Ilka Tampke - Songwoman - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473616479
    • Publication date:28 Jun 2018

Songwoman

By Ilka Tampke

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander, Game of Thrones and Clan of the Cavebear.

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones.

Praise for SKIN:

'Filled with drama and passion... I was captivated' ANTONIA HODGSON

'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence' THE SUNDAY TIMES

'I am hooked! Ilka is an amazing writer' KAREN MAITLAND

'A tale as evocative as it is compelling' STARBURST MAGAZINE

'Accomplished, absorbing and powerful' THE HOOPLA

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473616462
  • Publication date: 28 Jun 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Lost Lamb on Honeysuckle Lane

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

Tell Me A Story

Rob Parsons
Authors:
Rob Parsons

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder Paperbacks

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe: a gorgeously feel-good Christmas romance

Melissa de la Cruz
Authors:
Melissa de la Cruz
Hodder Paperbacks

The Heart of What Was Lost

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

The Witchwood Crown

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Thirty years ago Ineluki, the Storm King, was destroyed and his armies scattered. Osten Ard has been at peace ever since, ruled by Simon Snowlock, kitchen boy made king, and Miriamele, King Elias' only child. But now age weighs upon their reign. Simon's dreams have deserted him, old allies die and betrayal and assassination threaten. His son and heir John Josua is years dead and his grandson, Morgan, is a wastrel. A journey of redemption and discovery beckons in the darkening world.And in the frozen North, in Nakkiga, the mountain fortress, Ineluki's ally, the Norn Queen, wakes from her deep, decades-long sleep and tells her followers that she will sleep no more. Humanity must be destroyed. Her sorcerers will bring a demon back from death, her warriors will seek the world for living dragon's blood...And finally the greatest artefact of all, the Witchwood Crown, will be hers. With a cast of hundreds - humans, giants, dragons, trolls, Sithi and Norn - The Witchwood Crown is epic fantasy as it used to be: classic, grand and sweeping and evidence that Tad Williams is the greatest living writer of the form.

Hodder & Stoughton

Shadowmarch

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

At the uppermost edge of the northern kingdoms, towers shrouded in mist, lies Southmarch Castle. For hundreds of years it has remained hidden from the affairs of empire. Now its isolation can protect it no more. Southmarch is under siege; from both its neighbours, without, and the more insidious enemies who would destroy it from within. Even further to the north, within the ancient walls of Qul-na-Qar, in a land of silence and gloom, the Twilight People gather to hear Ynnir, the blind king, pronounce the dark fate of human kind. In the south, the Autarch, the god-king who has already conquered an entire continent, now looks to extend his domain once more. It is upon Southmarch that the armies advance, and to its people that darkness will speed.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sting

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something definitely sparks. Shaw gives off a dangerous vibe that makes men wary and inspires women to sit up and take notice. None feel that undercurrent more strongly than savvy businesswoman Jordie, who doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her. As Shaw and his partner take aim, Jordie is certain her time has come. But Shaw has other plans and abducts Jordie, hoping to get his hands on the $30 million her brother has stolen and, presumably, hidden. However, Shaw is not the only one looking for the fortune. Her brother's ruthless boss and the FBI are after it as well. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits - and each other - to stay alive. Miles away from civilization and surrounded by swampland, the two play each other against their common enemies. Jordie's only chance of survival is to outwit Shaw, but it soon becomes clear to Shaw that Jordie isn't entirely trustworthy, either. Was she in on her brother's scam, or is she an innocent pawn in a deadly vendetta? And just how valuable is her life to Shaw, her remorseless and manipulative captor? Burning for answers-and for each other-this unlikely pair ultimately make a desperate move that could be their last.With nonstop plot twists and the tantalizing sexual tension that has made Sandra Brown one of the world's best-loved authors, STING will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final pages.

Hodder Paperbacks

Skin: a gripping historical page-turner perfect for fans of Game of Thrones

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dragonbone Chair

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Kitchen-boy Simon is bored, restless and fourteen years old - a dangerous combination. It seems, however, that his life has just taken a turn for the better when he's apprenticed to his castle's resident wizard. As Simon's learning to read and write under Doctor Morgenes' tutelage, forces greater than he could possible imagine are gathering: forces which will change Simon's life - and his world - forever. Following the death of Good King John, Osten Ard is plunged into civil war as his sons battle for control of the fabled Dragonbone Chair - the country's throne as well as the symbol of its power. Simon is forced to flee the only home he has ever known, a journey which will test him beyond his worst nightmares. With THE DRAGONBONE CHAIR, Tad Williams introduced readers to the incredible fantasy world of Osten Ard and kicked off the beloved, internationally bestselling series Memory, Sorrow and Thorn.

Hodder Paperbacks

Stone of Farewell

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Following a brutal civil war, Osten Ard has been crushed under the rule of the two villainous High Kings. A single hope remains: if the rebels can find the three swords of legend - Memory, Sorrow and Thorn - they might be able to bring the Storm King and evil King Elias down. Once but a humble kitchen-boy, Simon is now Simon Snowlock, dragonslayer and bearer of the mythical sword Thorn. But Simon is more alone than ever before: his friends have been imprisoned and his liege lord, Prince Josua, has been exiled. And the Storm King may also be in possession of one of the swords... A single chance remains: if Simon can deliver Thorn to Joshua and lead his followers to the Stone of Farewell, the rebels may be able to muster the forces necessary to rise up against Elias and the Storm King. But no one knows where the Stone of Farewell is. Or, indeed, what it is... In STONE OF FAREWELL, Tad Williams sets his characters against impossible odds - and proves that the beloved, internationally-bestselling DRAGONBONE CHAIR was no fluke, but one of the greatest fantasy novels of all time.

Mulholland Books

After She's Gone

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

If She Only Knew

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

She woke up with a new face. She woke up with no memories. And she woke up to murder... Not only has Marla Cahill survived a deadly car accident, but her beautiful features have been restored through plastic surgery. She should be grateful. Instead, she's consumed by confusion...and panic. For the people gathered at her bedside - her family - are strangers. And so is the woman whose haunted eyes stare back from the mirror...Secluded at the magnificent Cahill mansion, Marla waits for something to trigger recognition. Yet the only thing she's left with is the unshakable feeling that she is not who everyone says she is, and that something is very, very wrong.Determined to piece together the truth, she finds herself drawn to her brother-in-law, Nick - a man who seems both to want and despise her. And as her fractured mind slowly clears, Marla begins to have flashes of another life...of cruel betrayals and deadly secrets. Marla's life isn't just different - it's in danger, controlled by a twisted killer who's waiting for the right moment to strike...the moment Marla remembers...

Hodder & Stoughton

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Friction

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sandra Brown comes a gripping story of family ties and forbidden attraction. A Texas Ranger, relegated to deskwork due to past recklessness, petitions to regain custody of his five-year-old daughter, and his case is assigned to a family court judge who is as attractive as she is ambitious. When a masked gunman barges in during the custody hearing with his sights on the judge, the Ranger reacts instinctually and goes after him. But authorities apprehend the wrong man, and the real gunman remains unknown, at large, and a threat. Will this take-charge lawman jeopardize his chances of custody by going after the would-be assassin? And will this unlikely pair be able to deny the forbidden attraction building between them?

Hodder Paperbacks

Tailchaser's Song

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Mulholland Books

Never Die Alone

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

To Green Angel Tower

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

In order for the Storm King can cement his power over Osten Ard, he must find and defeat the rebel forces massing against him. But the rebels, led by the exiled Prince Josua, have rallied at the Stone of Farewell and are ready to fight the Storm King with every power they can muster. The key to their victory lies in finding the third sword of legend, Memory - but the sword has been lost for ages.Lost, that is, until Simon Snowlock realises that he knows exactly where the sword is and how to recover it. The only problem: an undead army, bolstered by powerful magic, lies between him and his destination. It will take every ounce of Simon's courage and intelligence to journey to and then recover the great sword Memory and bring peace to Osten Ard.If Simon's quest is to have any hope, Josua must move against the Storm King himself - a journey that will take him across endless seas, through ancient forests and into the stronghold of the Storm King himself.TO GREEN ANGEL TOWER is the epic final volume in Tad Williams' breathtaking, beloved series Memory, Sorrow and Thorn.

Mulholland Books

The Infant of Prague

Bill Granger
Authors:
Bill Granger

In the majestic silence of Chartres cathedral, Devereaux - code name November - receives his assignment: help Czechoslovakia's cultural liason cross over to the West. A hard enough job, even without the addedcomplication of an act of God.For in the humble Chicago parish church, the sacred statue of the Infant of Prague is found weeping real tears. A visiting Czech child star, transfigured by the miraculous event declares, on live television, her intent to remain in America in the name of Christ and freedom.Only an operative as cynical and seasoned as the November Man can sensethe sinister link between the two events. The miracle has plunged him into a vast global adventure. And it will take a miracle to get him through it alive.