Dorothy L Sayers - Gaudy Night - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Gaudy Night

By Dorothy L Sayers
Read by Jane McDowell

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The best of the golden age crime writers, praised by all the top modern writers in the field including P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, Dorothy L. Sayers created the immortal Lord Peter Wimsey. The twelfth book featuring Lord Peter (the third novel to feature Harriet Vane) is set in an Oxford women's college.

Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college.
Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . .

At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters
obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she
arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations.

But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous
malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.

'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a
wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James

(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444797510
  • Publication date: 24 Sep 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

Five Red Herrings

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Striding Folly

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Three of Lord Peter Wimsey's most baffling cases demonstrate his unique detection skills at their most spectacular.The engima of a house numbered thirteen in a street of even numbers; an indignant child accused of theft, a dream about a game of chess that uncovers the true story behind a violent death. Each of the stories introduces a different side of the twentieth century's most ingenious detective hero.This book also features a biographical essay by Janet Hitchman, Sayers' first biographer.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

In the Teeth of the Evidence

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Busman's Honeymoon

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

They plan to have a quiet country honeymoon. Then Lord Peter Wimsey and his bride Harriet Vane find the previous owner's body in the cellar.Set in a country village seething with secrets and snobbery, this is Dorothy L. Sayers' last full-length detective novel. Variously described as a love story with detective interruptions and a detective story with romantic interruptions, it lives up to both descriptions with style.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Murder Must Advertise

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Victor Dean fell to his death on the stairs of Pym's Advertising Agency, but no one seems to be sorry. Until an inquisitive new copywriter joins the firm and asks some awkward questions...Disguised as his disreputable cousin Death Bredon, Lord Peter Wimsey takes a job - one that soon draws him into a vicious network of blackmailers and drug pedlars.Five people will die before Wimsey unravels a sinister and deadly plot. 'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Hangman's Holiday

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Have His Carcase

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Five Red Herrings

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Lord Peter Wimsey could imagine the artist stepping back, the stagger, the fall, down to where the pointed rocks grinned like teeth.But was it an accident - or murder? Six members of the close-knit Galloway artists' colony do not regret Campbell's death.Five of them are red herrings.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Documents in the Case

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The bed was broken and tilted grotesquely sideways. Harrison was sprawled over in a huddle of soiled blankets. His mouth was twisted . . .Harrison had been an expert on deadly mushrooms. How was it then that he had eaten a large quantity of death-dealing muscarine? Was it an accident? Suicide? Or murder?The documents in the case seemed to be a simple collection of love notes and letters home. But they concealed a clue to the brilliant murderer who baffled the best minds in London.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Strong Poison

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Can Lord Peter Wimsey prove that Harriet Vane is not guilty of murder - or find the real poisoner in time to save her from the gallows?Impossible, it seems. The Crown's case is watertight. The police are adamant that the right person is on trial. The judge's summing-up is also clear. Harriet Vane is guilty of the killing her lover. And Harriet Vane shall hang.But the jury disagrees.'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Lord Peter Views The Body

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The best of the golden age crime writers, praised by all the top modern writers in the field including P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, Dorothy L. Sayers created the immortal Lord Peter Wimsey. He made his fifth appearance in this brilliant collection of ingenious short stories. One solution requires expertise in fine wines; another calls on his knowledge of fine art. Lord Peter has the knack of being on the spot at just the right time to spot a thief or blackmail a blackmailer. Or even prevent a murder . . .Whatever the occasion, the aristocratic detective uses his razor-sharp mind and unerring instincts to unmask the guilty and go to the aid of their victims.(P)2014 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Unnatural Death

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Clouds of Witness

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The Duke of Denver, accused of murder, stands trial for his life in the House of Lords.Naturally, his brother Lord Peter Wimsey is investigating the crime - this is a family affair. The murder took place at the duke's shooting lodge and Lord Peter's sister was engaged to marry the dead man.But why does the duke refuse to co-operate with the investigation? Can he really be guilty, or is he covering up for someone?(P)2014 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Whose Body?

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

It was the body of a tall stout man. On his dead face, a handsome pair of gold pince-nez mocked death with grotesque elegance.The body wore nothing else.Lord Peter Wimsey knew immediately what the corpse was supposed to be. His problem was to find out whose body had found its way into Mr Alfred Thipps' Battersea bathroom.'I admire her novels . . . she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail.' Ruth Rendell(P)2014 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Strong Poison

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.Can Lord Peter Wimsey prove that Harriet Vane is not guilty of murder - or find the real poisoner in time to save her from the gallows?Impossible, it seems. The Crown's case is watertight. The police are adamant that the right person is on trial. The judge's summing-up is also clear. Harriet Vane is guilty of the killing her lover. And Harriet Vane shall hang.But the jury disagrees.

Hodder & Stoughton

Whose Body?

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

Unnatural Death

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers. 'No sign of foul play,' says Dr Carr after the post-mortem on Agatha Dawson. The case is closed. But Lord Peter Wimsey is not satisfied . . .With no clues to work on, he begins his own investigation. No clues, that is, until the sudden, senseless murder of Agatha's maid. What is going on in the mysterious Mrs Forrest's Mayfair flat? And can Wimsey catch a desperate murderer before he himself becomes one of the victims?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.Lord Peter Wimsey bent down over General Fentiman and drew the Morning Post gently away from the gnarled old hands. Then, with a quick jerk, he lifted the quiet figure. It came up all of a piece, stiff as a wooden doll . . .But how did the general die? Who was the mysterious Mr X who fled when he was wanted for questioning? And which of the general's heirs, both members of the Bellona Club, is lying?