Gavin Extence - The Empathy Problem - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473605213
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473631472
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2016
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473605244
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018

The Empathy Problem

By Gavin Extence

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS IS BACK WITH ANOTHER WARM, WITTY AND GRIPPING STORY OF SECOND CHANCES

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS COMES ANOTHER WARM, WITTY AND GRIPPING STORY OF SECOND CHANCES

*****

'It's so good it'll leave you wanting to change your own life, to be a better person' INDEPENDENT
'Witty and sincere... very clever.' HUFFINGTON POST
'Another stand-out book from this outstanding author.' THE SUN, BOOK OF THE WEEK
'I absolutely loved this story... Extence has such a dry, witty style of writing.' MARIE CLAIRE
'Extence keeps the twists and turns coming, full of mordant wit, until the bitter end.' DAILY MAIL

*****

RESCUED. GABRIEL HAS NEVER RESCUED ANYONE BEFORE. BUT WHEN HIS LIFE GETS TURNED UPSIDE DOWN THERE'S NO MORE TIME FOR REGRETS OR MISSED CHANCES. AND GABRIEL IS JUST ABOUT READY TO GRAB EVERY CHANCE LIFE THROWS AT HIM.

Biographical Notes

Gavin Extence lives in Sheffield with his wife and children. He has written two previous novels, the Richard and Judy bestseller, THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS and THE MIRROR WORLD OF MELODY BLACK, which was described as 'a cross between Bridget Jones' Diary and One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest' by a Simon Mayo Book Club reviewer.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473605237
  • Publication date: 11 Aug 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Extence keeps the twists and turns coming, full of mordant wit, until the bitter end. — Daily Mail
A gripping look at an unlikeable character. — Psychologies
A very personal, compassionate and intimate read. Gavin Extence is fast becoming one of my favourite authors, he constantly surprises, challenges and stimulates with his barbed, so beautifully readable books. I sat up reading for most of the night, and even when I had turned the last page, I didn't want to put it down. — Lovereading.co.uk
Emotional porn for lefties . . . You can't put it down . . . precise and propulsive . . . a real page-turner — Janice Forsyth show, BBC Radio Scotland
It's funny, well observed and heartfelt without being sentimental... a lovely, engaging read that'll leave you resolving to change your own life for the better. — Winq magazine
Praise for Gavin Extence's previous novels — -
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, FranceWerner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Rebecca, the woman he has fallen in love with, a mysterious link means he must uncover the truth of his past, or run the risk of losing her. Spanning 1945 Dresden, the Bavarian Alps and uncovering Operation Paperclip, this is a riveting novel of family and love that seamlessly blends fact with fiction.

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Gavin Extence 2

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence

Hodder Paperbacks

The French Exchange Whale and Other Rejected Book Ideas

Cal King, Sean Bright
Contributors:
Cal King, Sean Bright
Hodder Paperbacks

A Proper Family Adventure

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

Could you spend two weeks at sea with your family?Thanks to an unexpected windfall, the Bensons are treating themselves to a luxury cruise. With stop-offs in Barcelona, Rome and Marseilles, plus constant entertainment onboard, it's a dream come true . . . Or is it? Last time Chelsea Benson went on holiday with this lot she nearly went crazy.Her mum and sister are convinced Chelsea's boyfriend Adam will propose on the ship. Chelsea's sure he won't, but she can't help feeling butterflies as they set sail. Is Adam going to pop the question, or will the only thing to pop be Chelsea's ego?Onboard dramas, family upheavals, memories and sunshine . . . Fall in love with the Benson family, and treat yourself to a five-star family cruise, all without leaving your sofa.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Mirror World of Melody Black

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence
Hodder Paperbacks

A Proper Family Holiday

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

Could you survive a week-long holiday with your entire family?Newly single magazine journalist Chelsea Benson can't think of anything worse.Your grubby small nephew torpedoing any chance of romance with the dishy guy you met on the plane . . .Your eighty-five-year-old granddad chatting up ladies at the hotel bar . . .Getting nothing but sarcastic comments from your older sister, who's always been the family favourite . . .And all this is before your parents drop their bombshell.Is a week enough time for the Bensons to put their differences aside and have some fun? Or is this their last ever proper family holiday?Heartwarming and funny, this is the perfect summer read for fans of SOPHIE KINSELLA and LINDSEY KELK. And provides a great excuse for ignoring your annoying family members . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Keeping Faith

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

Hodder Paperbacks

Mercy

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

Picture Perfect

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

Hodder Paperbacks

Harvesting the Heart

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

The Pact

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

Plain Truth

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder & Stoughton

The Universe versus Alex Woods

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence

A tale of an unexpected friendship, an unlikely hero and an improbable journey, Alex's story treads the fine line between light and dark, laughter and tears. And it might just strike you as one of the funniest, most heartbreaking novels you've ever heard.Alex Woods knows that he hasn't had the most conventional start in life. He knows that growing up with a clairvoyant single mother won't endear him to the local bullies. He also knows that even the most improbable events can happen - he's got the scars to prove it. What he doesn't know yet is that when he meets ill-tempered, reclusive widower Mr Peterson, he'll make an unlikely friend. Someone who tells him that you only get one shot at life. That you have to make the best possible choices. So when, aged seventeen, Alex is stopped at Dover customs with 113 grams of marijuana, an urn full of ashes on the passenger seat, and an entire nation in uproar, he's fairly sure he's done the right thing . . .(P)2013 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder Paperbacks

Songs of the Humpback Whale

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

Jane had always lived in somebody's shadow. Escaping a childhood of abuse by marrying oceanographer Oliver Jones, she finds herself taking second place to his increasingly successful career. However, when her daughter Rebecca is similarly treated, Jane's dramatic stand takes them all by surprise. Jane and Rebecca set out to drive across America to the sanctuary of the New England apple orchard where Jane's brother Joley works. Oliver, used to tracking male humpback whales across vast oceans, now has the task of tracking his wife across a continent. To do so he must learn to see the world - and even himself - through her eyes...

John Grisham

John Grisham as a child dreamed of being a professional baseball player. After graduating from law school at Ole Miss in 1981, he went on to practice law for nearly a decade, specialising in criminal defense and personal injury litigation. One day, Grisham overheard the harrowing testimony of a twelve-year-old rape victim and was inspired to start a novel exploring what would have happened if the girl's father had murdered her assailants. Getting up at 5 a.m. every day to get in several hours of writing time before heading off to work, Grisham spent three years on A Time to Kill and finished it in 1987.His next novel, The Firm, spent 47 weeks on The New York Times bestseller list and became the bestselling novel of 1991. Since then, he has written one novel a year, including The Client, The Pelican Brief, The Rainmaker and The Runaway Jury.Today, Grisham has written a collection of stories, a work of non-fiction, three sports novels, five kids' books, and many legal thrillers. His work has been translated into 42 languages. He lives near Charlottesville, Virginia.

Joyce Meyer

Joyce Meyer is the bestselling author of more than 100 inspirational books, including The Power of Simple Prayer, Approval Addiction, Power Thoughts and Battlefield of the Mind. Joyce's 'Enjoying Everyday Life' radio and television programmes are broadcast around the world, and she travels extensively conducting conferences.

Kay Langdale

Kay Langdale is the author of five novels: Away From You, Choose Me, Her Giant Octopus Moment, What the Heart Knows (Rowohlt, Germany) and Redemption (Transita; published as If Not Love by Thomas Dunne Books.) Visit Kay's website at www.kaylangdale.com. Follow her on Twitter: @KayLangdale.

Laini Taylor

Hi! I write fantasy books. My latest is STRANGE THE DREAMER, about a young librarian, a mythic lost city, and the half-human children of murdered gods. Check it out :-) Before that I wrote the DAUGHTER OF SMOKE & BONE trilogy, which has been translated into 32 languages. It's about a blue-haired art student raised by monsters, a broken angel, and a war that has raged for 1000 years in another world. I also wrote LIPS TOUCH: THREE TIMES, which was a National Book Award finalist, and the DREAMDARK books. As well as various short stories and novellas. Thanks for reading!! www.lainitaylor.com; @lainitaylor

Lucy Dillon

Lucy Dillon was born in Cumbria. She won the Romantic Novelists' Association Novel of the Year Award in 2010 for Lost Dogs and Lonely Hearts, and is the bestselling author of four other novels: The Ballroom Class, Walking Back to Happiness, The Secret of Happy Ever After and A Hundred Pieces of Me. Lucy now divides her time between London and the Wye Valley where she enjoys walking in the Malvern Hills with her basset hounds, Violet and Bonham. You can follow her on Twitter @lucy_dillon or on Facebook www.facebook.com/pages/LucyDillonBooks.

Mike Gayle

Previously an Agony Uncle, Mike Gayle is a freelance journalist who has contributed to a variety of magazines including FHM, Sunday Times Style and Cosmopolitan. His bestselling novels include MY LEGENDARY GIRLFRIEND, MR COMMITMENT, TURNING THIRTY, HIS 'N' HERS and BRAND NEW FRIEND. He keeps a website at www.mikegayle.co.uk and can be found on Facebook and on twitter.com/mikegayle