D.M. Mark - The Zealot's Bones - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444798197
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473604247
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2017

The Zealot's Bones

By D.M. Mark

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A blockbuster historical novel from bestselling author David Mark - which will appeal to his fans as well as anyone who loves Ripper Street, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher, and Antonia Hodgson.

From Hell, Hull and Halifax, may the Good Lord deliver us.

In 1849, Hull is a city forgotten and abandoned; in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down by the cartload.

Into this world of flame and grief comes Mesach Stone, a former soldier, lost upon his way. He's been hired as bodyguard by a Canadian academic hunting for the bones of the apostle Simon the Zealot, rumoured to lie somewhere in Lincolnshire.

Stone can't see why ancient bones are of interest in a world full of them...but then a woman he briefly loved is killed. As he investigates he realises that she is just one of many... and that some deaths cry out for vengeance.

From the twisted imagination of David Mark, author of the McAvoy series, THE ZEALOT'S BONES is historical crime with a difference.

Biographical Notes

D.M. Mark is the historical alter ego of David Mark, who was a crime journalist before becoming a novelist. He has written six novels in the McAvoy series: Dark Winter, Original Skin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity, Dead Pretty and Cruel Mercy, as well as two McAvoy novellas, A Bad Death and Fire of Lies, which are available in ebook. Dark Winter was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. The Zealot's Bones is his first historical crime novel. He chose to delve into the past after deciding that some stories served up by his twisted imagination are just too disturbing to feature in the present.

He lives in East Yorkshire and you can find him on Twitter @davidmarkwriter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444798180
  • Publication date: 21 Sep 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Mulholland Books

The Binding Song

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, THE BINDING SONG takes you on a trip to Halvergate Prison. If you're lucky, you'll get to leave...Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at HMP Halvergate in a remote, bleak area of Norfolk. At first, she was excited by the promotion. Then she starts to see how many secrets are hiding behind the high walls.A string of inmates have committed suicide, leaving no reasons why, and her predecessor has disappeared - along with his notes. The staff are hostile, the threat of violence is ever-present, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, punishing the inmates for their sins. Janet is determined to find out what is really going on. But the longer she stays and the deeper she digs, the more uncertain she feels. Halvergate is haunted by something. But it may be a terror worse than ghosts...

Hodder & Stoughton

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder & Stoughton

Fallout

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trespasser

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

'Contains the most tense and serpentine interrogation scenes outside of John Le Carré' - GuardianThis is the case she imagined. Precision-cut and savage, lithe and momentous.Antoinette Conway, the tough, abrasive detective from The Secret Place, is still on the Murder squad, but only just. She's partnered up with Stephen Moran now, and that's going well - but the rest of her working life isn't. Antoinette doesn't play well with others, and there's a vicious running campaign in the squad to get rid of her. She and Stephen pull a case that at first looks like a slam-dunk lovers' tiff. All she and her partner have to do is track down Lover Boy and bring him in. Then it'll be back to business as usual, watching from a distance as the real detectives go up against the psychopaths. Except when Antoinette takes a good look at the victim's face, she realises she's seen her somewhere before. And suddenly the conviction that there's a different answer takes her breath away.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sting

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something definitely sparks. Shaw gives off a dangerous vibe that makes men wary and inspires women to sit up and take notice. None feel that undercurrent more strongly than savvy businesswoman Jordie, who doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her. As Shaw and his partner take aim, Jordie is certain her time has come. But Shaw has other plans and abducts Jordie, hoping to get his hands on the $30 million her brother has stolen and, presumably, hidden. However, Shaw is not the only one looking for the fortune. Her brother's ruthless boss and the FBI are after it as well. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits - and each other - to stay alive. Miles away from civilization and surrounded by swampland, the two play each other against their common enemies. Jordie's only chance of survival is to outwit Shaw, but it soon becomes clear to Shaw that Jordie isn't entirely trustworthy, either. Was she in on her brother's scam, or is she an innocent pawn in a deadly vendetta? And just how valuable is her life to Shaw, her remorseless and manipulative captor? Burning for answers-and for each other-this unlikely pair ultimately make a desperate move that could be their last.With nonstop plot twists and the tantalizing sexual tension that has made Sandra Brown one of the world's best-loved authors, STING will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final pages.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Narrow Bed

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game for All the Family

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

The Black Stone

Nick Brown
Authors:
Nick Brown

AD 273. Obsessed by the solar religions of the east, the emperor Aurelian sets out to obtain every sacred object within his realm. But one - a mysterious rock said to channel the power of the sun god - lies beyond his reach. Warrior-priest Ilaha has captured the legendary stone and is using it to raise an army against Rome.For Imperial agent Cassius Corbulo and ex-gladiator bodyguard Indavara, stopping him constitutes their greatest challenge yet. Assisted by a squad of undercover soldiers and a Saracen chieftain, they trek south across the deserts of Arabia, encountering sandstorms, murderous money-lenders and a ruthless German mercenary. And when they finally reach Ilaha's mountain fortress, they face thousands of warriors who will give their lives to protect him ... and the black stone.

Hodder & Stoughton

Pictures Or It Didn't Happen

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

Would you trust a complete stranger?After Chloe and her daughter Freya are rescued from disaster by a man who seems too good to be true, Chloe decides she must find him again to thank him. But instead of meeting her knight in shining armour, she comes across a woman called Nadine Caspian who warns her to stay well away from him. The man is dangerous, Nadine claims, and a compulsive liar. Alarmed, Chloe asks her what she means, but Nadine will say no more. Chloe knows that the sensible choice would be to walk away - after all, she doesn't know anything about this man. But she is too curious. What could Nadine have meant? And can Chloe find out the truth without putting herself and her daughter in danger?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Telling Error

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Mulholland Books

The Saint around the World

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris
Mulholland Books

Thanks to the Saint

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris
Mulholland Books

Señor Saint

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

Simon Templar is at his cavalier best in this collection of South American adventures. In Mexico, he meets an ice-cool blonde with her own Saintly ideas - and joins in the fun. In Baja California he gets caught up in a strange story of two women and a blind man's oyster bed. In Havana the Saint answers a beautiful woman's plea for help and discovers a revolution that isn't quite what it claims. And finally, in Panama he plays the sucker - but it doesn't last.

Mulholland Books

The Saint in the Sun

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

Whether he is in Cannes, St Tropez, Nassau or Lucerne, the Saint always finds some action to interest him. In these seven stories Simon faces competition in the jewel thief business, encounters an unpleasant movie mogul, uncovers a Ponzi scheme that isn't what it seems, deals with sabotage in the world of motor racing, finds a missing body, tangles with the Russians and rescues an heiress. Evil flourishes in the sun as well as the shadows, but the Saint always stands ready to prevent it.

Mulholland Books

The Saint to the Rescue

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

In this collection of six stories, the fireworks go off with a bang. There's a murky tale of blackmail at a candy convention; a chance to turn the tables on an unscrupulous real-estate broker; a confidence trickster with a keen grasp of maths; a scientific invention that is too good to be true; some respectable ladies with a secret to be kept; and a criminal lawyer who's perhaps too close to the criminals he represents. Simon Templar doesn't mean to start trouble, but how can he help responding to it when it falls into his lap?

Mulholland Books

Trust the Saint

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

In these six stories, the Saint encounters monsters of both the human and the animal variety: unscrupulous fraudsters in Hamburg; a confrontation with a rhino; perfect murders in Paris; a temperance leader deserving to be taken down a peg or two; a thief duping tourists in Sweden; and the hunt for the most famous monster of them all on the shores of Loch Ness. You can trust the Saint to deal with anything life throws at him with charm, imagination and steely determination...

Mulholland Books

The Saint in Europe

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris
Mulholland Books

The Saint on the Spanish Main

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris
Mulholland Books

Call for the Saint

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

In these two novellas, crooked charity collectors and bent boxing promoters attract the Saint's attention... and will wish they hadn't.