Danielle McLaughlin - The Chalk Sculpture - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473613669
    • Publication date:04 Apr 2019

The Chalk Sculpture

By Danielle McLaughlin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A lyrical novel about family and relationships from the author of Dinosaurs on Other Planets

At the former home of the sculptor Robert Locke, Nessa, a gallery employee, is struggling to manage Eleanor and Loretta Locke, the sculptor's widow and middle-aged daughter. Meanwhile, her marriage is floundering in the aftermath of her husband's affair, and she's becoming increasingly alienated from her teenage daughter.

At this worst possible time, her past resurfaces in the form of Caroline Ferriter, a woman she once shared a flat with in London. Caroline is in contact with the son of their long-dead flatmate, Amy, who killed herself at the age of 24. Luke, Amy's son, is coming to Ireland in an attempt to understand something of the person his mother was. At the last minute, Paul, Luke's father, whom Nessa was once briefly involved with, invites himself along too.

Things become only more complicated once the two men arrive in Ireland and when an American woman, Melanie, comes forward to claim that she, and not Eleanor, was Locke's muse for his best known piece, the Chalk Sculpture, things really start to spiral out of control.

Biographical Notes

Danielle McLaughlin's short stories have appeared in publications including the New Yorker, the Stinging Fly and the Irish Times, as well as various anthologies. She has won the Willesden Short Story Prize, the Merriman Short Story Competition in memory of Maeve Binchy and the Dromineer Literary Festival short story competition. The Chalk Sculpture is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473613683
  • Publication date: 04 Apr 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Hodder & Stoughton

Before I Find You

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight

Maggie is a husband watcher. A snooper, a marriage doctor, a destroyer of dreams, a killer of happy-ever-afters. She runs her own private detective agency specialising in catching out in those who cheat. And she is bloody good at it.Helene is a husband catcher. A beautiful wife, a doting step-mother, a perfect home maker and a dazzling presence at parties. She has landed herself with one of the most eligible bachelors in town - handsome property developer Gabe Moreau.Alice is a perfect daughter. Apple of her father, Gabe's, eye, a kind stepchild to Helene, a tragic daughter of a dead mother. She lives a sheltered but happy life, until she finds that handwritten note: 'You owe me. I'm not going away.' All three women suspect Gabe Moreau of keeping secrets and telling lies. But not one of them suspects that these lies could end in cold-blooded murder . . . PRAISE FOR ALI KNIGHT'Crackles from first page to last' Daily Mail'A suspenseful Hitchcockian tale . . . [one of the] top ten crime books to take on holiday' Telegraph'Tightly-plotted, high-pitched psychological thriller . . . what Ali Knight does so successfully is broach the great divide between public and private space' Daily Mirror'A clever thriller . . . a gripping read' Sunday Mirror'Pacey and disquieting, Knight's debut hints she might be a successor to Sophie Hannah's queen of suspense crown' Stylist'A really enjoyable read' Number one bestselling author, Martina Cole'Top notch suspense!' Number one bestselling author, Lisa Gardner'Like The Girl on the Train, brilliantly twisty and compulsive' Elizabeth Fremantle, author of The Poison Bed

Hodder & Stoughton

A Keeper

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton

Graham Norton's debut novel HOLDING was a Sunday Times bestseller and loved by readers everywhere. His new novel, A KEEPER, is a twisted tale of secrets and ill-fated loves that once again demonstrates Norton's understanding of human nature and all its darkest flaws.The mystery of Elizabeth Keane's father is one that has never been solved by the people of Buncarragh - not for lack of speculation. Her mother Patricia had been assumed a spinster, until she began dating a mysterious man from out of town, and within months had left Buncarragh and had married. Less than two years later, Patricia was back, with a new baby in her arms, but no new husband by her side and unbendingly silent about her recent past. A secret she would take with her to her grave.Now, as Elizabeth returns to the village after her mother's funeral, bringing with her her own regrets and wounds, she finds a thin pile of ribbon-bound letters at the back of a wardrobe that may at last hold the key to her past: Dear Lonely Leinster Lady,I'm not really sure how to begin...Praise for Holding, winner of the Irish Book Awards' Book of the Year 2016'Poised and perceptive' Sunday Times'... a deftly plotted story as moving as it is compelling' Sunday Mirror'Deeply accomplished ... brilliantly observed' Good Housekeeping'... one of the more authentic debuts I've read in recent years ... in such an understated manner, eschewing linguistic eccentricity ... in favour of genuine characters and tender feeling ... this is a fine novel' John Boyne, Irish Times'It is beautiful and yet devastatingly sad' Daily Express'Strenuously charming ... surprisingly tender' Metro 'Heartwarming and observant' Stylist

John Murray

Devil's Day

Andrew Michael Hurley
Authors:
Andrew Michael Hurley

BOOK OF THE YEAR IN THE TIMES, SUNDAY TIMES, FT, METRO AND MAIL ON SUNDAY'The new master of menace' Sunday TimesAfter the blizzard of a century ago, it was weeks before anyone got in or out. By that time, what had happened there, what the Devil had done, was already fable.Devil's Day is a day for children now, of course. A tradition it's easy to mock, from the outside. But it's important to remember why we do what we do. It's important to know what our grandfathers have passed down to us.Because it's hard to understand, if you're not from the valley, how this place is in your blood.That's why I came back, with Kat; it wasn't just because the Gaffer was dead.Though that year we may have let the Devil in after all . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Scarlet Nightingale

Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh
Sceptre

How Are You Going To Save Yourself

J M Holmes
Authors:
J M Holmes

Both humorous and heart-breaking, How Are You Going To Save Yourself is a timely debut about sex, race, family and friendship for fans of Junot Diaz and Ta-Nehisi Coates. It explores the lives of four friends from the city of Pawtucket: Rydell, Lazarus, Rakim, and Giovanni, or more affectionately Rye, Dub, Rolls, and G. Once bound together by location and shared experience, their bonds fade and change as their adult lives begin to take different shapes. They are confronted with society's expectations of them, family pressures, and ultimately the way they see themselves - sometimes conforming, sometimes challenging the stereotypes. Ultimately they are trying not to fail themselves and the people they love.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder Paperbacks

The Empathy Problem

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence
Hodder & Stoughton

Flowers in the Rain

Rosamunde Pilcher
Authors:
Rosamunde Pilcher

Enter Rosamunde Pilcher's world of simple joys, of crisp country air and crackling log fires, the pleasures of family reunions and rediscovered friendships.Through thick mist and a cold east wind, Lavinia returns to Scotland. Up at the big house Mrs Farquhar is dying. Seeing Lachlan again, Lavinia remembers her childhood holidays there: swimming in the loch, the picnics, bottle-feeding the lambs down at the farm and the evenings when they danced reels. Most of all, she remembers Mrs Farquhar's grandson Rory.In the house, as the old lady lies serene and beautiful in the bed she has slept in since coming home to Lachlan as a bride, Lavinia meets Rory once again.Flowers in the Rain is one of sixteen stories, each giving another magical glimpse into Rosamunde Pilcher's world. The world in which most would prefer to live all the time.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The Day of the Storm

Rosamunde Pilcher
Authors:
Rosamunde Pilcher
Hodder & Stoughton

Wild Mountain Thyme

Rosamunde Pilcher
Authors:
Rosamunde Pilcher

Can you ever re-create that first great love?Victoria Bradshaw fell in love with London playwright Oliver Dobbs when she was just eighteen. But he left her and disappeared from her life. Now, years later, he is a widower standing on her doorstep with his two-year-old son in his arms. And Victoria is foolish enough to want to take him back. Their early spring journey to a castle in Scotland becomes an odyssey of emotional discovery . . . can they rekindle their love in the tranquil beauty of the countryside, or will Oliver's career dictate another course?(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre: love is in the air in this gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Two Roads

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Man I Think I Know

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder Paperbacks

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

'Women's fiction at its finest' - Liane Moriarty, Number One New York Times bestselling author'Perfect for fans of BIG LITTLE LIES' - Library Journal How much do we really know our neighbours?The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.A gripping domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty (TRULY MADLY GUILTY, THE HUSBAND'S SECRET), Amanda Prowse (THE ART OF HIDING, THE IDEA OF YOU) and Kerry Fisher (AFTER THE LIE, THE SECRET CHILD).

John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass
Sceptre

The Last of the Greenwoods

Clare Morrall
Authors:
Clare Morrall
Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King
Two Roads

The Railwayman's Wife

Ashley Hay
Authors:
Ashley Hay