Rus Slater - Leadership Genius - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473609280
    • Publication date:10 Sep 2015

Leadership Genius

40 insights From the science of leading

By Rus Slater

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

If you only ever read one book on leadership, read this one
Leadership Genius picks out the 40 most important ideas on leading that everyone in business should know, based on the evidence of hundreds of journal articles and papers of classic and cutting-edge research. Rus Slater has done the hard work so that you don't have to. Each of the 40 chapters describes the research and shows you how to take advantage of it so that you can become a better leader.

The fast-track MBA in leadership
Imagine having instant access to the world's smartest thinking on leadership - and being shown exactly what to do to guarantee that you become a better leader yourself.

Leadership Genius makes it easy to apply what researchers know about brilliant leadership to the real world. 40 individual chapters focus on one or more scientific studies into a topic that you, as a leader, need to be aware of. Each of the chapters is a mini-masterclass in leading, explaining the research and showing you how to apply it in your leadership role.

In business, conventional wisdom often says one thing while research says another. Leadership Genius cuts through the noise to bring you proven research and techniques for applying it that will simply make you a better leader.

Quick to read and intensely practical, this book will bring a little leadership genius into your day.

'An easy, back-pocket read for any serious business leader or manager' Lietenant General John Lorimer

'An engaging, often humorous, and most certainly accessible observation of the art of leadership' Mark Heywood, Lloyds Banking Group

Biographical Notes

Rus Slater delivers leadership training for many of the world's leading organisations including Toyota, BP, Hyundai, Aston Martin, BT, Mott McDonald, Invensys and Hilton. This is his sixth book, and his titles have been translated into languages ranging from Turkish to Korean.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473609273
  • Publication date: 10 Sep 2015
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: John Murray Learning
An easy, back-pocket read for any serious business leader or manager. The 'big takeaways' listed at the end of each chapter are a really useful resource. Slater presents the evidence that when it comes to leadership personal example, communication and knowing your people are key. — Lieutenant General John Lorimer
Leadership Genius is a well-researched read bringing together both traditional and more contemporary studies into an engaging, often humorous, and most certainly accessible observation of the art of leadership. Recommended for both those who are new to leadership and the more seasoned practitioners. — Mark Heywood, Senior Manager, Performance Management Policy, Lloyds Banking Group
John Murray

Superteams

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

John Murray Learning

Leadership

Andy Cope
Authors:
Andy Cope

As 9-5 morphs into 24/7, it brings mounting pressures and new rules. Your life is full-on, relentless and exhausting and worse still, it's zipping by in a blur. It's easy to end up careering from one crisis to another, buzzed up on sugar and coffee, existing from one holiday to the next.The leader's job is to squeeze more from less, but most leaders feel they can't possibly work any harder and are sick to death with being told to work smarter. So where next? The answer is to use the multiplier effect to transform your leadership style.Leadership: The Multiplier Effect is crammed with the latest thinking on leadership, strengths, positive psychology, purpose, employee engagement, coaching, emotional intelligence and 'life', supplemented with anecdotes, pithy quotes and asides that help bring the content to life. And to save you time, the book's central message is this: Your job as a leader is NOT to inspire people. Your job as a leader is to BE INSPIRED.

John Murray Learning

Superfast

Sophie Devonshire
Authors:
Sophie Devonshire

In today's fast-paced world, leaders need to move at speed. The rate of innovation and change in organisations and the challenges of impatient investors or shareholders mean leadership decisions must be quick, smart and deliver real impact. Superfast provides easily-digestible inspiration and ideas about how to accelerate performance in an agile and thoughtful way. It includes interviews with leaders of big global corporations, fast-moving unicorn start-ups and even the Head of a Counter Terrorism Unit; all of them facing the challenges of a rapidly changing, uncertain situation. This book focuses on practical solutions to leadership questions and is a shortcut to personal and professional success for ambitious leaders.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Optimizing the Power of Action Learning

Michael J. Marquardt, Shannon Banks, Peter Cauwelier, Choon Seng Ng
Authors:
Michael J. Marquardt, Shannon Banks, Peter Cauwelier, Choon Seng Ng
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

50 Business Classics

Tom Butler-Bowdon
Authors:
Tom Butler-Bowdon

What do great enterprises have in common? What sort of person starts them? A single idea can help you find the next big thing, but it takes time to trawl through hundreds of business books to find inspiration. With insightful commentaries on the landmark writings of old and new, 50 Business Classics presents the great entrepreneur stories, the best management thinking and the proven ideas on strategy, innovation and marketing - in one volume.50 Business Classics presents the key ideas from classic texts such as My Years with General Motors and Michael Gerber's The E-Myth Revisited to contemporary business lessons from the rise of tech giants like Google, Apple and Amazon. It contains revealing biographies of luminaries like Steve Jobs and Warren Buffett, as well as lesser-known stories including creation of publishing giant Penguin and Chinese behemoth Alibaba. Here you'll find the texts and ideas that matter in:· Entrepreneurship· Leadership· Management· Strategy· Business history· Personal development· Technology and innovation Summarising the smartest thinking for today's professional success, 50 Business Classics provides inspiration and insights for entrepreneurs, executives and students of business and management alike.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Counter Mentor Leadership

Kelly Riggs, Robby Riggs
Authors:
Kelly Riggs, Robby Riggs
Hodder & Stoughton

Here We Are Now

Jasmine Warga
Authors:
Jasmine Warga

'Funny and heartfelt... fans of Sarah Dessen or Rainbow Rowell will adore this novel' - Culturefly 'Fans of High Fidelity and Nick + Nora, get your hands on this book ASAP' - PopsugarDespite sending him letters ever since she was thirteen, Taliah Abdallat never thought she'd ever really meet Julian Oliver. But one day, while her mother is out of the country, the famed rock star from Staring Into the Abyss shows up on her doorstep. This makes sense - kinda - because it turns out Julian Oliver is Taliah's father... When Julian asks her to go with him to his hometown to meet the family she has never known, Taliah embarks on a three-day voyage of discovery - of her father, of the past her mother has never shared with her, and of herself.From the bestselling author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES, this is a beautiful and heartwarming novel of music, family, and friendship.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Deciding Who Leads

Joseph Daniel McCool
Authors:
Joseph Daniel McCool

Deciding Who Leads offers a front-row seat from which to witness the high-stakes drama, victories, and missteps that characterize the executive search process amid what has become an intense, truly global competition for leadership talent.Enter the secret world of executive search consulting . . . and discover how this influential-but largely invisible-profession is charting the course of global business. Executive search expert Joseph Daniel McCool delivers a rich exposé of the elite world of search consulting-the single most influential form of management consulting engaged by organizations - and its powerful impact on the future of organizational performance, culture, and profits. Deciding Who Leads offers a front-row seat from which to witness the high-stakes drama, victories, and missteps that characterize the executive search process amid what has become an intense, truly global competition for leadership talent.(P)2017 John Murray Press

Nicholas Brealey International

Breaking Free of Bonkers

George Binney, Philip Glanfield, Gerhard Wilke
Authors:
George Binney, Philip Glanfield, Gerhard Wilke
Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder Paperbacks

A City Dreaming

Daniel Polansky
Authors:
Daniel Polansky
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Leadership Material

Diana Jones
Authors:
Diana Jones
Hodder Paperbacks

Dear Michael, Love Dad

Iain Maitland
Authors:
Iain Maitland
John Murray

The Countenance Divine

Michael Hughes
Authors:
Michael Hughes
Two Roads

Arthur

Mikael Lindnord
Authors:
Mikael Lindnord
Teach Yourself

Leadership In A Week

Carol O'Connor
Authors:
Carol O'Connor

Leadership In A Week is a simple and straightforward guide to leadership success, giving you everything you need to know in just seven short chapters. From inspiring others and gaining their support, to setting priorities, giving direction and making decisions, you'll explore your inner resources and discover your untapped leadership qualities.This book introduces you to the main themes and ideas of leading, giving you a basic knowledge and understanding of the key concepts, together with practical and thought-provoking exercises. Whether you choose to read it in a week or in a single sitting, Leadership In A Week is your fastest route to success:- Sunday: Self-awareness- Monday: Understanding people- Tuesday: Communication- Wednesday: Authority and power- Thursday: Making decisions- Friday: Connecting and linking- Saturday: Vision and inspirationABOUT THE SERIESIn A Week books are for managers, leaders, and business executives who want to succeed at work. From negotiating and content marketing to finance and social media, the In A Week series covers the business topics that really matter and that will help you make a difference today. Written in straightforward English, each book is structured as a seven-day course so that with just a little work each day, you will quickly master the subject. In a fast-changing world, this series enables readers not just to get up to speed, but to get ahead.

Teach Yourself

MBA In A Week

Alan Finn
Authors:
Alan Finn
Teach Yourself

Managing Yourself In A Week

Martin Manser
Authors:
Martin Manser
Teach Yourself

Secrets of Great Leaders

Carol O'Connor
Authors:
Carol O'Connor
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

The Next Level

Scott Eblin
Authors:
Scott Eblin