A N Wilson - Charles Darwin - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

Charles Darwin

Victorian Mythmaker

By A N Wilson

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

A radical reappraisal of Charles Darwin from the bestselling author of Victoria: A Life

Charles Darwin: the man who discovered evolution? The man who killed off God? Or a flawed man of his age, part genius, part ruthless careerist who would not acknowledge his debts to other thinkers?

In this bold new life - the first single volume biography in twenty-five years - A. N. Wilson, the acclaimed author of The Victorians and God's Funeral, goes in search of the celebrated but contradictory figure Charles Darwin.

Darwin was described by his friend and champion, Thomas Huxley, as a 'symbol'. But what did he symbolize? In Wilson's portrait, both sympathetic and critical, Darwin was two men. On the one hand, he was a naturalist of genius, a patient and precise collector and curator who greatly expanded the possibilities of taxonomy and geology. On the other hand, Darwin, a seemingly diffident man who appeared gentle and even lazy, hid a burning ambition to be a universal genius. He longed to have a theory which explained everything.

But was Darwin's 1859 master work, On the Origin of Species, really what it seemed, a work about natural history? Or was it in fact a consolation myth for the Victorian middle classes, reassuring them that the selfishness and indifference to the poor were part of nature's grand plan?

Charles Darwin: Victorian Mythmaker is a radical reappraisal of one of the great Victorians, a book which isn't afraid to challenge the Darwinian orthodoxy while bringing us closer to the man, his revolutionary idea and the wider Victorian age.

Biographical Notes

A. N. Wilson was born in North Staffordshire, and taught literature for seven years at New College Oxford, where he won the Chancellor's English Essay Prize and the Ellerton Prize. He is the author of over twenty novels, and as many works of non-fiction. His biography of Tolstoy won the Whitbread Prize in 1988. His biography of Queen Victoria was published to critical acclaim. He is also the author of The Victorians and of God's Funeral, an account of how the Victorians lost their faith. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and a Member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. He lives in London, and is the father of three daughters.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444794908
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: John Murray
A book to treasure. A. N Wilson throws down the gauntlet on the very first line, 'Darwin was wrong' he begins. What follows is a sharply observed and wonderfully compelling analysis which evokes the Victorian titan brilliantly and challenges received wisdom. A work of scholarship that is hard to put down — Deborah Cadbury
A lucid, elegantly written and thought-provoking social and intellectual history — Adrian Woolfson, Evening Standard
Hugely enjoyable . . . The picture of Darwin that emerges from this biography is a mixed one . . . Wilson unpicks these contradictions with a scientist's forensic skill and a novelist's imaginative touch — Robert Douglas Fairhurst, Spectator
As a historian trying to put Darwin in the context of his time, there is surely no better biographer than Wilson — Daisy Goodwin, The Times
Entertaining — Observer
As bold, audacious and entertaining as I knew it would be — The Spectator, Books of the Year
Coronet

Ways to Go Beyond and Why They Work

Rupert Sheldrake
Authors:
Rupert Sheldrake

n this pioneering book Rupert Sheldrake shows how science helps validate seven practices on which all religions are built, and which are part of our common human heritage: · Prayer · Psychedelics · Fasting · Making good habits habitual · Sports · Music · Dancing

John Murray

Superteams

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Hodder & Stoughton

NIV Bible for Journalling and Verse-Mapping

New International Version
Authors:
New International Version
Hodder & Stoughton

NIV Bible for Journalling and Verse-Mapping

New International Version
Authors:
New International Version
Hodder & Stoughton

Timothy Keller: Encounters With Jesus, Counterfeit Gods and Walking with God through Pain and Suffering

Timothy Keller
Authors:
Timothy Keller
Hodder Paperbacks

A Nearly Infallible History of the Reformation

Nick Page
Authors:
Nick Page

500 years ago, Martin Luther nailed his ideas to a church door - and the Reformation began. Or maybe it was a little more complicated than that. Nick Page brings his skills as an unlicensed historian to bear on this key period in European (and world) history in order to uncover everything you need to know about the Reformation - with a fair few bits you never wanted to know thrown in for good measure.Historians tell us that the Protestant Reformation laid the foundations for the Industrial Revolution, religious freedom, and all sorts of other Good Things. But what actually happened? Who were the winners and the losers, the ogres and the beauty queens of this key moment in church history? (spoiler: there weren't any beauty queens)In-depth research, historical analysis and cutting-edge guesswork combine to scintillating effect in this fast-moving examination of the strange and wonderful whirlwind that was church life in late medieval Europe.'You were predestined to read this.' John Calvin

Hodder & Stoughton

What We Talk about when We Talk about Faith

Peter Stanford
Authors:
Peter Stanford
Hodder & Stoughton

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

A gripping novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

Timothy Keller: The Reason for God, Making Sense of God and The Prodigal God

Timothy Keller
Authors:
Timothy Keller

The Reason for God: this book has been written for believers and non-believers, sceptics and churchgoers, and charts a brilliantly considered and impassioned path to Christianity - a Mere Christianity for the twenty-first century.Making Sense of God: a prequel to Keller's A Reason for God: a thoughtful look at the role faith and religion can play in modern lives. The Prodigal God: focused on Jesus' best-known parable - the prodigal son - as a paradigm for the central messages of Christianity: grace, hope and salvation.

Coronet

Science and Spiritual Practices

Rupert Sheldrake
Authors:
Rupert Sheldrake
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage: a magical, feel-good Christmas romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

Tidings of Comfort and Joy

Hodder & Stoughton

Unshakeable Trust

Joyce Meyer
Authors:
Joyce Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Witchwood Crown

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder Paperbacks

A City Dreaming

Daniel Polansky
Authors:
Daniel Polansky
Hodder & Stoughton

When Dimple Met Rishi: The laugh-out-loud YA romcom

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon

A New York Times bestseller A Goodreads Choice YA finalist'Get ready to fall in love with Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel' HelloGigglesThe arranged marriage YA romcom you didn't know you wanted or needed... Meet Dimple.Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.Meet Rishi.He's rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she's got other plans...Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works even harder to prove itself in the most unexpected ways. As joyfully refreshing as Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi is a frothy, funny contemporary romance told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists. While Dimple is fighting her family traditions, Rishi couldn't be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents - could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?'Menon wrote an utterly delightful novel and broke my heart by writing an ending because I want nothing more than to keep reading about Dimple and Rishi forever . . . I'm looking forward to it being a huge hit of 2017.' Book Riot'Funny, warm, and utterly charming . . . Sandhya Menon is a welcome and needed new voice in YA.'Katherine Webber

Hodder & Stoughton

The Great Mystery

Alister McGrath
Authors:
Alister McGrath

There is currently huge interest in the question of human nature and identity, and what the human future might look like. Who are we? Why are we here? What is our future? Are we alone? And what can religion bring, alongside biology and anthropology, to these important and exciting questions?The Great Mystery focuses on this fascinating field of study. Alister McGrath, bestselling author and Andreas Idreos Professor of Science and Religion at Oxford University, explores the question of human nature from both scientific and religious perspectives, and weaves together the results to open up and explore some of the deepest and most important questions about who we are, why we matter, and what our future might be. A follow-up to his critically acclaimed Inventing the Universe, in The Great Mystery Alister McGrath once again brings together science with religion to yield an enriched vision of reality, along with rigorous and thoroughly up-to-date scholarship and intellectual accessibility.

Coronet

Angels at My Fingertips: The sequel to Angels in My Hair

Lorna Byrne
Authors:
Lorna Byrne
Mulholland Books

Blood Reckoning

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay

A brutal killer is on the loose in this page-turning DI Jack Brady investigation. Fans of Peter James and Tania Carver will love this gripping serial killer thriller.'A powerful and intelligent thriller from a must-read writer' David Mark on BLIND ALLEYIn the 1970s, a terrifying serial killer stalked the streets of Tynemouth. The press called him the Joker. The crimes stopped - but the man was never caught. And now he's back. A body has been found in a sleazy motel room, murdered in exactly the same way as the Joker's first victims. Is it a copycat? A trick? Or is the Joker at work once more? It's only DI Jack Brady's first day back - and this will be his most twisted case yet. As Brady digs into both the old murders and the new, he must confront revenge, betrayal, love and lies...and a truly ruthless killer.