Ilka Tampke - Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin' - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473616479
    • Publication date:28 Jun 2018

Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin'

By Ilka Tampke

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones.

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to the critically acclaimed Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones.

Since the slaughter of her people, Ailia has been living, alone, in the forest. It is a time of deep healing and communing with the earth and its spirits - the Mothers. But now, Ailia has regained enough strength to return to the tribes, and rejoin the war.

She goes to Llanmelin, a major tribal centre in southeast Wales, where the British war king, Caradog has been leading a bitter guerrilla campaign against the encroaching Roman army.

Ailia and Caradog begin a passionate relationship - but as the Roman general Scapula becomes ever more determined to claim the rich roils of Wales, pressure mounts for a final battle that will determine the future of Britain.

As the battle approaches, Ailia must use her powers to protect, forever, what is most sacred amongst her people. The future of Britain will depend upon her success.

Biographical Notes

Ilka Tampke was awarded a Glenfern Fellowship in 2012. Her short stories and articles have been published in several anthologies. She lives in Woodend, Australia. Her debut novel Skin was published to critical acclaim. Songwoman is her second novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473616462
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton

Praise for Skin:

'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence

— The Sunday Times
A convincing world... [Readers will] enjoy Tampke's skill in weaving the otherworld with this one — The Times
'A page-turning novel of transcendence and change — Guardian
'A tender, lyrical novel' — S Magazine
'A tale as evocative as it is compelling' — Starburst
Engaging and thrilling...a subtle blend of reality, fantasy, romance and action, Ilka Tampke's first novel is a beautiful read. She has created a mystical world that's certain to charm most readers — Sci-Fi Now
A thrilling debut, it throbs with the passions of a young woman's sexual awakening and paints a brutal world teeming with enticing detail... those who root for Game of Thrones' Daenerys Targaryen will find much to love — New Daily, AU
I am in awe of Ilka's ability to recreate a Britain of AD43... a great book — Cecilia Ekback
A mesmerising read, set in a distant past that feels both real and magical. Filled with drama and passion, it is also an intensely soulful story about courage, sacrifice and belonging. I was captivated — Antonia Hodgson
'I am hooked! [Ilka] is an amazing writer' — Karen Maitland
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Age

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Muse of Nightmares

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Sceptre

Varina

Charles Frazier
Authors:
Charles Frazier
Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free, by the Costa Award-winning author of PURE, is a stunning historical novel with the grip of a thriller, written in richly evocative, luminous prose.'A writer of very rare and outstanding gifts' - Independent on SundayOne rainswept winter's night in 1809, an unconscious man is carried into a house in Somerset. He is Captain John Lacroix, home from Britain's disastrous campaign against Napoleon's forces in Spain.Gradually Lacroix recovers his health, but not his peace of mind. He will not - cannot - talk about the war or face the memory of what took place on the retreat to Corunna. After the command comes to return to his regiment, he lights out instead for the Hebrides, unaware that he has far worse to fear than being dragged back to the army: a vicious English corporal and a Spanish officer with secret orders are on his trail.In luminous prose, Miller portrays a man shattered by what he has witnessed, on a journey that leads to unexpected friendships, even to love. But as the short northern summer reaches its zenith, the shadow of the enemy is creeping closer. Freedom, for John Lacroix, will come at a high price. Taut with suspense, this is an enthralling, deeply involving novel by one of Britain's most acclaimed writers.'One of our most skilful chroniclers of the human heart and mind' - Sunday Times

Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Early Riser

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLEREvery Winter, the human population hibernates. During those bitterly cold four months, the nation is a snow-draped landscape of desolate loneliness, and devoid of human activity. Well, not quite. Your name is Charlie Worthing and it's your first season with the Winter Consuls, the committed but mildly unhinged group of misfits who are responsible for ensuring the hibernatory safe passage of the sleeping masses. You are investigating an outbreak of viral dreams which you dismiss as nonsense; nothing more than a quirky artefact borne of the sleeping mind. When the dreams start to kill people, it's unsettling. When you get the dreams too, it's weird. When they start to come true, you begin to doubt your sanity. But teasing truth from Winter is never easy: You have to avoid the Villains and their penchant for murder, kidnapping and stamp collecting, ensure you aren't eaten by Nightwalkers whose thirst for human flesh can only be satisfied by comfort food, and sidestep the increasingly less-than-mythical WinterVolk. But so long as you remember to wrap up warmly, you'll be fine.Praise for Jasper Fforde:'Forget all the rules of time, space and reality; just sit back and enjoy the adventure' Telegraph'True literary comic genius' Sunday Express'Ingenious' Terry Pratchett

Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson

A Zoe Ball ITV Book Club Pick'Sally Magnusson has taken an amazing true event and created a brilliant first novel. It's an epic journey in every sense: although it's historical, it's incredibly relevant to our world today. We had to pick it' Zoe Ball Book Club***LONGLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN 2018*** 'A remarkable feat of imagination ... I enjoyed and admired it in equal measure' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent 'A powerful tale of Barbary pirates ... richly imagined and energetically told.' Sunday Times - 100 Best Books to Read This Summer'Engrossing' Sunday Express 'Fascinating ... a really, really good read' BBC R2 Book Club'The best sort of historical novel' Scotsman 'A lyrical tale' Stylist 'A poetic retelling of Icelandic history' Daily Mail 'Compelling stuff' Good Housekeeping'An extraordinarily immersive read ... examining themes of motherhood, identity, exile and freedom' Guardian1627. In a notorious historical event, pirates raided the coast of Iceland and abducted 400 people into slavery in Algiers. Among them a pastor, his wife, and their children.In her acclaimed debut novel Sally Magnusson imagines what history does not record: the experience of Asta, the pastor's wife, as she faces her losses with the one thing left to her - the stories from home - and forges an ambiguous bond with the man who bought her.Uplifting, moving, and witty, The Sealwoman's Gift speaks across centuries and oceans about loss, love, resilience and redemption.Chosen for the BBC Radio 2 Book Club (a really really good book) and the ITV Zoe Ball Book Club (the quality of the writing is amazing).'Icelandic history has been brought to extraordinary life... An accomplished and intelligent novel' Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, author of Why Did You Lie?'Vivid and compelling' Adam Nichols, co-translator of The Travels of Reverend Ólafur Egilsson

Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

Smoke in the Sun

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh

The highly anticipated sequel to Flame in the Mist - an addictive, sumptuous finale that will leave readers breathless from the bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn After Okami is captured in the Jukai forest, Mariko has no choice - to rescue him, she must return to Inako and face the dangers that have been waiting for her in the Heian Castle. She tricks her brother, Kenshin, and betrothed, Raiden, into thinking she was being held by the Black Clan against her will, playing the part of the dutiful bride-to-be to infiltrate the emperor's ranks and uncover the truth behind the betrayal that almost left her dead. With the wedding plans already underway, Mariko pretends to be consumed with her upcoming nuptials, all the while using her royal standing to peel back the layers of lies and deception surrounding the imperial court. But each secret she unfurls gives way to the next, ensnaring Mariko and Okami in a political scheme that threatens their honor, their love and very the safety of the empire.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Beast's Heart

Leife Shallcross
Authors:
Leife Shallcross
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Lost Things 10th Anniversary Edition

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

This tenth anniversary edition includes two new short stories - Cinderella, A Version and The Rat King, the latter introducing the Crooked Man who is central to the world of The Book of Lost Things - and an afterword from the author.'Once upon a time, there was a boy who lost his mother . . .' As twelve-year-old David takes refuge from his grief in the myths and fairytales so beloved of his dead mother, he finds the real world and the fantasy world begin to blend. That is when bad things start to happen. That is when the Crooked Man comes. And David is violently propelled into a land populated by heroes, wolves and monsters in his quest to find the legendary Book of Lost Things.

Sceptre

Moonstone: The Boy Who Never Was

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder Paperbacks

To Green Angel Tower: Storm

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

In order for the Storm King can cement his power over Osten Ard, he must find and defeat the rebel forces massing against him. But the rebels, led by the exiled Prince Josua, have rallied at the Stone of Farewell and are ready to fight the Storm King with every power they can muster. The key to their victory lies in finding the third sword of legend, Memory - but the sword has been lost for ages.Lost, that is, until Simon Snowlock realises that he knows exactly where the sword is and how to recover it. The only problem: an undead army, bolstered by powerful magic, lies between him and his destination. It will take every ounce of Simon's courage and intelligence to journey to and then recover the great sword Memory and bring peace to Osten Ard.If Simon's quest is to have any hope, Josua must move against the Storm King himself - a journey that will take him across endless seas, through ancient forests and into the stronghold of the Storm King himself.The finale to Tad Williams' breathtaking, beloved series Memory, Sorrow and Thorn.

Hodder Paperbacks

River of Blue Fire

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder Paperbacks

Mountain of Black Glass

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder Paperbacks

Sea of Silver Light

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams