Alexander Cordell - The Fire People - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Fire People

By Alexander Cordell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

First published in 1972 and now available as an eBook, The Fire People is a rousing historical drama from the bestselling author of Rape of the Fair Country

Set in the ironmaking town of Merthyr Tydfil, The Fire People is the
story of Dic Penderyn who in 1831 became the first Welsh Martyr of
the working class.

Hanged for a crime that he did not commit, his story is told in this
powerful novel which describes the events which took place during
the famous Merthyr Tydfil riots of 1831.

Biographical Notes

Alexander Cordell was born in Ceylon in 1914, was educated mainly in China and joined the army in 1932. After WWII, during which he served in France, he became a civil servant, spending three years in Hong Kong.

He wrote more than thirty novels including the highly acclaimed 'Mortymer Trilogy' - The Rape of the Fair Country, The Hosts of Rebecca and Song of the Earth. He died on 13 November 1997 aged eighty-three

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473603516
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides comes a stunningly evocative historical novel, perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent.'Beautifully told and quietly absorbing' - Kate RiordanScotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.***'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' The Times'Riveting' Publishers Weekly'Stunning' Booklist'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward
Authors:
Lili Hayward
Hodder & Stoughton

The Spook Who Spoke Again

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

Marcus Didius Alexander Postumus is a special boy. He is twelve, or perhaps eleven. He has two mothers and various possible fathers, so he worries who will take care of him. He is self-confident yet vulnerable, intelligent yet sinister. He knows not many people like him. When his birth mother, Thalia the snake-dancer, takes him to live with her troupe of exotic performers, Postumus sees it as useful experience even though it involves him mucking out menagerie cages. No one anticipates how much havoc he will wreak. On his first day a tragedy occurs. No one else cares, so Postumus decides he alone must solve this crime and impose retribution on the guilty. As son and brother to the famous investigators Falco and Albia, he knows murder is punished by execution. Postumus single-mindedly sets out to accomplish this, sidetracked by nothing, not even a rehearsal of Falco's legendary play, The Spook Who Spoke...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Emperor's Knives: Empire VII

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

'A master of the genre' The TimesThe seventh novel in Anthony Riches' acclaimed Empire sequence brings Marcus Aquila back to Rome, hunting the men who destroyed his family. But the revenge he craves may cost him and those around him dearly.The young centurion's urge to exact his own brutal justice upon the shadowy cabal of assassins who butchered his family means that he must face them on their own ground, risking his own death at their hands.A senator, a gang boss, a praetorian officer and, deadliest of all, champion gladiator Mortiferum - the Death Bringer - lie in wait. The knives are unsheathed, and ready for blood . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

This Proud and Savage Land

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Hywel Mortymer's story begins in 1800 when he is sixteen and a dramatic change in fortune leads him, innocent and inexperienced, to a brutal anddangerous life working in the coal mines. In the mines children can be horribly maimed in devastating gas explosions,or grow deformed with the burden of their labours and babies are born underground. Wales is in turmoil. A tragic divide between rich and poor, the workers powerless,penniless, starving and diseased sparks growing unrest as the newly founded Unions move inexorably towards the Chartist Rebellion. This Proud and Savage Land is a brilliantly detailed chronicle of early nineteenth-century Wales and a prelude to the bestselling Rape of the Fair Country.

Hodder & Stoughton

Requiem For A Patriot

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Moll

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

The raven-haired beauty in the stagecoach looks every inch the French aristocrat she claims to be. But she is nothing of the sort. She is Moll Walbee, and she has left her reputation as a notorious pickpocket far behind her in the slums of Paris.The handsome higwayman who waylays the stagecoach is also not whathe seems. He is Richard Carling, recently dismissed from his regiment and now a Gentleman of the Road. But all he steals from Moll is a kiss...And so on the road a partnership is born that will be refined in trust and betrayal, that will lead to danger and high adventure in England, on the ocean wave, and to a dramatic climax in the wilds of Australia.

Hodder & Stoughton

Beloved Exile

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dreams of Fair Women

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Hong Kong in the nineteenth century: a heady, overwhelming mixture of worldly commercialism, moral corruption and Eastern tradition. Into this strange and exciting world, on board the S.S. Mongolia comes Milly Smith, daughter of a Hong Kong tycoon, destined for a marriage of convenience to a greedy financier. But during the course of her journey Milly has attracted the attentions of fellow passanger, the wild and dashing pirate, Eli boggs. Set against a turbulent historical backdrop of Hong Kong's piracy, the slave trade and the infamous Opium War, The Dreams of Fair Women is a classic historical adventure from the author of The Rape of the Fair Country.

Hodder & Stoughton

Land of Heart's Desire

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Love That God Forgot

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Wales has reached the apex of her industrial clamour. But young Tom Mortymer, son of rich industrialist Iestyn Mortymer, has turned his back on his inheritance, exchanging the bell-clang and fire of his Upper Forest Tinplate Works in Morriston for the simplicity and wanderlust of a gypsy existence with his young Romany wife, Jen Wildflower. In time they come to settle on Flatholm Island where they become a refuge for the animals. Self-sufficiency is their ultimate goal; the substantial income from tinplate is ignored. But their simple idyll does not last. They are aware of a strange malevolence towards them.One frightening incident follows another until it is clear to tom and Jen that they will have to abandon their home and return to Cefn-Ydfa, their mansion in Maesteg. Their decision coincides with the arrival in Cardiff of Jethro Mortymer, Tom's uncle - whom he had long believed dead. Would Jethro be able to shed any light on Tom and Jen's continuing nightmare?

Hodder & Stoughton

Send Her Victorious

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

1848. When the French people besiege Paris, King Louis Philippe flees to England and the French aristocracy run for their lives. Even the Pope deserts the Vatican.Europe is in turmoil. Fearing economic and social collapse, the French provisonal government distractsworld attention by recruiting a Queen voctoria 'look alike', one madame Alicia Bernard, and then claiming that they have succeeded in abducting Victoria for a trial in Paris for'crimes against the poor'. Alicia Bernard stands alone before the howling mobs, until barrister Andre Pelon is appointed to defend her...

Hodder & Stoughton

Tunnel Tigers

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Brunel, Stephenson, Locke and Vignoles - these were the magic names.And under them 10,000 laboured, blasting, shovelling and digging, changing the contours of Britain for a new age of railways. Among them is Nick Wortley, whose love for the daughter of the local mill owner is cruelly thwarted. Taking flight he is drawn by the irresistable clamour of the great Sheffield to Manchester, a railway which is preparing to drive a path of steel under thePennines. Stephenson said it was impossible; Nick and his companions will provehim wrong, but at a terrible price...

Hodder & Stoughton

Tales From Tiger Bay

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

The people who inhabited the dockland area of Cardiff, know as Tiger Bay,have engraved their personalities on the very air of Bute Street and, under Alexander Cordell's vivid pen, the streets are crammed again with everycreed and nationality; from priests and nuns to dockers and drunks; boxers,rugby fanatics, concubines and Bute Street ladies. The place comes alive in all its bawdy strength and colour.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sea Urchin

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

The Isle of Man is a Fairy place. If you know where to look, you may still find the little people, as they are called. On the Island lived a Chinese boy, Hu, with his father and his dog Kau Kau. One day Hu's father said that he was going to Liverpool to bring home a new wife, and a new mother for Hu. But Hu did not want a new mother. So he too his father's dinghy and sailed away with Kau Kau to the tiny island called the Calf of Man.Nobody knew where he had gone. But the birds and animals came to his aid. With Basking Shark speeding though the waves, the prow rope of the dinghy in his jaws, and with Don Dolphin racing alongside, while the birds flew in clouds overhead, Hu was taken to the Little People. Surely they would help him...SEA URCHIN is a wonderful fable for younger readers from the bestselling author of the Mortymer Trilogy.

Hodder & Stoughton

To Slay The Dreamer

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Rogue's March

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Land Of My Fathers

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Peerless Jim

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

This Sweet And Bitter Earth

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell