a crime . . .

They are the most unlikely friends: rich, kind, Cecile; brave, talented Norma; and Amanda, the poor girl they met at college. Now Cecile has married her talented architect, Amanda has married Norma's brother and Norma has found a niche with her work as a teacher and her beloved music.

But behind the façade of happiness and friendship lie secrets that threaten to tear the three friends apart. There will be the sorrow of one who wants a child and cannot have one; another has a child she does not want. As the three women's secrets and desires converge, there will be scandal, heartbreak - and the crime which will bring both justice and an unexpected happiness to three families . . .

Biographical Notes

Belva Plain's first novel, EVERGREEN, was published in 1978 and became an international bestseller. Over the course of a career spanning three decades she published over twenty bestselling novels in 22 languages. She died at the age of ninety five in 2010.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473617513
  • Publication date: 25 Feb 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

After the Fire

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

The Sight of the Stars

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

The Sight of the Stars chronicles four generations of the remarkable Anring family as they journey across a teeming canvas of history, through world wars and the close of a century, through years of love, loss, sacrifice and unimaginable betrayal. It is about what happens when we dare to dream, and the moments that can change families forever.

Hodder & Stoughton

Crossroads

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Her Father's House

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Fortune's Hand

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

Rob McDaniels, a schoolteacher with noble intentions, comes into a little money, enabling him to go to law school. Upon graduation he goes to work for a fine honourable firm and marries the daughter of the senior partner, leaving behind the hometown girl he had planned to marry. From then on his career brings him enormous successes but then takes a shocking turn that changes his life and the life of his family, and reverberates into the next generation.With the magic of a born storyteller, bestselling author Belva Plain unfolds the devastating tale of a man whose dreams come true. Fortune's Hand is a novel of temptation, betrayal and greed - and of the redeeming power of love.

Hodder & Stoughton

Homecoming

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

The Carousel

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

In public, Oliver Grey is a devoted father, prominent public figure and respected businessman. But in private, he has a much darker side.On a visit to her brother Dan's house, Oliver's niece Amanda sees a silver carousel much like the one her uncle gave her as a child. When Amanda breaks down and reveals a troubling link between her niece Caroline, her uncle Oliver and the silver carousel, events take a dangerous turn. Horrified by the revelations, Dan's wife Ellen visits Oliver's home to confront him. And when she leaves, Oliver is dead.But with one son mired in gambling debts and a desperately troubled niece, finding the person behind Oliver's death might not be as simple as it seems.

Hodder & Stoughton

Legacy of Silence

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrecy

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Promises

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

With three children, a beautiful home and her loving husband Adam, Margaret Crane is a woman many would envy. When Adam begins working late at the office, Margaret is sure it's just the rumoured takeover of his company - until she meets Randi, the other woman.As the life Margaret knows comes crashing down, her adopted daughter Nina revels in New York. Nina is sure she's found Mr. Right in Keith, a brilliant investment banker. But Keith has a secret he hasn't told Nina.As Nina clings to stolen weekends with Keith and Margaret plays the dutiful wife, a rift develops between the two women. Keith is not welcome in Margaret's home. And Nina herself is the other woman...

Hodder & Stoughton

Daybreak

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Evergreen

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Random Winds

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

No Tigers in the Hindu Kush

Nigel Tranter, Philip Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter, Philip Tranter

Philip Tranter and three friends drove a Land Rover 6,000 miles overland from Scotland to Nuristan to explore some of the unknown Central Hindu Kush area. They set out to attempt the second ascent of the monstrous Koh-i-Krebek; to ascend if possible at least one other major unclimbed mountain and to map that previously unmapped terrain. In fact, as well as Krebek they climbed nine other major peaks, named another dozen, and established the existence of a dramatic rock and ice range which they called the Rum Mountains, and christened individually after the Hebridean peaks they resembled in shape and beauty. The story of the expedition is told with an infectious enthusiasm for the glory and challenge of these mysterious peaks.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lord and Master

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Born of one of Scotland's noblest families, Patrick Gray was fascinating, irresistible, ambitious and ruthless. Involved in a daring plot to free the imprisoned Mary Queen of Scots, and immersed in the intrigues of Elizabeth I's Tudor court, he strode imperiously across the turbulent stage of European history, crushing those who resisted his legendary charm. The great events of the sixteenth century provide a colourful backdrop to this stirring tale of love, adventure and betrayal. 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Courting Favour

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

When his mother, the formidable Black Agnes, bequeathed him the troubledearldom of Moray in the far north of Scotland, John Cospatrick, youngerson of the ninth Earl of Dunbar and March, found himself unexpectedlyelevated to become King David's lieutenant and arbiter up in thoseunruly parts. At the age of 22, with no experience in matters ofgovernance, John's courage, sharp wit and skills of diplomacy served himwell in bringing the rebellious Lords of the Isles to heel.However, the greatest test of his abilities as an envoy and negotiatorwas to come when the new king, Robert II, sent him to London to seek towin over the English king's brother, John of Gaunt, to friendship withScotland.The fascinating 14th century tale of John, Earl of Moray, loyalsupporter of David II of Scotland, as told by Nigel Tranter, master ofScottish historical fiction.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Folly of Princes

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder Paperbacks

The Botticelli Secret

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato

The third unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.Florence looks like gold and smells like sulphur . . .In the colourful world of fifteenth-century Italy, Luciana Vetra is young and beautiful, a part-time model and full-time whore. When she is asked to pose as the goddess Flora for Sandro Botticelli's painting La Primavera, she is willing to oblige - until the artist abruptly sends her away without payment. Affronted, she steals an unfinished version of the painting - only to find that someone is ready to kill her to get it back.As friends and associates are murdered around her, Luciana turns to the one man who has never tried to exploit her beauty, Brother Guido della Torre, a novice at the monastery of Santa Croce. Fleeing Florence together, Luciana and Guido race through the nine great cities of Renaissance Italy, desperately trying to decode the painting's secrets before their enemies stop them.

Hodder & Stoughton

Warden of the Queen's March

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Only eighteen years old when she returned to Scotland to rule, the beautiful but unfortunate Mary Stuart was in dire need of protection: from the savage religious intolerance of the time, from scoundrels in high places, even from the men she injudiciously married. While John Knox, the Regent Moray, Lord Darnley, the Earl of Bothwell, David Rizzio and England's Elizabeth I plotted and schemed, one man remained constant to his Queen. A loyal young Border laird, Thomas Kerr of Ferniehirst, struggled to protect Mary, Queen of Scots throughout her troubled reign. But even he could not prevent the tragedy that lay in wait. 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Macbeth the King

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Across a huge colourful canvas, ranging from the wilds of Scotland toNorway, Denmark and Rome, here is the story of the real MacBeth.Set aside Shakespeare's portrait: read instead of his struggle to makeand save a united Scotland.In this impressively researched and vivid portrayal, Tranter belies thepopular perception of a savage, murderous ambitious king. Instead, hetells of MacBeth's struggle to make and save a united Scotland; hisdevotion to his great love, the young Queen Gruoch; the humane laws theyfought for; the great battle they were forced to fight. And the terribleprice they paid.