Jeremy Kourdi - The Big 100 - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444796124
    • Publication date:08 Jan 2015

The Big 100

The 100 Business Tools You Need To Succeed

By Jeremy Kourdi

  • Hardback
  • £9.99

All the business ideas you need to succeed, but don't have time to read.

The world is full of business ideas.

But how do you know which the best ones are?

And how do you find time to read them?

THE BIG 100 may be a little book, but it contains the very best business tools that have come from the very best business brains on the planet. Each is summarized over just two pages, so that you can quickly gain access to the insights which are driving the most successful people in all walks of life.

Biographical Notes

Jeremy Kourdi is a highly regarded executive coach and author, whose books have been translated into ten languages. He was previously Head of Publishing and Research at the Chartered Management Institute, and Senior Vice-President at The Economist Group.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444796117
  • Publication date: 08 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: John Murray Learning
John Murray

What is Real?

Adam Becker
Authors:
Adam Becker
Teach Yourself

Stoicism and the Art of Happiness: Teach Yourself

Donald Robertson
Authors:
Donald Robertson

The stoics lived a long time ago, but they had some startling insights into the human condition - insights which endure to this day. The philosophical tradition, founded in Athens by Zeno of Citium in 301 BC, endured as an active movement for almost 500 years, and contributions from dazzling minds such as Cicero, Seneca and Marcus Aurelius helped create a body of thought with an extraordinary goal - to provide a rational, healthy way of living in harmony with the nature of the universe and in respect of our relationships with each other.In many ways a precursor to Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT), Stoicism provides an armamentarium of strategies and techniques for developing psychological resilience, while celebrating all in life which is beautiful and important. By learning what stoicism is, you can revolutionise your life and learn how to seize the day, live happily and be a better person. This simple, empowering book shows how to use this ancient wisdom to make practical, positive changes to your life. Using thought-provoking case studies, highlighting key ideas and things to remember and providing tools for self-assessment, it demonstrates that Stoicism is a proven, profound pathway to happiness.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

50 Business Classics

Tom Butler-Bowdon
Authors:
Tom Butler-Bowdon
John Murray

Reinventing Capitalism in the Age of Big Data

Viktor Mayer-Schonberger, Thomas Ramge
Authors:
Viktor Mayer-Schonberger, Thomas Ramge

Markets have long been acknowledged to be a superior mechanism for managing resources but until the advent of big data, they largely functioned better in theory than in practice. Now, as ideal markets are within reach because of vastly greater access to information, we are on the verge of a major disruption. As data becomes a more valuable asset than cash, the rules for surviving and thriving are changing.Data Capitalism: How Information is Liberating the Economy from the Tyranny of the Firm and Enabling a New Prosperity is a provocative look at how data is reinventing markets and, in so doing, is ushering in an era where the firm is no longer predominant. With richer and more comprehensive information about human wants and needs, an economy powered by data offers the possibility of increased abundance, equality, and resilience. The data-driven markets that will thrive in this environment are far better than firms at organizing human endeavors, meaning that finance driven capitalism is being displaced by its more efficient, more sustainable, and more democratic disruptor: data capitalism.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Powered by Change

Jonathan MacDonald
Authors:
Jonathan MacDonald

John Murray Learning

Burn The Business Plan

Carl J. Schramm
Authors:
Carl J. Schramm

How would you like to get business startup advice straight from the man who co-founded Global Entrepreneurship Week and StartUp America? Well now you can. Carl Schramm, the man described by The Economist as 'the evangelist of Entrepreneurship', has written a myth-busting guide packed with tools and techniques to help you get your big idea off the ground. Carl believes that entrepreneurship has been completely misrepresented by the media, business books, University programmes and MBA courses. He believes that the perception of what it takes to start a business no longer matches the reality - which is bad news for everyone because it stops great ideas coming to life. Burn the Business Plan punctures the myth of the cool, tech-savvy 20-something entrepreneur with nothing to lose and venture capital to burn, showing that most people who start businesses are juggling careers and mortgages just like you. Burn the Business Plan is written to encourage you to get started. It demystifies the entrepreneurial process portrayed on television shows like Dragon's Den. It doesn't rely on largely irrelevant stories of overvalued tech startups, nor does it build on the largely mistaken narrative of a linear path from cold start to great success that is the essence of business planning, as taught in universities. This is the guide to starting and running a business that will actually work for the rest of us.Burn the Business Plan is for regular people who just want practical, real-world advice on how to start and run a successful business. It shows you how to avoid the common mistakes and what you need to do to put your enterprise on track for success.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

TED Talks

Chris Anderson
Authors:
Chris Anderson

In Ted Talks Chris Anderson, head of TED, reveals the inside secrets of how to give a first-class presentation. Where books like Talk Like TED and TED Talks Storytelling whetted the appetite, here is the official TED guide to public speaking from the man who put TED talks on the world's stage. 'Nobody in the world better understands the art and science of public speaking than Chris Anderson. He is absolutely the best person to have written this book' Elizabeth Gilbert.Anderson shares his five key techniques to presentation success: Connection, Narration, Explanation, Persuasion and Revelation (plus the three to avoid). He also answers the most frequently asked questions about giving a talk, from 'What should I wear?' to 'How do I handle my nerves?'.Ted Talks is also full of presentation tips from such TED notable speakers as Sir Ken Robinson, Bill Gates, Mary Roach, Amy Cuddy, Elizabeth Gilbert, Dan Gilbert, Amanda Palmer, Matt Ridley and many more. This is a lively, fun read with great practical application from the man who knows what goes into a truly memorable speech. In Ted Talks Anderson pulls back the TED curtain for anyone who wants to learn how to prepare an exceptional presentation.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Disrupt!

James Bidwell
Authors:
James Bidwell
John Murray Learning

Superfast

Sophie Devonshire
Authors:
Sophie Devonshire

In today's fast-paced world, leaders need to move at speed. The rate of innovation and change in organisations and the challenges of impatient investors or shareholders mean leadership decisions must be quick, smart and deliver real impact. Superfast provides easily-digestible inspiration and ideas about how to accelerate performance in an agile and thoughtful way. It includes interviews with leaders of big global corporations, fast-moving unicorn start-ups and even the Head of a Counter Terrorism Unit; all of them facing the challenges of a rapidly changing, uncertain situation. This book focuses on practical solutions to leadership questions and is a shortcut to personal and professional success for ambitious leaders.

John Murray Learning

Money

Rob Moore
Authors:
Rob Moore
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

50 Self-Help Classics

Tom Butler-Bowdon
Authors:
Tom Butler-Bowdon

John Murray Learning

Way Of The Wolf

Jordan Belfort
Authors:
Jordan Belfort

Jordan Belfort - immortalized by Leonardo DiCaprio in the hit movie The Wolf of Wall Street - reveals the step-by-step sales and persuasion system proven to turn anyone into a sales-closing, money-earning rock star.For the first time ever, Jordan Belfort opens his playbook and gives readers access to his exclusive step-by-step system-the same system he used to create massive wealth for himself, his clients, and his sales teams. Until now this revolutionary program was only available through Jordan's $1,997 online training. Now in WAY OF THE WOLF, Belfort is ready to unleash the power of persuasion to a whole new generation of readers, revealing how anyone can bounce back from devastating setbacks, master the art of persuasion, and build wealth. Every technique, every strategy, and every tip has been tested and proven to work in real-life situations.Written in his own inimitable voice, WAY OF THE WOLF cracks the code on how to persuade anyone to do anything, and coaches readers, regardless of age, education, or skill level, to be a master sales person, negotiator, closer, entrepreneur, or speaker.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Deciding Who Leads

Joseph Daniel McCool
Authors:
Joseph Daniel McCool
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Coaching for Performance

John Whitmore
Authors:
John Whitmore
Sceptre

Ideas Are Your Only Currency

Rod Judkins
Authors:
Rod Judkins

FUTURE-PROOFING FOR THINKERS.'What skills and abilities will a student need to prosper in five, ten, or fifteen years' time?' In a world of change, where skills become out of date quickly, it is ideas that last. We all need to be prepared for a world that is fluid, global and interdisciplinary. Distinctions between specialties will blur and overlap. Change is happening at electrifying speed. In this vortex there are no maps. Featuring 100 interactive chapters to inspire groundbreaking new ideas, this is perfect for fans of Keri Smith's Wreck this Journal, Paul Arden's It's Not How Good You Are and Rolf Dobelli's global bestseller The Art of Thinking Clearly.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Making a Success of Brexit and Reforming the EU

Roger Bootle
Authors:
Roger Bootle

Nicholas Brealey International

Breaking Free of Bonkers

George Binney, Philip Glanfield, Gerhard Wilke
Authors:
George Binney, Philip Glanfield, Gerhard Wilke

John Murray Learning

Hell Week

Erik Bertrand Larssen
Authors:
Erik Bertrand Larssen
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Managing Transitions

William Bridges, Susan Bridges
Authors:
William Bridges, Susan Bridges
Two Roads

Leap Year

Helen Russell
Authors:
Helen Russell