Tad Williams - The Witchwood Crown - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473603226
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473603233
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017

The Witchwood Crown

Book One of The Last King of Osten Ard

By Tad Williams

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

The stunning successor to Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, one of the greatest fantasy trilogies of all time...

Thirty years ago Ineluki, the Storm King, was destroyed and his armies scattered. Osten Ard has been at peace ever since, ruled by Simon Snowlock, kitchen boy made king, and Miriamele, King Elias' only child. But now age weighs upon their reign. Simon's dreams have deserted him, old allies die and betrayal and assassination threaten. His son and heir John Josua is years dead and his grandson, Morgan, is a wastrel. A journey of redemption and discovery beckons in the darkening world.

And in the frozen North, in Nakkiga, the mountain fortress, Ineluki's ally, the Norn Queen, wakes from her deep, decades-long sleep and tells her followers that she will sleep no more. Humanity must be destroyed. Her sorcerers will bring a demon back from death, her warriors will seek the world for living dragon's blood...

And finally the greatest artefact of all, the Witchwood Crown, will be hers.

With a cast of hundreds - humans, giants, dragons, trolls, Sithi and Norn - The Witchwood Crown is epic fantasy as it used to be: classic, grand and sweeping and evidence that Tad Williams is the greatest living writer of the form.

Biographical Notes

Tad Williams is a California-based fantasy superstar. His genre-creating (and genre-busting) books have sold tens of millions worldwide, in twenty-five languages. His considerable output of epic fantasy and science fiction book-series, stories of all kinds, urban fantasy novels, comics, scripts, etc., have strongly influenced a generation of writers: the Otherland epic now plays as an MMO on steam.com. Tad is currently immersed in the creation of The Last King of Osten Ard, planned as a trilogy with two intermediary novels. He, his family and his animals live in the Santa Cruz mountains in a suitably strange and beautiful house.

@tadwilliams @mrstad

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473603202
  • Publication date: 29 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 736
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
This is flawless epic fantasy. . . Williams' grand-scale storytelling mastery is on full display here. Not just utterly readable-an instant fantasy classic. — Kirkus
Praise for Memory, Sorrow and Thorn — -
One of my favourite fantasy series — George R. R. Martin, author of A Game of Thrones
One of the main reasons I started writing fantasy . . . Tad Williams' work is an essential part of any science fiction and fantasy library — Christopher Paolini, author of the Inheritance Cycle series
Ground-breaking . . . changed how people thought of the genre and paved the way for so much modern fantasy, including mine — Patrick Rothfuss, author of The Kingkiller Chronicle
Hodder & Stoughton

Empire of Grass

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Following on from The Witchwood Crown, Empire of Grass: Book Two of The Last King of Osten Ard continues the story of one of the best loved fantasy epics of all time - Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, the inspiration for Christopher Paolini and George R. R. Martin.

John Murray Learning

Human Origins

Sceptre

Lost and Found

Jules Montague
Authors:
Jules Montague

If a loved one changes as a result of a brain disorder, are they still the same person? So begins a beautifully written and deeply moving book for our times, about who we become when our minds misbehave - from dementia to sleep disorders. Written by a leading neurologist, it is perfect for readers of Henry Marsh, Oliver Sacks and Stephen Grosz. Dr Jules Montague is a neurologist who spends her days helping people who are experiencing dementia other brain disorders. In Lost and Found, she explores what remains of the person left behind when the pieces of their mind go missing. Along the way she answers fascinating questions about how we remember, think and behave. Why do some memories endure and others fade? Why do you sometimes forget why you went into a room? And what if rather than losing memories, your mind creates false ones - are they still yours, and do they still make you, you?Yet there is more to identity than just memory. Who are we when we dream, fall unconscious or wake from a coma? What if our personality changes radically because of dementia or multiple personality disorder - are we still inherently the same person? And could a brain disorder awaken your creativity, release your talents, enhance your identity rather than damage it? Blending first-hand accounts from the author's day-to-day medical work with the latest thinking into what makes us who we are, this is an unforgettable book about how we lose ourselves and those around us - and how we can be found again.

Hodder & Stoughton

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Osten Ard Story

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Mulholland Books

The Twentieth Day of January

Ted Allbeury
Authors:
Ted Allbeury
Hodder & Stoughton

The Book What I Wrote

Eddie Braben
Authors:
Eddie Braben

With his recent theatrical success, THE PLAY WHAT I WROTE, Braben shows that the audience for the spirit of the incomparable Eric and Ernie is just as alive today as it was in their glory years. Now, the key figure behind their success, scriptwriter Braben, has written his autobiography - with the inimitable, timeless humour, warmth and affection for Eric and Ernie of that wonderful bygone era which made their classic sketches so successful. From Liverpool to London and on to Snowdonia, Braben peppers his story with wonderful anecdotes about the original straight man and his amiable sidekick. The Book What I Wrote is as much a unique biography of the charismatic Eric and Ernie as it is an autiobiography of the man on whose gags their success was made.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ashes: It's All About the Urn

Graeme Swann
Authors:
Graeme Swann

Graeme Swann leads us on a compelling adventure through one of world sport's most engrossing rivalries. He knows as much as anybody about the heat of England v Australia battles, having played in three series wins and also the whitewash defeat of 2013-14 when its intensity ended his international career. However, it brought out some of his best displays in Test cricket. But he is just one of dozens of colourful characters to have added their chapters to this great tome. The mock obituary of English cricket in the Sporting Times of 1882 was the forerunner of summers and winters of heaven and hell, depending on which side of the divide you were situated. When it comes to on-field relations nothing quite compares to the over-my-dead-body feel of the Ashes.From Grace to Sir Don, the most graceful of them all. From the foulest play to the fairest - contrast the 1932-33 Bodyline series affair to the image of Andrew Flintoff hunched over a distraught Brett Lee in 2005. From Ray Illingworth's famous walk-off in the Seventies, when an England team-mate was assaulted by a spectator, to Steve Waugh's hugely emotional lap of honour when he retired a quarter of a century later. Swann's book will reveal the magic of a series that first gripped him in his front room in Northampton as an aspiring spin bowler in the mid-1980s.

Yellow Kite

Kilted Yoga

Finlay Wilson
Authors:
Finlay Wilson
Hodder & Stoughton

Over and Out

Henry Blofeld
Authors:
Henry Blofeld
Hodder & Stoughton

Rugby: The Game of My Life

Rob Andrew
Authors:
Rob Andrew
Hodder & Stoughton

Things My Dog Has Taught Me

Jonathan Wittenberg
Authors:
Jonathan Wittenberg
Hodder & Stoughton

Seeking Aliveness

Brian D. McLaren
Authors:
Brian D. McLaren
Teach Yourself

The Self-Esteem Workbook

Judy Bartkowiak
Authors:
Judy Bartkowiak
Hodder & Stoughton

Thinking Out Loud

Rio Ferdinand
Authors:
Rio Ferdinand
Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King
Two Roads

Adventures of a Young Naturalist

David Attenborough
Authors:
David Attenborough

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'A marvellous book ... unputdownable ... utterly engaging' Telegraph'An elegant and gently funny writer' The Times 'His writing is as impressive and as enjoyable as his TV programmes and there can be no higher praise' Daily ExpressThe gripping adventures of a young David Attenborough - published in a beautiful gift hardback, with a new introduction and a new selection of 90 pictures, including colourIn 1954, a young David Attenborough was offered the opportunity of a lifetime - to travel the world finding rare and elusive animals for London Zoo's collection, and to film the expeditions for the BBC for a new show called Zoo Quest. This is the story of those voyages. Staying with local tribes while trekking in search of giant anteaters in Guyana, Komodo dragons in Indonesia and armadillos in Paraguay, he and the rest of the team battled with cannibal fish, aggressive tree porcupines and escape-artist wild pigs, as well as treacherous terrain and unpredictable weather, to record the incredible beauty and biodiversity of these regions. The methods may be outdated now, but the fascination and respect for the wildlife, the people and the environment - and the importance of protecting these wild places - is not.Written with Attenborough's trademark wit and charm, Adventures of a Young Naturalist is not just the story of a remarkable adventure, but of the man who made us fall in love with the natural world, and who is still doing so today.Praise for Sir David Attenborough'A great educator as well as a great naturalist' - Barack Obama'Sir David is a wizard of television, and, like Gandalf or Dumbledore, he has a near-magical gift for combining warmth and gravitas . . . the man who, for me, exemplifies the best in British broadcasting' - Louis Theroux'When I was a young boy I used to love turning on the television and watching David's programmes and really feeling like I was either back out in Africa or I was learning about something magical and almost out of this planet' - Prince William

Hodder & Stoughton

City of Masks

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes
Sceptre

The Barrowfields

Phillip Lewis
Authors:
Phillip Lewis
Hodder Paperbacks

The Chinaman

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Stephen Leather's BESTSELLING breakthrough thriller.The Chinaman understood death.Jungle-skilled, silent and lethal, he had killed for the Viet Cong and then for the Americans. He had watched helpless when his two eldest daughters had been raped and killed by Thai pirates.Now all that was behind him. Quiet, hard-working and unassuming, he was building up his South London take-away business.Until the day his wife and youngest daughter were destroyed by an IRA bomb in a Knightsbridge department store.Then, simply but persistently, he began to ask the authorities who were the men responsible, what was being done. And was turned away, fobbed off, treated as a nuisance.Which was when the Chinaman, denied justice, decided on revenge. And went back to war.