Mike Gayle - Lean On Me - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473608986
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473608979
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

Lean On Me

By Mike Gayle

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Some people just look destined for great things. And sometimes, life has other ideas.

Whatever happens to those kids at school who are always being tipped to be stars in adult life?

It's a question all of us find ourselves asking at some time and Mike Gayle's powerful, poignant novel answers it with regard to Danny Morgan and James McManus - rivals for top honours in everything throughout their school years in Birmingham.

Whatever their friends and teachers might have expected, neither Danny nor James is currently running the country.

Depressed and unemployed, Danny is facing an ultimatum from his girlfriend Maya: if he doesn't get out and get a job, she's leaving.

It was an accident that changed James's life and now he is looked after affectionately by his parents. But his sister Martha believes that the role of full-time carers is destroying their lives - and infantilising her brother.

She suggests that James should go into a respite home while her parents take a break.

The respite home, as it turns out, where Danny has just got a job.

What is the path that has brought these two people to this unexpected place, and where will it take them next?

This is the story of Danny and James, but also of the families who love them and of the women they love. It is a story of many surprising twists, by turns funny and sad, painful and uplifting, and marks a brilliant new stage in the writing career of one of Britain's favourite novelists.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473609532
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Praise for The Hope Family Calendar — -
A delightfully easy and poignant read. — Closer
The Hope Family Calendar is the most heart-wrenching novel I've read this year...With a style similar to David Nicholls, Gayle's writing is incisive, lyrical and very beautiful...It's impossible not to fall in love with the Hope family. — Irish Independent
Gayle writes with such warmth and wisdom about the human condition, at the same time creating a page-turner in this charming family tale which centres so movingly around unbearable loss...I highly recommend this novel - I know it will stay with me for a long time. — Hilary Boyd, author of Thursdays in the Park
An emotional and surprisingly funny story you'll want to read in one sitting. — Fabulous
Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

The third novel in the heartwarming, Yorkshire-set Hope Meadows series, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde.Based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall
Two Roads

A Normal Family

Henry Normal
Authors:
Henry Normal
Hodder & Stoughton

The Two Houses

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper
Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells

John Murray

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala

Hodder Paperbacks

Here We Are Now

Jasmine Warga
Authors:
Jasmine Warga

From the author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES comes a beautiful, funny and heartfelt novel of music, family, and friendship. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Rainbow Rowell and Sarah Dessen.'Kinetic and beautiful and unexpectedly life-affirming' - Chris Lynch on My Heart and Other Black HolesDespite sending him letters ever since she was thirteen, Taliah Abdallat never thought she'd ever really meet Julian Oliver. But one day, while her mother is out of the country, the famed rock star from Staring Into the Abyss shows up on her doorstep. This makes sense - kinda - because it turns out Julian Oliver is Taliah's father . . . When Julian asks her to go with him to his hometown to meet the family she has never known, Taliah embarks on a three-day voyage of discovery - of her father, of the past her mother has never shared with her, and of herself.

Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

This Beautiful Life

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh

The addictive and emotive new novel from Katie Marsh, author of My Everything and A Life Without You. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lisa Jewell and Lucy Dillon.'I lived over half my life before I met you both, and I hope with all my heart to live many years more. You two are the reason why. Always, always the reason why.'Abi Cooper is living her happy ending. She's in remission and is ready to make the most of her second chance. But during Abi's illness her family has fallen apart. Her husband John has made decisions that are about to come back to haunt him, while her teenage son Seb is battling with a secret of his own.Set to the songs on Abi's survival playlist, This Beautiful Life is the moving and uplifting story of what happens as Abi tries to put her family back together - and of why life, and love, are worth fighting for.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

John Murray

A History of Running Away

Paula McGrath
Authors:
Paula McGrath

'A wonderful storyteller' Joseph O'ConnorIn 1982 Jasmine wants to box, but in 1980s Ireland boxing is illegal for girls.In 2012 a gynaecologist agonises about a job offer which would mean escape from the increasingly fraught atmosphere of her Dublin hospital. But what about her mother, stuck in a nursing home?And in Maryland Ali, whose mother has recently died, hooks up with a biker gang to escape from grandparents she didn't know she had.Gradually revealing the unexpected connections between the three women, A History of Running Away is a brilliantly written novel about running away, growing up and finding out who you are.

Sceptre

In Every Moment We Are Still Alive

Tom Malmquist
Authors:
Tom Malmquist

The prize-winning, bestselling tale of love, loss, family and the lives we live moment by moment, from a stunning new voice in European fiction.Tom's heavily pregnant girlfriend Karin is rushed to hospital with severe flu. While the doctors are able to save the baby, they are helpless in the face of what transpires to be acute Leukemia, and in a moment as fleeting as it is cruel Tom gains a daughter but loses his soul-mate. In Every Moment is the story of a year that changes everything, as Tom must reconcile the fury of bereavement with the overwhelming responsibility of raising his daughter, Livia, alone. By turns tragic and redemptive, meditative and breathless, achingly poignant and darkly funny, this heavily autobiographical novel has been described in its native Sweden as 'hypnotic', 'impossible to resist' and 'one of the most powerful books about grief ever written'.

Hodder Paperbacks

Here's to Us

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
John Murray

Conflicts of Interest

Terry Stiastny
Authors:
Terry Stiastny
Hodder Paperbacks

When Dimple Met Rishi

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon
Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect feel-good holiday read!

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Sceptre

The Valentine House

Emma Henderson
Authors:
Emma Henderson

In June 1914, Sir Anthony Valentine, a keen mountaineer, arrives with his family to spend the summer in their chalet, high in the French Alps. There, for the first time, fourteen-year-old foundling Mathilde starts work as one of the 'uglies' - village girls employed as servants and picked, it is believed, to ensure they don't catch Sir Anthony's roving eye. For Mathilde it is the start of a life-long entanglement with les anglais - strange, exciting people, far removed from the hard grind of farming. Except she soon finds the Valentines are less carefree than they appear, with a curiously absent daughter no one talks about. It will be decades - disrupted by war, accidents and a cruel betrayal - before Mathilde discovers the key to the mystery. And in 1976, the year Sir Anthony's great-great grandson comes to visit, she must decide whether to use it. Vividly evoking the dramatic landscape that so enthrals the Valentines, this deeply involving, intriguing novel tells the story of an English family through the generations and a memorable French woman, whose lives seem worlds apart yet which become inextricably connected.

John Murray

Displaced

Stephan Abarbanell
Authors:
Stephan Abarbanell
Two Roads

Under the Almond Tree

Laura McVeigh
Authors:
Laura McVeigh
John Murray

Rockadoon Shore

Rory Gleeson
Authors:
Rory Gleeson
Coronet

A Pointless History of the World

Richard Osman, Alexander Armstrong
Authors:
Richard Osman, Alexander Armstrong