Dorothy L Sayers - In the Teeth of the Evidence - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

In the Teeth of the Evidence

By Dorothy L Sayers
Read by Jane McDowell

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The best of the golden age crime writers, praised by all the top modern writers in the field including P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, Dorothy L. Sayers created the immortal Lord Peter Wimsey. The 14th book featuring Lord Peter is a collection of short stories: 17 little masterpieces of crime writing.

All that was left of the garage was a heap of charred and smouldering beams.
In the driving seat of the burnt-out car were the remains of a body . . .

An accident, said the police. An accident, said the widow. She had been warning
her husband about the danger of the car for months.

Murder, said the famous detective Lord Peter Wimsey - and proceeded to track down
the killer.

'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye
for detail' P. D. James

(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444797480
  • Publication date: 19 Nov 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Absolution

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict

An incredibly tense and twisty psychological thriller, for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.YOU PUT YOUR KEY IN THE LOCKJust back from a long weekend, all you want to do is collapse on the sofa...THE DOOR WON'T OPENThere's a bike on the porch that isn't yours...THE HOUSE SHOULD BE EMPTYBut someone else is here...THERE'S A STRANGER INSIDEAnd he knows something about you..."I WAS THERE. I SAW WHAT YOU DID."**************Praise for The Stranger Inside'Laura Benedict turns her unique voice in suspense to this elegant scary mystery, where nothing is as it seems and one woman's truth is shattered by the hidden secrets of her past.' J.T. Ellison, New York Times bestselling author of Lie to Me'Compelling characters, lush settings, complex emotions-all in a clever plot and spiced with a hint of darkness . . . But a warning: once you pick it up, you will yield your life to the power of a great storyteller' Carolyn Haines, bestselling author of The House of Memory

Mulholland Books

Friends Like These

Sarah Alderson
Authors:
Sarah Alderson

Mulholland Books

The Forbidden Place

Susanne Jansson
Authors:
Susanne Jansson
Hodder & Stoughton

Careless Love

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

The twenty-fifth instalment of the Number One Bestselling DCI Banks series'With a deceptively unspectacular language, [Robinson] sets about the process of unsettling the reader.' IndependentA young local student has apparently committed suicide. Her body is found in an abandoned car on a lonely country road. She didn't own a car. Didn't even drive. How did she get there? Where did she die? Who moved her, and why?Meanwhile a man in his sixties is found dead in a gully up on the wild moorland. He is wearing an expensive suit and carrying no identification. Post-mortem findings indicate he died from injuries sustained during the fall. But what was he doing up there? And why are there no signs of a car in the vicinity?As the inconsistencies multiply and the mysteries proliferate, Annie's father's new partner, Zelda, comes up with a shocking piece of information that alerts Banks and Annie to the return of an old enemy in a new guise. This is someone who will stop at nothing, not even murder, to get what he wants - and suddenly the stakes are raised and the hunt is on.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Scarlet Pimpernel

Baroness Orczy
Authors:
Baroness Orczy
Mulholland Books

The Banker's Wife

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger

'Immersive, satisfying, tense - and timely' Lee Child'Whip smart and fraught with tension...Brilliant.' Mary Kubica, author of The Good GirlA fast-paced and impossibly gripping thriller for fans of The Woman in the Window and Need to Know.The only thing worse than finding out that your husband is dead, is discovering the secrets he left behind.Annabel's seemingly perfect ex-patriate life in Geneva is shattered when her banker husband Matthew's plane crashes in the Alps. When Annabel finds clues that his death may not be all it seems, she puts herself in the crosshairs of powerful enemies and questions whether she really knew her husband at all.Meanwhile, journalist Marina is investigating Swiss United, the bank where Matthew worked. But when she uncovers evidence of a shocking global financial scandal that implicates someone close to home, she is forced to make an impossible choice.(P)2018 Penguin Random House AudioPraise for The Banker's Wife'A knockout of an international thriller' Chris Pavone, author of The Expats'Kept me guessing until the very last page. I couldn't tear myself away' Janelle Brown, author of Watch Me Disappear'A gripping, twisty thriller that asks how well we really know the people closest to us' Alafair Burke, author of The Wife

Mulholland Books

Her Watchful Eye

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin
Mulholland Books

Surrender, New York

Caleb Carr
Authors:
Caleb Carr
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

'Yrsa is a magnificent writer' Karin SlaughterYrsa Sigurdardottir, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel, delivers another tour de force in her second novel in the Freyja and Huldar series.A chilling note predicting the deaths of six people is found in a school's time capsule, ten years after it was buried. But surely, if a thirteen-year-old wrote it, it can't be a real threat...Detective Huldar suspects he's been given the investigation simply to keep him away from real police work. He turns to psychologist Freyja to help understand the child who hid the message. Soon, however, they find themselves at the heart of another shocking case.For the discovery of the letter coincides with a string of macabre events: body parts found in a garden, followed by the murder of the man who owned the house. His initials are BT, one of the names on the note.Huldar and Freyja must race to identify the writer, the victims and the murderer, before the rest of the targets are killed...'The Reckoning is another chilling, atmospheric tale from the undisputed Queen of Icelandic Noir. I loved it.' Simon Kernick

Hodder Paperbacks

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK 2018SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERSIMON MAYO RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICKSHORTLISTED FOR CRIME AND THRILLER BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018LONGLISTED FOR THEAKSTON OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2018'I'm calling it: THIS is the book I wish I'd written' Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie***********Don't be left in the dark.In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack. She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, four lives change forever.Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear. And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, she also knows that you can never see the whole picture: something is always hidden . . . something she never could have guessed. ***********See what everyone is saying about this brilliant read: 'It's SO good . . . I was carrying it around the house I was so gripped' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent'A gripping, twisting, furiously clever read . . . I loved it' Ruth Ware, author of The Lying Game'It's magnificent. Stunningly twisty plot and weep-makingly brilliant writing' Marian Keyes, author of The Break

Hodder Paperbacks

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Hodder & Stoughton

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley

The fog-choked sequel to Poison City, about which Claire North raves, 'Rarely has policing the apocalypse been so awesome!'Cop. Drunkard. Low-grade magic user. My name is Gideon Tau, but most people just call me London. (Because that's where I'm from. Get it? Hilarious.) Three years ago, someone killed my daughter. I sacrificed everything (the human race included) to learn his name - and then had to allow that knowledge to be erased from my mind in order to save the world I'd doomed. Fantastic.Now I have to start over from scratch, and who do I have to help me find my daughter's killer? The reanimated corpse of my boss, a low-rent P.I. who's heavily into conspiracy theories, and my alcoholic, foul-mouthed demonic sidekick dog.Our journey will take us from Durban, South Africa to London, England, where we'll have to contend with Fae gangs fighting for territory, the murder-suicide of two Delphic agents and the seven deadly sins.Oh, and did I mention planning a heist to break into the most secure bank in Faerie? Because that's on the agenda too. And if we fail? An ancient horned god will destroy London. (The city, not me. Although, to be fair, I don't think I'll survive either

Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
John Murray

Dead Lions

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder Paperbacks

The Trespasser

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French
Hodder Paperbacks

A Banquet of Consequences

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Inspector Lynley investigates the London end of an ever more darkly disturbing case, with Barbara Havers and Winston Nkata looking behind the peaceful façade of country life to discover a twisted world of desire and deceit.The suicide of William Goldacre is devastating to those left behind. But what was the cause of his tragedy and how far might the consequences reach? Is there a link between the young man's leap from a Dorset cliff and a horrific poisoning in Cambridge?Following various career-threatening misdemeanours, Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers is desperate to redeem herself. So when a past encounter with bestselling feminist writer Clare Abbott and her pushy personal assistant Caroline Goldacre gives her a connection to the Cambridge murder, Barbara begs DI Thomas Lynley to let her pursue the crime.Full of shocks, intensity and suspense from first page to last, A Banquet of Consequences reveals both Lynley and Havers under pressure, and author Elizabeth George writing at the very height of her exceptional powers.

Hodder & Stoughton

Thrones, Dominations

Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh
Hodder & Stoughton

A Presumption of Death

Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

The Documents in the Case

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers