Gavin Extence - The Empathy Problem - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473605244
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473631472
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2016

The Empathy Problem

It's never too late to change your life

By Gavin Extence

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Perfect for fans of Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and Gavin Extence's debut novel THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS, comes a wild and witty, searing and true novel about life's ups and downs.

'You can't put it down . . . precise and propulsive . . . a real page-turner' Janice Forsyth Show, BBC Radio Scotland

'It's so good it'll leave you wanting to change your own life' Independent

******************

So far in his life, Gabriel - selfish, arrogant and happy to be so - has only ever thought about two things: money and himself. When he's diagnosed with a terminal brain tumour, he doesn't see why anything should change.

But as the tumour grows, something strange starts happening. Whether Gabriel likes it or not, he's becoming . . . nicer. Kinder. A better person.

And then he meets Caitlin. Before, he wouldn't even have glanced at her; now he's entranced. But real change takes time - and time is something Gabriel just doesn't have.

As each day brings him closer to his last, has the one opportunity for a second chance passed him by?

Biographical Notes

Gavin Extence lives in Sheffield with his wife, children and cat. He has written two previous novels, THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS and THE MIRROR WORLD OF MELODY BLACK. His third novel THE EMPATHY PROBLEM publishes in August 2016.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473605237
  • Publication date: 11 Aug 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Extence keeps the twists and turns coming, full of mordant wit, until the bitter end. — Daily Mail
The Empathy Problem is delightful, written in a warm, engaging voice and composed of short chapters that rattle along . . . An accessible read but one that prompts you to think about what it means to live a moral life. It's so good it 'll leave you wanting to change your own life, to be a better person. — Independent
Witty and sincere . . . very clever — Huffington Post
Another stand-out book from this outstanding author — Book of the Week, The Sun
A very personal, compassionate and intimate read. Gavin Extence is fast becoming one of my favourite authors, he constantly surprises, challenges and stimulates with his barbed, so beautifully readable books. I sat up reading for most of the night, and even when I had turned the last page, I didn't want to put it down. — Lovereading.co.uk
Emotional porn for lefties . . . You can't put it down . . . precise and propulsive . . . a real page-turner — Janice Forsyth show, BBC Radio Scotland
Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Hodder & Stoughton

When You Read This

Mary Adkins
Authors:
Mary Adkins

On his first day of work at a struggling brand management firm, an ambitious intern discovers a blog created by his predecessor, Iris Massey. Iris, he quickly learns, died a few months earlier, leaving a hole in the life of the firm's morose boss, Smith. Now, stuck at his desk all day, Carl-the-Intern - whose sky-high aspirations are thwarted only by Smith's sluggishness - gets hooked on Iris's blog, and the stories she tells about the life she left behind. Determined to share her story, Carl and Smith soon track down Iris' sister Jade, an haute cuisine chef who's been knocked sideways by her loss, finding solace only in potato chips and red wine. Smith and Jade, tied together by their mutual grief and each carrying their own baggage, end up on a collision course: with their own unresolved pasts, and also with each other. Funny and moving in equal measures, WHEN YOU READ THIS is a sparkling debut about love, life, and all the emails you really wish you'd never sent.

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Gavin Extence 2

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Hodder Paperbacks

The Identicals

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'The Queen of the Summer Novel' (People) The ultimate summertime reading for fans of Jane Green and Roisin Meaney.Nantucket is only two and a half hours away from Martha's Vineyard by ferry. But the two islands might as well be worlds apart for a set of identical twin sisters who have been at odds for years.Just because twins look exactly the same doesn't mean they're anything alike - and Tabitha and Harper Frost have spent their whole lives trying to prove this point. When a family crisis forces them to band together - or at least appear to - the twins come to realise that the special bond that they share is more important than the resentments that have driven them apart. A story of new loves, old battles, and a threat that gives a whole new meaning to the term sibling rivalry, The Identicals is Elin Hilderbrand at her page-turning best.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Finch in My Brain

Martino Sclavi
Authors:
Martino Sclavi
Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards

CITY OF CIRCLES is an entrancing love story between Danu and Morrie, two circus performers, and Danu's Lewis Carroll-esque odyssey through the magical city of Matryoshka, that ends with a heart-warming yet bittersweet twist. Danu is in mourning for her parents after a disease has ravaged the circus she calls home. She begins a high-wire act with Morrie, a charismatic hunchback who wants to marry her. But her mother has entrusted her with a mysterious locket that will lead her down a path Morrie cannot follow.When the circus visits Danu's birthplace, the magical city of Matryoshka, she goes in search of a stranger who may hold the answer to her past. And when the circus leaves, Danu stays behind. Will she and Morrie ever be reunited, or will something unexpected be waiting for her in the mysterious heart of the city of circles?'Her exploration of self and grief will resonate with many' Ros Barber, author of The Marlowe Papers

Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn
Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
John Murray

Conflicts of Interest

Terry Stiastny
Authors:
Terry Stiastny

'A skilful prose stylist and a connoisseur of telling details' GuardianLawrence Leith has retreated from his once-successful career in TV to a small village in the south of France to mourn the end of his marriage and the loss of his job.When his old colleague Martin Elliott arrives for a summer holiday, surrounded by his lovely family and new, influential friends, he seems to have everything that Lawrence lacks. Martin is convinced that Lawrence should get back in the game, even if that involves returning to Africa, where it once nearly ended for both of them. As Martin's carefully cultivated image begins to slip, Lawrence recovers his urge to find out the real story - one which will force him to choose between his friend and his principles.Masterfully constructed and universally topical, Conflicts of Interest is a novel about personal betrayal and political double-dealing, about the realities of being in the public eye and how the truth, no matter how hidden, will always out.

Hodder & Stoughton

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh

'I've come about the bodies. I know who they are.' Just before D-Day in 1944, on the Isle of Purbeck in Dorset, an elderly woman walks into a police station. She has information, she says, about human remains recently discovered nearby. The bodies could have stayed buried for ever - like the pain and passion that put them there. But Mary Holmes is finally ready to tell the truth. The young constable sent to take her statement is still suffering from the injuries that ended his army career. As he tries to make sense of her tale, William finds himself increasingly distracted. Mary's confession forces his own violent memories to the surface - betrayals and regrets as badly healed as his war wounds. Over six days, as pressure builds for the final push in Europe, two lives reveal their secrets. Should You Ask Me is a captivating story about people at their worst and best: raw, rich, and utterly compelling.

Hodder & Stoughton

All I Ever Wanted

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets at the Little Village School: A Little Village School Novel (Book 5)

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn

The fifth Little Village School novel.'It's a small village is Barton-in-the-Dale, Mrs Stirling,' said the shopkeeper. 'You ought to know that by now. Nothing can be kept secret for too long. News travels fast.'In the little village of Barton-in-the-Dale, long-hidden secrets are bubbling to the surface. Ashley Underwood and Emmet O'Malley are set to tie the knot, when a revelation from the handsome Irishman's past returns to haunt him. The town's resident nosey-parker discovers some juicy gossip about the primary school's dishy new staff-member, and head teacher Elisabeth Stirling has a very special secret of her own.As the wedding day draws closer, brewing secrets threaten to boil over. But along with the skeletons tumbling out of the closet comes plenty of laughter, drama, friendship and love. One thing's for sure: for some, life in Barton-in-the-Dale will never be the same again.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Mirror World of Melody Black

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence
Hodder & Stoughton

On the Third Day of Christmas

Helen Chandler
Authors:
Helen Chandler

Put your feet up, tuck into a mince pie and enjoy this treat-sized piece of festive fiction. For fans of Jenny Colgan and Lisa Jewell.It's 27th December, and Julia is thinking about Christmas, and the cosy, relaxed days she spent with her best friend, Toby. Maybe it was just the magic of Christmas, or maybe it was just her, but was there a frisson of something else between them? After ten years of friendship, and a couple of near-misses, is Julia coming to realise that true love might have been under her nose all along? Most importantly, does Toby feel the same?

Hodder Paperbacks

To Have and to Hold

Helen Chandler
Authors:
Helen Chandler
Hodder Paperbacks

A Conspiracy of Tall Men

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley
Hodder & Stoughton

Two for Joy

Helen Chandler
Authors:
Helen Chandler
Hodder & Stoughton

The Man Who Fell In Love With His Wife

Paul Burke
Authors:
Paul Burke

Newly-wed Frank Dempsey, a former Catholic priest, can now luxuriate in the sublime joys of his wife's arms.Yet Frank isn't really off-duty from charitable deeds - when he isn't driving his black cab for a local taxi firm, he is in hot demand to speak at christenings and funerals. Or to inspire people to flock to the dancefloor as a DJ.Frank soon discovers that the tempting sins of the flesh have consequences; when Frank becomes a real father, he realises he is going to need a miracle to feed the five thousand...

Hodder Paperbacks

Untorn Tickets

Paul Burke
Authors:
Paul Burke

Dave and Andy are two classmates from a strict Catholic School in 70s London. Dave is desperate to escape his stifling Irish home life and Andy the cultural trappings of his traditional Polish family. Both dream of opportunitiesafforded to the strangers on the silver screen. And by chance, they end up working part-time in their local cinema in Notting Hill.They soon discover that being heroes of their own lives and impressing the stars on the ground is a challenge. They embark on a voyage of discovery far more exciting than anything they've seen on film. But when the cinema is threatened with closure, they realise that more than their new found freedom is at risk...